Flumenthal – Froloo grid project

An extra-high-voltage line is planned between Flumenthal (canton of Solothurn) and Froloo (municipality of Therwil, canton of Basel-Country) to replace the existing power line. In the long term, this new transmission line will strengthen the security of supply in the greater Basel area and across Switzerland.


Your contact for this grid project

Sandra Bläuer
Sandra Bläuer

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Planning area
Planning area
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

The most important facts at a glance

  • The existing 145-kilovolt line between Flumenthal and Therwil, which is operated by IWB (Industrielle Werke Basel), will be replaced by a 220-kilovolt line.
  • The increase in voltage between Flumenthal and Froloo is important for the security of supply in the greater Basel area.
  • At the beginning of April 2022, Swissgrid submitted an application to the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) to initiate the sectoral planning process. The sectoral planning process for transmission lines (SÜL) consists of two steps. The first step involves defining a planning area. Swissgrid then draws up possible corridor variants within this area, including the transmission technology (underground cable, overhead line or a combination of the two).
  • The defined planning area runs from Flumenthal in a northerly direction towards Therwil, the municipality where the Froloo substation is located.
  • Swissgrid recommends three possible corridor variants. In all cases, the aim is to find a solution that has the minimum impact on residential and protected areas. The focus is on protecting people and nature.
  • Next, a monitoring group appointed by the SFOE will discuss and assess the corridor variants.
  • The Federal Council is expected to define the corridor between Flumenthal and Froloo, and therefore the technology of the line, by the end of 2023. Swissgrid will then establish the specific construction project and submit the planning approval application to the competent authority, the Swiss Federal Inspectorate for Heavy Current Installations (ESTI). This will be followed by the public disclosure of the project.

Project

Initial situation

The 145-kilovolt line between Flumenthal and Froloo (municipality of Therwil), which is operated by IWB (Industrielle Werke Basel) and covers a distance of 33 kilometres, is to be replaced by a 220-kilovolt line. The new line is part of the Strategic Grid being implemented by Swissgrid, which is therefore responsible for the planning. The extra-high-voltage line between Flumenthal and Froloo ensures electricity supply redundancy in the greater Basel area and thus strengthens the security of supply across Switzerland in the long term.

Why the project is important

A key aspect of this project is grid redundancy; the Froloo substation plays a key role in supplying the greater Basel area. Today, it is connected to the transmission grid in the stub, i.e. via a single line. If this line fails, electricity will no longer flow to the substation, which would substantially weaken Basel’s supply. Distributing the electricity flows along several axes instead of just a few or a single one, as is the case today, increases grid stability. The distribution of energy flows along several north-south axes also increases grid stability and therefore contributes to the long-term security of supply in the greater Basel area and across Switzerland. That is why the new 220-kilovolt line from Flumenthal to Froloo is needed.

The current power line between Flumenthal and Therwil runs over the Rüttelhorn mountain.
The current power line between Flumenthal and Therwil runs over the Rüttelhorn mountain.

Three possible corridor variants

At the beginning of April 2022, Swissgrid submitted an application to the Swiss Federal Office of Energy to initiate the sectoral planning process. The sectoral plan for transmission lines (SÜL) is the Swiss government’s superordinate planning and coordination tool for the construction and expansion of transmission lines. The SÜL process consists of two steps:

Step 1: Planning areas are first drawn up, i.e. geographic areas in which the new line should be built. The planning area is defined by the Federal Council. In the Flumenthal – Froloo project, there was insufficient scope for several planning areas, which is why Swissgrid and the cantons concerned, i.e. Basel-Country, Solothurn, Berne and Jura, agreed on a single planning area. This area stretches from Flumenthal in the canton of Solothurn in a northerly direction towards Therwil, the municipality in the canton of Basel-Country where the Froloo substation is located.

Step 2:In the application made to initiate the sectoral planning process, Swissgrid made a recommendation for three possible corridor variants within the defined planning area. The transmission technology for each corridor is always defined in advance, i.e. whether the line will be planned as an overhead line, an underground cable or a combination of the two. For each project, Swissgrid develops at least one corridor variant per technology. The focus is on protecting people and nature. Swissgrid therefore strives to create solutions that minimise the impact on residential and protected areas.

For this project, Swissgrid identified three possible corridors within the planning area, which largely overlap. First, a spatial overview was drawn up. The location was then assessed, and the third step involved determining which areas were – from an overall perspective – suitable for a line and which were not. The advantages and disadvantages of the three corridors were evaluated with various specialists, taking into account feedback from stakeholder groups.

Overview of the three corridor variants

1/4: Planning area
2/4: «Overhead line» corridor
3/4: «Underground cable» corridor
4/4: «Combination» corridor

«Overhead line» corridor

This corridor offers operational advantages and comparatively low costs. The challenges are to minimise the impact on protected areas, to ensure that the overhead line, which runs across the valleys in places, is carefully integrated into the landscape, and to maintain a suitable distance to residential areas, villages and individual farms.
Cost: approximately CHF 60 – 80 million.

«Underground cable» corridor

This corridor variant offers the greatest possible protection of residential areas, landscapes and protected areas between Flumenthal and Therwil, with the exception of wooded areas, which it would be necessary to cut through. Compared to the other two options, an underground cable is more expensive. Further challenges are posed by the geological conditions, which make tunnel construction and the protection of groundwater more difficult, as well as placing increased demands on grid operations.
Cost: approximately CHF 230 – 290 million.

«Combination» corridor

This corridor largely corresponds to the overhead line corridor. As a result, it has comparable advantages and disadvantages. The five-kilometre-long cable route between Froloo in Therwil and Ettingen would provide relief for the residential areas of Therwil, Reinach and Ettingen, as well as the landscape conservation area to the east. However, it presents an additional challenge, because it would be necessary to provide as much protection as possible for the amphibian spawning area, which is of national importance.
Cost: approximately CHF 80 – 100 million.

Dismantling the old line

The project will reduce the impact on the residential areas between Flumenthal and Therwil. The plan is to install the new line as far away as possible from residential areas. In addition, the existing 145-kilovolt line, which runs partly through the middle of heavily populated areas, will be completely dismantled after the commissioning of the new 220-kilovolt line.

1/2
2/2

The dismantling of the existing 145-kilovolt line will noticeably relieve the burden on localities such as Herbetswil.


Next steps

Next, a monitoring group appointed by the SFOE will discuss the corridors evaluated by Swissgrid and assess the effects on regional planning, the environment, technology and costs. The monitoring group’s recommendation will then proceed to the public collaboration stage. The Federal Council is expected to define the corridor between Flumenthal and Froloo, and therefore the technology of the new line, by the end of 2023. Swissgrid will then establish the specific construction project and submit the planning approval application to the competent authority, the Swiss Federal Inspectorate for Heavy Current Installations (ESTI). This will be followed by the public disclosure of the project.

Schedule in the best case scenario. If it comes to legal proceedings, the timetable will be delayed by two to four years.

Information events

In Therwil and Flumenthal

Dialogue with the citizens, municipalities, authorities and associations is important to Swissgrid. Swissgrid will be holding information events on the project at 6.30 p.m. on Tuesday, 28 June 2022 in Therwil (BL) and at 6.30 p.m. on Thursday, 30 June 2022 in Flumenthal (SO).


Downloads

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Projet de réseau Flumenthal – Froloo

Une ligne à très haute tension est prévue entre Flumenthal (SO) et Froloo (commune de Therwil, BL). Elle remplacera la ligne électrique existante. Cette nouvelle ligne de transport renforcera à long terme la sécurité d’approvisionnement de l’agglomération bâloise et de toute la Suisse.


Votre contact pour ce projet

Sandra Bläuer
Sandra Bläuer

Téléphone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Zone de planification
Zone de planification
Ligne actuelle
Ligne actuelle
Sous-station
Sous-station

L’essentiel en bref

  • La ligne existante de 145 kilovolts entre Flumenthal et Therwil d’IWB (Industrielle Werke Basel) doit être remplacée par une ligne de 220 kilovolts.
  • L’augmentation de la tension entre Flumenthal et Froloo est importante pour la sécurité d’approvisionnement de l’agglomération bâloise.
  • Début avril 2022, Swissgrid a déposé auprès de l’Office fédéral de l’énergie (OFEN) la demande de lancement de la procédure de plan sectoriel. La procédure relative au plan sectoriel des lignes de transport d’électricité (PSE) se déroule en deux étapes: la première consiste à définir une zone de planification. Swissgrid élabore ensuite des variantes de corridors possibles à l’intérieur de cette zone, y compris la technologie de transport (ligne câblée souterraine, ligne aérienne ou combinaison des deux).
  • La zone de planification définie s’étend de Flumenthal (SO) vers le nord jusqu’à Therwil (BL), la commune d’implantation de la sous-station de Froloo.
  • Swissgrid recommande trois variantes de corridors possibles. Pour chacune d'elles, l'objectif est de trouver une solution qui affecte le moins possible les zones d’habitation et les zones protégées. L’accent est mis sur la protection de l’homme et de la nature.
  • Dans la prochaine étape, un groupe d’accompagnement mis en place par l’OFEN discutera et évaluera les variantes de corridors.
  • D’ici fin 2023 probablement, le Conseil fédéral fixera le corridor entre Flumenthal et Froloo et donc la technologie de la ligne. Swissgrid élaborera ensuite le projet de construction concret et soumettra la demande d’approbation des plans à l’autorité compétente, l’Inspection fédérale des installations à courant fort (ESTI). Ensuite, le projet sera mis à l’enquête publique.

Projet

Situation initiale

La ligne de 145 kilovolts, longue de 33 kilomètres, reliant Flumenthal (SO) à Froloo (commune de Therwil, BL) d’IWB (Industrielle Werke Basel) doit être remplacée par une ligne de 220 kilovolts. La nouvelle ligne fait partie du Réseau stratégique de Swissgrid, à qui incombe donc la planification. La ligne à très haute tension entre Flumenthal et Froloo garantit la redondance de l’approvisionnement en électricité dans l’agglomération bâloise et renforce ainsi à long terme la sécurité d’approvisionnement de toute la Suisse.

Pourquoi ce projet est important

Un aspect central de ce projet est la redondance des réseaux: la sous-station de Froloo est centrale pour l’approvisionnement de l’agglomération bâloise. Aujourd’hui, elle est raccordée en antenne au réseau de transport, donc par une seule ligne. Si cette ligne tombait en panne, le courant ne circulerait plus vers la sous-station, ce qui affaiblirait substantiellement l’approvisionnement de Bâle. La distribution des flux d’électricité sur plusieurs axes plutôt que sur quelques-uns, voire un seul comme c’est le cas ici aujourd’hui, augmente la stabilité du réseau. La distribution des flux d’énergie sur plusieurs axes nord-sud augmente en outre la stabilité du réseau et contribue ainsi à la sécurité d’approvisionnement à long terme de l’agglomération de Bâle et de toute la Suisse. C’est pourquoi la nouvelle ligne de 220 kilovolts de Flumenthal à Froloo est nécessaire.

La ligne électrique actuelle entre Flumenthal et Therwil passe par le Rüttelhorn.
La ligne électrique actuelle entre Flumenthal et Therwil passe par le Rüttelhorn.

Trois variantes de corridors possibles

Début avril 2022, Swissgrid a déposé la demande de lancement de la procédure de plan sectoriel auprès de l’Office fédéral de l’énergie. Le plan sectoriel des lignes de transport d’électricité (PSE) est l’instrument de planification et de coordination principal de la Confédération pour l’extension et la construction de lignes de transport. La procédure PSE se déroule en deux étapes:

Étape 1: Tout d’abord, il s’agit d’élaborer des zones de planification, c’est-à-dire des espaces géographiques où sera construite la nouvelle ligne. La zone de planification est définie par le Conseil fédéral. Dans le cadre du projet Flumenthal – Froloo, la marge de manœuvre pour plusieurs zones de planification n’étant pas suffisante, Swissgrid et les cantons concernés (Bâle-Campagne, Soleure, Berne et Jura) se sont mis d’accord sur une seule zone de planification. Celle-ci s’étend de Flumenthal (SO) vers le nord jusqu’à Therwil (BL), la commune d’implantation de la sous-station de Froloo.

Étape 2: Dans sa demande de lancement de la procédure de plan sectoriel, Swissgrid recommande trois variantes de corridor possibles à l’intérieur de la zone de planification définie. La technologie de transport est toujours définie au préalable pour les corridors; il peut s’agir d’une ligne aérienne, d’une ligne câblée souterraine ou d’une combinaison des deux. Pour chaque projet, Swissgrid élabore au moins une variante de corridor par technologie. La priorité est donnée à la protection de l’homme et de la nature. C’est pourquoi Swissgrid s’efforce de trouver des solutions qui affectent le moins possible les zones d’habitation et les zones protégées.

Dans ce projet, Swissgrid a identifié au sein de la zone de planification trois corridors possibles, qui se recoupent en grande partie. Dans un premier temps, une vue d’ensemble de l’espace a été établie, puis la situation a été évaluée et, dans un troisième temps, il a été déterminé quelles zones – dans une perspective globale – se prêtent ou non à la construction d’une ligne. Les avantages et les inconvénients des trois corridors ont été évalués en collaboration avec différents spécialistes et en tenant compte des commentaires des parties prenantes.

Aperçu des trois variantes de corridors

1/4: Zone de planification
2/4: Corridor «ligne aérienne»
3/4: Corridor «ligne câblée souterraine»
4/4: Corridor «combinaison»

Corridor «ligne aérienne»

Ce corridor convainc par ses avantages opérationnels et ses coûts comparativement faibles. Les défis à relever consistent à minimiser l’impact sur les zones protégées, à intégrer avec ménagement dans le paysage la ligne aérienne qui traverse en partie les vallées et à respecter les distances par rapport aux habitations, hameaux et fermes isolées.
Coût: environ 60 à 80 millions de CHF.

Corridor «ligne câblée souterraine»

Cette variante de corridor permet de préserver au maximum les habitations, le paysage et les zones protégées entre Flumenthal et Therwil, à l’exception des zones forestières au travers desquelles une tranchée serait nécessaire. Par rapport aux deux autres variantes, une ligne câblée souterraine est plus chère. Les conditions géologiques, qui posent des exigences élevées à la construction de tunnels, la préservation des nappes phréatiques et les exigences accrues en matière d’exploitation du réseau constituent autant de défis supplémentaires.
Coût: environ 230 à 290 millions de CHF.

Corridor «combinaison»

Ce corridor correspond en grande partie au corridor des lignes aériennes. Il présente par conséquent des avantages et des inconvénients similaires. Le tronçon de ligne câblée souterraine de cinq kilomètres entre Froloo à Therwil et Ettingen permet d’améliorer visuellement les zones d’habitation de Therwil, de Reinach et d’Ettingen ainsi que la zone de protection du paysage située à l’est de celles-ci. Mais il pose un défi supplémentaire: celui de ménager au maximum le site de reproduction des amphibiens d’importance nationale qui s’y trouve.
Coût: environ 80 à 100 millions de CHF.

Démantèlement de l’ancienne ligne

Le projet permettra d’améliorer visuellement les zones d’habitation entre Flumenthal et Therwil. Il est prévu de construire la nouvelle ligne le plus loin possible des zones d’habitation. En outre, la ligne existante de 145 kilovolts, qui passe en partie au milieu de zones fortement peuplées, sera entièrement démantelée après la mise en service de la nouvelle ligne de 220 kilovolts.

1/2
2/2

Le démantèlement de la ligne existante de 145 kilovolts permettra également d’améliorer visuellement le paysage de certaines localités comme, par exemple, Herbetswil.


Les prochaines étapes

Un groupe d’accompagnement mis en place par l’OFEN discutera prochainement des propositions de corridors élaborées par Swissgrid et les évaluera en termes d’impact sur l’espace, l’environnement, la technologie et les coûts. La recommandation du groupe d’accompagnement sera ensuite intégrée à la procédure de participation de la population. D’ici fin 2023 probablement, le Conseil fédéral fixera le corridor entre Flumenthal et Froloo et donc la technologie de la nouvelle ligne. Swissgrid élaborera ensuite le projet de construction concret et soumettra la demande d’approbation des plans à l’autorité compétente, l’Inspection fédérale des installations à courant fort (ESTI). Ensuite, le projet sera mis à l’enquête publique.

Calendrier optimal. En cas de procédures judiciaires, le calendrier devrait être prolongé de 2 à 4 ans.

Réunions d’information

À Therwil et Flumenthal

Swissgrid attache une grande importance au dialogue avec la population, les communes, les autorités et les associations. Swissgrid organise des réunions d’information sur le projet le mardi 28 juin 2022 à 18h30 à Therwil (BL) et le jeudi 30 juin 2022 à 18h30 à Flumenthal (SO).


Liens & Téléchargements

Liens

Communiqué de presse

Téléchargements

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.