Balzers line relocation

Swissgrid is investigating whether and how the extra-high-voltage line in Balzers can be relocated. The line supplies electricity to the Principality of Liechtenstein.

Your contact for this grid project

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

220 kV line
220 kV line
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

The transmission line in the municipality of Balzers is part of the existing approximately 73-kilometre-long 220 kV transmission line from the Bonaduz substation to the Rüthi and Meiningen (AT) substations. The municipality of Balzers (FL) has indicated that it will not extend the expiring transit agreement. As a result, Swissgrid is investigating whether and how the existing line through the municipality of Balzers can be relocated.

The Rüthi – Bonaduz 220 kV extra-high-voltage line is part of the Swiss transmission grid and passes through the municipality of Balzers in Liechtenstein. The line is an important connection in the Swiss control area, which also includes the Principality of Liechtenstein. Swissgrid is responsible for ensuring efficient and stable grid operation throughout the entire control area. The line is an important element for the secure supply of electricity in eastern Switzerland and in the Principality of Liechtenstein. It is connected to the Swiss transmission grid via Swissgrid’s switching substations in Rüthi and Montlingen as well as via the Eschen switching substation operated by Liechtensteinische Kraftwerke (LKW).


Project

Options for the future line route in Balzers

Swissgrid has developed different technical options for the like-for-like replacement of the existing line in collaboration with an engineering office in Liechtenstein. Swissgrid considers three options to be technically feasible. These include overhead line as well as underground cable options:

  • Maintain the existing overhead line
    Continued operation of the 220 kV line along the existing route is part of the study of the various options. The line complies with all existing limits on protection from electromagnetic radiation and noise. Swissgrid ensures secure operation of the line as part of scheduled maintenance activities.
  • Relocate the current overhead line to the west between the Brüel district and the farms
    The overhead line route passes between the existing farms and the residential area over a distance of around two kilometres. The existing overhead line, which runs along the Balzers settlement area in the district of Brüel, will be dismantled. This option is technically straightforward and cost-effective.
  • Lay a section underground along field paths in the area of the current overhead line
    The underground cable route passes along the same route as the current overhead line. A route further west in the agricultural zone would be technically feasible, but it would be time-consuming and expensive from a construction perspective. Two transition structures are required to connect the overhead line to the underground cable. These will be placed outside the settlement areas. The existing overhead line near the Brüel settlement area will be dismantled. The underground options are around 3 to 5 times more expensive than the overhead line versions.

These small-scale adjustment options could be implemented in a few years if the overall process progresses smoothly. However, it must be noted that it will not be possible to implement any option involving underground laying (particularly one that still needs to be approved) until August 2021.

Swissgrid originally investigated the possibility of installing the extra-high-voltage line along the Swiss side of the Rhine dam. The options were examined in terms of the effects on the area, the environment, technology and costs. This examination identified considerable disadvantages due to the tight geographic conditions in Trübbach – Sargans (mountain, cantonal road, railway, motorway, Rhine dam). Swissgrid therefore did not further pursue line routing entirely outside of the municipality of Balzers.

General site plan Balzers
General site plan Balzers

Milestones

2019 – 2020 Detailed elaboration of the feasible options in cooperation with an engineering office in Liechtenstein
2021 Information issued to authorities, municipalities and the general public
from 2021 Construction project

The line for the Balzers route is part of the Rüthi – Bonaduz line. The line will be constructed for 380 kilovolts but will be operated only at 220 kilovolts. A 380 kV connection between Rüthi and Bonaduz is no longer included in the «Strategic Grid 2025», as it is not required for the security of supply up to 2025. The 220 kV connections are adequate for transporting energy from the existing power plants.

Contact with landowners

Until the future line route has been decided and implemented, Swissgrid must ensure that the existing overhead line remains in operation even after the expiration of the easement contracts in August 2021. Swissgrid is therefore obtaining the consent of the affected landowners to extend the transmission rights. This is a step that Swissgrid must take independent of the ongoing discussions with Liechtenstein authorities concerning a possible line relocation in Balzers.

The amount of compensation paid is based on the «Entschädigungsansätzen für elektrische Freileitungen» (Remuneration methods for electrical overhead lines) of the Association of Swiss Electricity Companies (VSE) and the Swiss Farmers’ Union (SBV), but under Liechtenstein law


Grid news

  • | Media release

    La Bâtiaz – Le Verney underground cable link

    Read article
  • | Media release

    Secure connection between Haslital and Obergoms

    A number of options for the new extra-high-voltage line between Innertkirchen and Ulrichen are on the table.
    Read article
  • | Media Release

    Pradella – La Punt line: ESTI gives Swissgrid the green light

    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Trassenverlegung Balzers

Swissgrid prüft, ob und wie die Höchstspannungsleitung in Balzers verlegt werden kann. Die Leitung dient der Stromversorgung des Fürstentums Liechtenstein.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für dieses Netzprojekt

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Telefon +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

220-kV-Leitung
220-kV-Leitung
Bestehende Leitung
Bestehende Leitung
Unterwerk
Unterwerk

Übersicht

Die Übertragungsleitung im Gemeindegebiet Balzers ist Bestandteil der bestehenden, rund 73 Kilometer langen 220-kV-Leitung vom Unterwerk Bonaduz zu den Unterwerken Rüthi bzw. Meiningen (AT). Die Gemeinde Balzers (FL) hat mitgeteilt, den auslaufenden Durchleitungsvertrag nicht zu verlängern. Aus diesem Grund wird geprüft, ob und wie die gegenwärtig auf dem Gemeindegebiet von Balzers bestehende Leitung verlegt werden kann.

Die 220-kV-Höchstspannungsleitung Rüthi – Bonaduz ist Teil des Schweizer Übertragungsnetzes und verläuft über das Gebiet der liechtensteinischen Gemeinde Balzers. Die Leitung ist eine wichtige Verbindung in der Regelzone Schweiz, zu welcher auch das Fürstentum Liechtenstein gehört. Swissgrid sorgt in der gesamten Regelzone für einen leistungsfähigen und stabilen Netzbetrieb. Die Leitung ist ein wichtiges Element für die sichere Stromversorgung in der Ostschweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein. Diese ist via die Schaltanlage in Rüthi und Montlingen von Swissgrid sowie über die Schaltanlage Eschen der Liechtensteinischen Kraftwerke (LKW) mit dem Übertragungsnetz der Schweiz verbunden.


Projekt

Varianten für die zukünftige Leitungsführung in Balzers

Swissgrid hat technische Varianten für den gleichwertigen Ersatz der bestehenden Leitung in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Liechtensteiner Ingenieurbüro ausgearbeitet. Aus Sicht von Swissgrid sind drei Varianten technisch umsetzbar. Diese Umfassen sowohl Freileitungs- wie auch Erdkabelvarianten:

  • Bestehende Freileitung beibehalten
    Der Weiterbetrieb der 220-kV-Leitung auf dem bestehenden Trassee ist Teil des Variantenstudiums. Die Leitung hält alle heute gültigen Grenzwerte zum Schutz vor elektromagnetischer Strahlung und Geräuschen ein. Im Rahmen von geplanten Instandhaltungsarbeiten sorgt Swissgrid für den sicheren Betrieb der Leitung.
  • Verschiebung der heutigen Freileitung nach Westen zwischen dem Quartier Brüel und den Bauernhöfen
    Das Freileitungstrassee führt oberirdisch auf einer Distanz von rund zwei Kilometern in der Mitte zwischen den bestehenden Bauernhöfen und dem Wohnquartier durch. Die bestehende Freileitung, die im Gebiet Brüel entlang des Siedlungsgebiets von Balzers verläuft, wird demontiert. Diese Variante ist technisch einfach und kostengünstig.
  • Erdverlegung auf dem Teilabschnitt entlang von Flurwegen im Bereich der heutigen Freileitung
    Das Erdkabeltrassee führt unterirdisch im Bereich der heutigen Freileitung durch. Ein Verlauf weiter westlich in der Landwirtschaftszone wäre technisch machbar, bautechnisch aber aufwändig und teuer. Für die Verbindung der Freileitung zum Erdkabel sind zwei Übergangsbauwerke notwendig. Diese werden ausserhalb der Siedlungsgebiete platziert. Die bestehende Freileitung nahe dem Siedlungsgebiet Brüel wird demontiert. Die erdverlegten Varianten sind rund 3 bis 5 Mal teurer als die Freileitungsvariante.

Diese kleinräumigen Varianten sind bei optimalem Verfahrensverlauf in wenigen Jahren realisierbar. Es steht aber fest, dass die Realisierung einer allfälligen – erst noch zu bewilligenden – Variante der Leitungsverlegung nicht bis im August 2021 möglich sein wird.

Swissgrid hat ursprünglich eine Verlegung der Höchstspannungsleitung auf der Schweizer Seite entlang dem Rheindamm geprüft. Die Varianten wurden bezüglich der Auswirkungen auf Raum, Umwelt, Technik und Kosten studiert. Dabei zeigten sich erhebliche Nachteile aufgrund der engen geografischen Verhältnisse in Trübbach – Sargans (Berg, Kantonsstrasse, Eisenbahn, Autobahn, Rheindamm). Eine Leitungsführung komplett ausserhalb des Gemeindegebietes von Balzers wurde daher von Swissgrid nicht weiterverfolgt.

Situationsplan Balzers
Situationsplan Balzers

Meilensteine

2019 – 2020 Detaillierte Ausarbeitung der machbaren Varianten in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Liechtensteiner Ingenieurbüro
2021 Information an Behörden, Gemeinde und Öffentlichkeit
Ab 2021 Bauprojekt

Die Leitung zur Trassenverlegung in Balzers ist Teil der Leitung Rüthi – Bonaduz. Die Leitung wird für 380 Kilovolt gebaut, jedoch nur mit 220 Kilovolt betrieben. Eine 380-kV-Verbindung Rüthi – Bonaduz ist im «Strategischen Netz 2025» nicht mehr enthalten, da sie für die Versorgungssicherheit bis 2025 nicht notwendig ist. Für den Abtransport der Energie aus den bestehenden Kraftwerken sind die 220-kV-Verbindungen ausreichend.

Kontaktaufnahme mit Grundeigentümern

Bis die zukünftige Leitungsführung entschieden und umgesetzt ist, muss Swissgrid sicherstellen, dass die bestehende Freileitung auch nach Ablauf der Dienstbarkeitsverträge im August 2021 in Betrieb bleibt. Daher holt Swissgrid die Zustimmung der betroffenen Grundeigentümer zur Verlängerung der Durchleitungsrechte ein. Diesen Schritt muss Swissgrid unabhängig von den laufenden Gesprächen mit den liechtensteinischen Behörden für eine allfällige Leitungsverlegung in Balzers angehen.

Die Höhe der ausgerichteten Entschädigungen bemisst sich analog den «Entschädigungssätzen für elektrische Freileitungen» des Verbandes Schweizerischer Elektrizitätsunternehmen (VSE) und dem Schweizerischen Bauernverband (SBV), aber nach liechtensteinischem Recht.


Netznews

  • | Medienmitteilung

    Entlastung der Dörfer und Talebene in Surses (GR)

    Beitrag lesen
  • | Medienmitteilung

    Höchstspannungsleitung in Balzers

    Swissgrid hat mögliche Varianten für eine Leitungsverlegung auf dem Gemeindegebiet von Balzers geprüft. Diese hat Swissgrid den Behörden im Fürstentum Liechtenstein vorgelegt.
    Beitrag lesen
  • | Medienmitteilung

    Unterirdische Kabelverbindung La Bâtiaz – Le Verney

    Beitrag lesen

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.