Balzers line relocation

The Principality of Liechtenstein, the Swiss Federal Office of Energy and Swissgrid are reviewing different options for relocating the existing line in Balzers. Corridor versions on both the Swiss and Liechtenstein side are being reviewed.

Your contact for this grid project

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

220 kV line
220 kV line
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

The transmission line in the municipal region of Balzers is part of the existing, roughly 73 kilometre, 220 kilovolt transmission line from the Bonaduz (GR) substation to the Rüthi (SG) and Meiningen (AT) substations. The municipality of Balzers (FL) has indicated that it will not extend the expiring transit agreement. For that reason, investigations are in progress to establish how the existing line through the municipality of Balzers can be relocated. In Switzerland, a sectoral plan procedure, followed by a planning approval procedure, are applied for the construction of new transmission lines. An equivalent planning procedure will be defined in the Principality of Liechtenstein for the line routing in Balzers. Swissgrid, the Principality of Liechtenstein and the municipality of Balzers have defined a common procedure in this respect.

The Rüthi – Bonaduz extra-high-voltage line ensures the security of supply for the Principality of Liechtenstein via the switching substations in Meiningen and Bürs. The Principality of Liechtenstein's supply region is connected to the Swiss transmission grid via the Montlingen switching substation.


Project

Swissgrid will prepare specific route proposals in cooperation with the project partners. Corridor versions on both the Swiss and Liechtenstein side will be reviewed. A monitoring group set up by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy and Liechtenstein will investigate various planning corridors as part of the sectoral plan procedure. Both overhead line and underground cabling options are reviewed for every grid construction project. These are evaluated based on technological, environmental, regional planning and efficiency aspects. Ultimately, the competent authorities decide on the corridor and the technology.

Milestones

Schedule in the optimal case (without appeal to the courts):

2018 Start of the sectoral plan process
2020 Information event for authorities, associations and the general public before the circulation of the planning corridor
2020 Public consultation/cooperation procedure on the planning corridor
2020 Specification of the planning corridor and the technology by the Federal Council
2021 Start of the planning approval procedure
2022 Planning approval decision
2024 Commissioning of the new line 380 kilovolt line
2024 Dismantling of the existing 220 kilovolt line

The line to be relocated in Balzers is part of the Rüthi – Bonaduz line. The line will be constructed for 380 kilovolts, but will only be operated at 220 kilovolts. A 380 kilovolt Rüthi – Bonaduz connection is no longer contained in the «Strategic Grid 2025», as it is not necessary to ensure the security of supply until 2025. The 220 kilovolt connections are adequate for transporting the energy from the existing power plants.

«Balzers line relocation» Project Advisory Council

Every project allows design latitude. When the members of the Project Advisory Council express their opinions candidly, point out options for action and thus make constructive contributions to the discussion, the foundation is laid for applying this design latitude to best effect. In this sense, the Project Advisory Council is a consultative forum in which mutual understanding is promoted and different concerns can be raised directly. This is intended to optimise project communication and increases acceptance.

The Project Advisory Council was constituted on 21 November 2014 and will be gradually expanded as soon as the project enters a new phase. The Project Advisory Council will be suspended for the duration of the sectoral plan process, as the monitoring group established by the authorities will take over the activities. Swissgrid will once again utilise the Project Advisory Council in the construction project in order to promote the exchange of information between the municipalities, associations and those directly affected.

The following persons are members of the Project Advisory Council:

Municipality of Balzers Hansjörg Büchel, Head of the Municipality
Municipality of Balzers Dominik Frommelt, Municipal Councillor
Municipality of Fläsch René Pahud, Chairman of the Municipality
Balzers Community Association Silvio Wille
Landowner in Balzers Monika Büchel
Landowner in Balzers Anton Vogt
Landowner in Balzers Arthur Willi
Liechtensteinische Kraftwerke Jürg Tinner
Law firm Wolff Gstöhl Bruckschweiger Dr Peter Wolff, Lawyer
Swissgrid Jan Schenk

Grid news

  • | Media release

    Ground-breaking ceremony at «Gäbihübel»

    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: Work has begun

    The preparatory work for the Chamoson – Chippis VHV overhead line that started last January is nearing completion for the first two sections between Chalais and Sierre and Sion and Vex.
    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: supplementary geological study

    In 2015, the cantonal geologist of the Valais requested an additional «natural hazards» study within the framework of the Chamoson – Chippis extra-high-voltage transmission line project.
    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Déplacement du tracé Balzers

La Principauté du Liechtenstein, l'Office fédéral de l'énergie et Swissgrid examinent différentes variantes afin de déplacer la ligne existante à Balzers. La Suisse et le Liechtenstein examinent différentes variantes de couloir.

Votre contact pour ce projet

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Téléphone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Ligne 220 kV
Ligne 220 kV
Ligne actuelle
Ligne actuelle
Sous-station
Sous-station

Sommaire

La ligne de transport sur le territoire de la commune de Balzers fait partie de la ligne de transport 220 kV existante d'environ 73 kilomètres qui relie les sous-stations de Bonaduz (GR) et de Rüthi (SG) ou Meiningen (AT). La commune de Balzers (FL) a annoncé qu'elle ne prolongerait pas le contrat d'acheminement qui arrive à échéance. Des études sont donc en cours afin de déterminer comment la ligne existante sur la commune de Balzers pourra être déplacée. La Suisse suit une procédure de plan sectoriel, puis une procédure d'approbation des plans afin de construire de nouvelles lignes de transport. Une procédure de planification équivalente sera fixée pour la Principauté du Liechtenstein afin de déplacer le tracé à Balzers. À cette fin, Swissgrid, la Principauté du Liechtenstein et la commune de Balzers ont défini une procédure commune.

La ligne à très haute tension Rüthi – Bonaduz permet d'assurer la sécurité de l'approvisionnement de la Principauté du Liechtenstein à l'aide des postes de couplage de Meiningen et de Bürs. La zone d'approvisionnement de la Principauté du Liechtenstein est raccordée au réseau de transport suisse par le biais du poste de couplage de Montlingen.


Projet

Swissgrid élaborera des propositions de tracés précis en collaboration avec les partenaires du projet. Des variantes de couloir seront examinées à cet effet aussi bien du côté de la Suisse que du côté du Liechtenstein. Un groupe d'accompagnement constitué par l'Office fédéral de l'énergie suisse et le Liechtenstein examine différents couloirs de planification dans le cadre de la procédure de plan sectoriel. Des variantes avec ligne aérienne et câblage souterrain sont analysées pour tout projet d'extension du réseau. Elles sont évaluées en tenant compte des aspects techniques, environnementaux, liés à l'aménagement du territoire et à la rentabilité. Les autorités compétentes décident finalement du couloir et de la technologie.

Etapes

Calendrier en cas de procédure optimal (sans recours devant les tribunaux):

2018 Début de la procédure de plan sectoriel
2020 Réunion d'information destinée aux autorités, aux associations et au public avant la mise à l'enquête du couloir de planification
2020 Procédure de consultation / de participation publique concernant le couloir de planification
2020 Le Conseil fédéral décide du couloir de planification et de la technologie
2021 Début de la procédure d'approbation des plans
2022 Décision d'approbation des plans
2024 Mise en service de la nouvelle ligne 220 kV
2024 Démantèlement de la ligne 220 kV existante

La ligne dont le tracé doit être déplacé à Balzers fait partie de la ligne Rüthi – Bonaduz. Elle a été construite pour une tension de 380 kV, mais n'est exploitée qu'en 220 kV. Une liaison 380 kV Rüthi – Bonaduz ne figure plus dans le «Réseau stratégique 2025» étant donné qu'elle n'est plus nécessaire à la sécurité de l'approvisionnement jusqu'à 2025. Les liaisons 220 kV existantes suffisent à transporter l'énergie à partir des centrales électriques actuelles.

Commission consultative du projet «Déplacement Balzers»

Chaque projet comporte des libertés conceptuelles. Le fait que les membres de la Commission consultative du projet présentent ouvertement leurs préoccupations, indiquent des options d'action et participent ainsi activement à la discussion, constitue une base permettant de mettre à profit de manière optimale les libertés conceptuelles offertes. La Commission consultative du projet constitue à ce titre un forum de consultation qui permet de favoriser une compréhension mutuelle et de présenter directement les différentes préoccupations. La communication autour du projet doit s'en trouver améliorée et l'acceptation augmentée.

La Commission consultative du projet a été mise en place le 21 novembre 2014 et sera progressivement complétée dès que le projet entrera dans une nouvelle phase. Elle est suspendue pendant la procédure de plan sectoriel étant donné que le groupe d'accompagnement constitué par les autorités est actif. Swissgrid réactivera la Commission consultative du projet dans le cadre du projet de construction afin de favoriser l'échange d'informations entre les communes, les associations et les personnes directement concernées.

Voici les membres de la Commission consultative du projet:

Commune de Balzers Hansjörg Büchel, Maire
Commune de Balzers Dominik Frommelt, Conseiller communal
Commune de Fläsch René Pahud, Maire
Communauté de citoyens de Balzers Silvio Wille
Propriétaire foncière de Balzers Monika Büchel
Propriétaire foncier de Balzers Anton Vogt
Propriétaire foncier de Balzers Arthur Willi
Liechtensteinische Kraftwerke Jürg Tinner
Cabinet d'avocats Wolff Gstöhl Bruckschweiger Dr. Peter Wolff, Juriste
Swissgrid Jan Schenk

Actualités concernant le réseau

  • | News

    Mörel – Ulrichen

    Variante avec ligne aérienne pour le tronçon Mörel – Ernen approuvée, les travaux de construction sur le tronçon Ernen - Ulrichen progressent comme prévu.

    Lire l'article
  • | Communiqué de presse

    Pour un approvisionnement en électricité sûr du Valais et de la Suisse

    Lire l'article
  • | News

    Projets de réseau: Swissgrid informe sur l’état d’avancement des travaux de cons-truction

    Lire l'article

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.