Congestion management

Targeted congestion management is a key priority for Swissgrid in line with its legal responsibility for reliable grid operation.


Subpages


Congestion arises when the demand for cross-border trading capacity exceeds supply. Congestion management involves preventive measures to manage the limited transmission capacity available. To avoid congestion, Swissgrid has the right to take special measures. Technical and economic measures are the tools used to prevent congestion. Such corrective measures are taken in order to keep the transmission grid stable and within load limits, and to avoid disruption in the interests of all customers.

Auctions

Why are auctions necessary?

Among other things, the new Electricity Supply Act requires congestion in the cross-border network to be managed by allocating network capacities according to a market-oriented allocation procedure, i.e. by means of auctions. Since the second internal electricity market directive and the regulation on cross-border trade in electricity (EG-VO 1228/03) also provide for congestion management, market-based procedures, i.e. auctions, have been held for some time across Europe. Due to the advanced stage of liberalisation of the EU electricity market and the increase in cross-border energy flows throughout Europe, it is necessary to introduce a transparent, non-discriminatory system of congestion management at Swiss borders with other countries. This will make an important contribution to ensuring network security and the security of supply in Switzerland.

Auction rules

These Auction Rules govern the terms and conditions for the auctioning of available transfer capacity, commonly for the regions of CWE, CSE and Switzerland. The relevant version of the Auction Rules are published on the JAO S.A. website.


Switzerland – Germany

Explicit yearly, monthly and daily auctions

In the cross-border transmission system between Switzerland and Germany, the available grid capacities are distributed by the responsible Transmission System Operators TransnetBW, Amprion GmbH and Swissgrid via auctions. The Allocation Office JAO S.A. performs auctions.

Intraday allocations

Intraday capacity allocation is carried out in addition to the daily, monthly and yearly auction. Market participants can request available intraday transport capacity on the platform Intraday Capacity Service. Assignment takes place by means of continuous explicit allocation according to the «first come first served» approach.

The Intraday allocation rules for Switzerland – Germany can be found on the TransnetBW website.


Switzerland – France

Explicit yearly, monthly and daily auctions

RTE and Swissgrid have assigned the Allocation Office JAO S.A. to auction the available cross-border transmission grid capacities between Switzerland and France.

Intraday allocations

Intraday capacity allocation is carried out in addition to the daily, monthly and yearly auction. Market participants can request available intraday transport capacity on the platform Intraday Capacity Service. Assignment takes place by means of continuous explicit allocation according to the «first come first served» approach.

The Intraday allocation rules for Switzerland – France can be found on the RTE website.


Switzerland – Italy

Explicit yearly, monthly and daily auctions

In the cross-border transmission system between Switzerland and Italy, the available grid capacities are distributed by Rete Elettrica Nazionale SpA (Terna) and Swissgrid. This is done using auctions. The Allocation Office JAO S.A. performs auctions.

Intraday explicit auctions

In order to further enhance the use of cross border capacities, Terna and Swissgrid have agreed to perform intraday explicit auctions on the Switzerland – Italy Border. This Intraday mechanism operated by the Allocation Office JAO S.A. and will comprise two auction sessions.

Information regarding the processes and scheduling can be found in the technical balance group provisions.

Nomination system

The nomination system is used for nomination of the awarded monthly and annual capacities. The Nomination system is also used for information on maintenance works and maintenance windows. This applies solely for the direction from Switzerland to Italy.

Requirements for nomination procedure

To use the awarded capacities at the auctions, PTR Holders have to notify Counterparties. If no Counterparties are registered the use of allocated PTRs is not possible.

Counterparty notification for yearly and monthly PTRs allocated from Switzerland to Italy

For PTRs nominations from Switzerland to Italy, PTR holder can designate counterparty(ies) allowed to make nominations to the neighbouring TSOs (A-to-N).

If the PTR holder is a signatory of a balance group contract he can designate a maximum of 20 counterparties, which are signatories of a dispatching contract in Italy. This applies as well, if the PTR holder is a signatory of a balance group contract and a dispatching contract. If the PTR holder is a signatory of a dispatching contract he can designate a maximum of 20 counterparties, which are signatories of a balance group contract.

The PTR holder has to communicate the counterparties to Swissgrid by using the counterparty management Form no later than 12:00 on Wednesday of week W-1. If this form is submitted in due time and the corresponding counterparty has confirmed the supply relationship with the counterparty confirmation form, the supply relationship can be used on Monday of week W (first execution day: Tuesday of Week W). Any counterparty can be modified every week by sending a new counterparty management form. Only those counterparties listed in the last form are relevant. For the use of the supply relationship, each counterparty must confirm the supply relationship with the counterparty confirmation form.

Counterparty notification for PTRs acquired through daily auctions from Switzerland to Italy

For PTRs nominations from Switzerland to Italy, the PTR holder should designate himself (A to A principle) or one counterparty (A to B principle) with the same form as for counterparty management of yearly and monthly PTR. These counterparty designations can be modified every week with the same modalities/rules as for yearly and monthly PTRs.

Agreement to access to the Swissgrid customer portal

Please specify the number of «Master» and «Read-Only» accounts.

Please send the duly completed form «Agreement for Access to the Swissgrid Customer Portal» by registered post to the address indicated on the form. To speed up the process, we recommend that you also fax the form. After successful registration you will receive your user ID and PIN. A token is not needed. Please send the forms related to counterparties by mail too after the submission by e-mail or fax.


Switzerland – Austria

Explicit yearly, monthly and daily auctions

In the cross-border transmission system between Austria and Switzerland, the available grid capacities are distributed by VERBUND-Austrian Power Grid AG (APG) and Swissgrid. This is done using auctions. The Allocation Office JAO S.A. performs auctions.

Intraday allocation

APG is responsible for intraday capacity allocation on the border Switzerland – Austria. Allocation takes place by phone using the permanently manned number +43 50320 53230.

The Intraday allocation rules for Switzerland – Austria can be found on the APG website.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Engpassmanagement

Gezieltes Engpassmanagement ist für Swissgrid von zentraler Bedeutung zur Erfüllung der gesetzlich übertragenen Verantwortung des sicheren Netzbetriebs.


Unterseiten


Ein Engpass entsteht, wenn die Nachfrage nach grenzüberschreitenden Handelskapazitäten nicht in vollem Umfang bedient werden kann. Unter Engpassmanagement versteht man die präventive Bewirtschaftung der begrenzt verfügbaren Übertragungskapazität. Um Engpässe zu vermeiden, ist Swissgrid berechtigt, Sondermassnahmen zu ergreifen. Als Werkzeug für die Vermeidung von Engpässen stehen technische und wirtschaftliche Massnahmen zur Verfügung. Werden derartige Entlastungsmassnahmen ergriffen, geschieht dies, um das Übertragungsnetz stabil und innerhalb der Belastungsgrenzen zu halten und Störungen im Interesse aller Kunden zu vermeiden.

Auktionen

Warum sind Auktionen nötig?

Das Stromversorgungsgesetz (StromVG) sieht unter anderem vor, dass bei Engpässen im grenzüberschreitenden Übertragungsnetz die Netzkapazitäten nach marktorientierten Zuteilungsverfahren – also mittels Auktionen – zugeteilt werden. Weil auch in Europa die zweite Strombinnenmarktdirektive und die Stromhandelsverordnungen (EG-VO 1228/03 und ab März 2011 EG-VO 714/2009) ein Engpassmanagement vorsehen, werden bereits seit geraumer Zeit europaweit marktbasierte Verfahren d.h. Auktionen angewendet. Aufgrund der fortschreitenden Liberalisierung des EU-Strommarktes und der zunehmenden grenzüberschreitenden Energieflüsse in ganz Europa ist die Einführung eines transparenten, nichtdiskriminierenden Engpassmanagements an den Schweizer Aussengrenzen erforderlich. Damit wird ein wichtiger Beitrag zur Netz- und zur Schweizer Versorgungssicherheit geleistet.

Auktionsregeln

Die Auktionsregeln beschreiben die Regeln und Bedingungen für die Vergabe von verfügbaren Transportkapazitäten der CWE Region, CSE Region und der Schweiz. Die gültige Version der Auktionsregeln ist auf der JAO S.A. Webseite publiziert.


Schweiz – Deutschland

Explizite Jahres-, Monats- und Tagesauktionen

An der Grenze Deutschland – Schweiz werden die verfügbaren Transportkapazitäten durch die verantwortlichen Übertragungsnetzbetreiber TransnetBW, Amprion GmbH und Swissgrid mittels Auktionen zugeteilt. Die Auktionen werden durch das Allocation Office JAO S.A. durchgeführt.

Intraday Allokationen

Die Intraday-Kapazitätsvergabe wird ergänzend zur Tages-, Monats- und Jahresauktion durchgeführt. Marktteilnehmer können die verfügbare Intraday-Transportkapazität auf der Plattform Intraday Capacity Service anfragen. Die Zuteilung erfolgt mittels kontinuierlicher expliziter Allokation nach dem «First-come-first-served»-Verfahren.

Auf der TransnetBW Webseite können die Regeln für die Intraday-Kapazitätszuweisung an der Grenze Schweiz – Deutschland heruntergeladen werden.


Schweiz – Frankreich

Explizite Jahres-, Monats- und Tagesauktionen

RTE und Swissgrid haben das Allocation Office JAO S.A. beauftragt, die verfügbaren Netzkapazitäten im grenzüberschreitenden Übertragungsnetz zwischen der Schweiz und Frankreich mittels Auktionen zuzuteilen.

Intraday Allokationen

Die Intraday-Kapazitätsvergabe wird ergänzend zur Tages-, Monats- und Jahresauktion durchgeführt. Marktteilnehmer können die verfügbare Intraday-Transportkapazität auf der Plattform Intraday Capacity Service anfragen. Die Zuteilung erfolgt mittels kontinuierlicher expliziter Allokation nach dem «First-come-first-served»-Verfahren.

Auf der RTE Webseite können die Regeln für die Intraday-Kapazitätszuweisung an der Grenze Schweiz – Frankreich heruntergeladen werden.


Schweiz – Italien

Explizite Jahres-, Monats- und Tagesauktionen

Rete Elettrica Nazionale SpA (Terna) und Swissgrid teilen die verfügbaren Netzkapazitäten im grenzüberschreitenden Übertragungsnetz zwischen der Schweiz und Italien mittels Auktionen zu. Die Auktionen werden durch das Allocation Office JAO S.A. durchgeführt.

Explizite Intraday Auktionen

Um die Nutzung der verfügbaren Netzkapazitäten zu steigern, haben Terna und Swissgrid die Einführung von expliziten Intraday Auktionen an der Grenze Schweiz – Italien vereinbart. Dieser Intraday Mechanismus umfasst zwei Auktions-Sessionen welche durch das Allocation Office JAO S.A. durchgeführt werden.

Informationen zu Prozessen und Fahrplananmeldungen finden Sie in unseren technischen Bilanzgruppenvorschriften.

Nominationssytem

Im Nominationssystem werden die an den Monats- und Jahresauktionen ersteigerten Rechte nominiert. Zusätzlich werden im Nominationssystem Informationen zu Wartungsarbeiten und Wartungszeiträume veröffentlicht. Dies alles gilt nur für die Richtung Schweiz – Italien.

Voraussetzungen für die Teilnahme am Nominationsprozess

Die Voraussetzung für die Nomination/Nutzung der an den Auktionen ersteigerten Rechte, ist die Bekanntgabe der Lieferbeziehungen. Eine Nutzung der ersteigerten Rechte ist nur möglich, wenn die entsprechenden Lieferbeziehungen registriert sind.

Bekanntgabe der Lieferbeziehungen für Jahres- und Monatsrechte von der Schweiz nach Italien

Für PTR Nominationen von der Schweiz Richtung Italien hat ein PTR-Halter die Möglichkeit eine Gegenpartei zu bestimmen, welche berechtigt ist, Nominationen (A zu N) beim angrenzenden TSO zu tätigen.

Ein PTR-Halter mit einem Bilanzgruppenvertrag kann bis maximal 20 Gegenparteien bestimmen, die ihrerseits einen Dispatching-Vertrag in Italien haben müssen. Dies gilt auch wenn der PTR-Halter sowohl einen Bilanzgruppenvertrag wie auch einen Dispatching-Vertrag besitzt. Hat der PTR-Halter einen Dispatching-Vertrag so kann er bis maximal 20 Gegenparteien mit einem Bilanzgruppenvertrag bestimmen.

Der PTR-Halter muss seine Lieferbeziehungen mittels dem Counterparty Management- Formular bis spätestens am Mittwoch um 12.00 Uhr in der Woche W-1 an Swissgrid senden. Trifft das Formular rechtzeitig ein, und hat die Gegenpartei die entsprechende Lieferbeziehung mit dem Counterparty Confirmation-Formular bestätigt, kann die Lieferbeziehung am Montag in der Woche W (Erster Ausführungstag: Dienstag in Woche W) genutzt werden. Jede Lieferbeziehung kann mittels dem Counterparty Management-Formular wöchentlich geändert werden. Nur die im neuesten Formular aufgeführten Lieferbeziehungen sind relevant. Jede Gegenpartei muss die Lieferbeziehung mit dem Counterparty Confirmation-Formular bestätigen.

Bekanntgabe der Lieferbeziehungen für an der Tagesauktion ersteigerte Rechte von der Schweiz nach Italien

Für PTR-Nominationen von der Schweiz Richtung Italien hat der PTR-Halter die Möglichkeit sich selber (A zu A) oder eine Gegenpartei (A zu B) zu bestimmen. Dazu kann er das gleiche Formular wie auch für Lieferbeziehungsmeldungen für Jahres- und Monatsrechte verwenden. Auch diese Lieferbeziehung kann wöchentlich geändert werden, dabei gelten die gleichen Modalitäten/Regeln wie für Jahres- und Monatsrechte.

Agreement to Access to the Swissgrid Customer Portal

Geben Sie im «Agreement for Access to the Swissgrid Portal» die Anzahl der «Master» und der «Read-Only» Accounts an.

Senden Sie das ordnungsgemäss ausgefüllte «Agreement for Access to the Swissgrid Portal» per Einschreiben an die im Formular angegebene Adresse. Um den Prozess zu beschleunigen, empfehlen wir den zusätzlichen Versand via Fax. Nach erfolgter Registrierung erhalten Sie Ihre Benutzerkennung und PIN. Ein Token ist nicht notwendig. Bitte senden Sie die Formulare bezüglich Counterpartys nachdem Sie sie per E-Mail oder Fax eingereicht haben, auch per Post zu.


Schweiz – Österreich

Explizite Jahres-, Monats- und Tagesauktionen

VERBUND-Austrian Power Grid AG (APG) und Swissgrid teilen die verfügbaren Netzkapazitäten im grenzüberschreitenden Übertragungsnetz zwischen Österreich und der Schweiz mittels Auktionen zu. Die Auktionen werden dienstleistend durch das Allocation Office JAO S.A. durchgeführt.

Intraday Allokationen

Für die Vergabe der Intraday Kapazitäten an der Grenze Schweiz – Österreich ist die APG verantwortlich. Die Vergabe erfolgt telefonisch unter der durchgehend besetzten Telefonnummer +43 50320 53230.

Auf der APG Website können die aktuellen Regeln für die Intraday-Kapazitätszuweisung an der Grenze Schweiz – Österreich heruntergeladen werden.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.