Grid project Innertkirchen – Ulrichen

The 27-kilometre-long line section between Innertkirchen (BE) and Ulrichen (VS) is to be replaced and increased from 220 to 380 kilovolts. Swissgrid has developed various technically feasible planning corridors. They include both overhead line and cable variants. The multifunctional Grimselbahn Tunnel is one of these cable variants.

Your contact for this grid project

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Planning area
Planning area
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

  • Most of the line between Innertkirchen and Ulrichen is over 60 years old and must be brought into line with the current state of the art.
  • As part of the modernisation, the line will be prepared for an increase in voltage from today’s 220 kV to 380 kV. This is necessary to ensure that the growing electricity production from hydroelectric power in Ticino, Valais and Bern is transported to Central Switzerland.
  • For the replacement of the extra-high-voltage line between Innertkirchen and Ulrichen, the monitoring group appointed by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) recommends an underground cable between Innertkirchen and Oberwald and an overhead line between Oberwald and Ulrichen. The un-derground cable will be installed either in existing and new tunnels or in the multifunctional Grimsel-bahn tunnel.
  • The project is undergoing the federal government’s sectoral planning process for transmission lines (SÜL). Following public consultation, the Federal Council will define the planning corridor and transmission technology. This decision is expected to be made at the end of 2022. Swissgrid will then kick off a construction project.

Project description

Initial situation

Most of the extra-high-voltage line between Innertkirchen and Ulrichen, which covers a distance of 27 kilometres over the Grimsel Pass, is over 60 years old and must be brought into line with the current state of the art. The modernisation will also encompass an increase in voltage from the existing 220 kilovolts (kV) to 380 kV throughout. The increase in the capacity of the line between Mettlen (LU) and Ulrichen is an important project in Swissgrid’s «Strategic Grid 2025».

Why the project is necessary

The expansion of electricity production from hydropower is a central pillar of the Energy Strategy 2050. The replacement and increase in voltage of the line between Innertkirchen and Ulrichen is important for the transportation of the growing electricity generation from the cantons of Bern, Valais and Ticino to the conurbations in Central Switzerland. The distribution of energy flows along several north-south axes also increases grid stability. The increase in capacity is necessary in light of the federal government’s energy strategy, in order to transport the increasing electricity production from hydropower in the cantons of Bern, Valais and Ticino to Central Switzerland and to permanently enhance security of supply throughout Switzerland.

Sectoral planning process for transmission lines (SÜL)

At the start of July 2020, Swissgrid submitted an application to establish a planning corridor between Innertkirchen and Ulrichen to the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) in the federal government’s sectoral planning process for transmission lines (SÜL). As a first step, Swissgrid developed a range of possible corridors, i.e. geographic areas in which a route can be established with a certain transmission technology – overhead line or underground cable – during the further course of the project.

Each of the variants has specific advantages and disadvantages with respect to regional planning, the environment, technology and economic viability. The SFOE set up a monitoring group to assess and evaluate these aspects as objectively as possible. This monitoring group incorporated various federal offices, the Swiss Foundation for the Protection of the Landscape, the cantons of Valais and Bern, and Swissgrid. The monitoring group examined and evaluated a total of six corridor variants based on 39 criteria on the topics of «spatial development», «environment», «technology» and «economic viability».

Monitoring group proposal

The monitoring group’s recommendation to the SFOE consists of an underground cable between Innertkirchen and Oberwald and an overhead line between Oberwald and Ulrichen. There are two variants for the underground cabling between Innertkirchen and Oberwald, which will cover a distance of around 23 kilometres.

«Long cabling 2-A variant (tunnel variant)»

«Long cabling 2-A variant (tunnel variant)»

  • This variant features a long underground cable with new and existing tunnels. The transmission line will run through a new cable tunnel between the Innertkirchen substation and Handegg. Between Handegg and the Grimsel 2 power plant, the line will be laid in existing tunnels belonging to Kraftwerke Oberhasli. Between the Grimsel 2 power plant and Oberwald, the line will be again be routed underground in a new cable tunnel that is still to be built.
  • In Oberwald, the line crosses the valley floor as an underground cable approximately 10 metres below the surface. A transition structure is planned on the south side of the valley south-west of the construction zone in Unterwassern, a part of the village of Oberwald. From there, the transmission line will run as an overhead line along the south side of the valley before reaching the existing line above the Nufenen Pass in the Ulrichen area.
«Long cabling 2-A multifunctional Grimselbahn tunnel» alternative variant

«Long cabling 2-A multifunctional Grimselbahn tunnel» alternative variant

  • For the multifunctional Grimselbahn tunnel variant, the transmission line will be laid in the Grimsel tunnel. This tunnel stretches from Innertkirchen to Oberwald. The line is located in a separate cable tunnel that runs parallel to the railway tunnel.
  • In Oberwald, the line crosses the valley floor as an underground cable approximately 10 metres below the surface. A transition structure is planned on the south side of the valley south-west of the construction zone in Unterwassern, a part of the village of Oberwald. From there, the transmission line will run as an overhead line along the south side of the valley as far as Ulrichen where it will reach the existing line above the Nufenen Pass.

Tunnel or multifunctional Grimselbahn tunnel?

If the Federal Council accepts the recommendation of the monitoring group, a decision will subsequently have to be made as to whether the tunnel variant or the multifunctional Grimselbahn tunnel variant will be implemented. Various conditions must be fulfilled before the Grimselbahn tunnel variant can go ahead. Firstly, the funding for the railway tunnel must be secured in the national parliament by 2027 at the latest. Secondly, a construction permit will be required by 2030 at the latest. If both conditions are met – in addition to the operating and technical requirements – the extra-high-voltage line will run through the tunnel parallel to the Grimselbahn tunnel. Otherwise, the line will follow the route set out for the tunnel variant. According to the latest plans, the extra-high-voltage line should become operational around the middle of the 2030s.

Swissgrid is aware of the advantages of bundling large, linear infrastructures, particularly in the area of landscape protection. It examines the corresponding synergy potential in all line projects. With the proposal to combine a railway tunnel and an underground cable, a variant on the Grimsel is now available that is technically feasible and is suitable for approval. Grimselbahn AG has demonstrated this in a feasibility study (2015) and in an in-depth technical analysis (2019). Further information: www.grimseltunnel.ch

Significant relief for residential areas

All the corridor variants submitted by Swissgrid have one thing in common: they reduce the burden on residential areas in and around Innertkirchen, Guttannen and Obergesteln. Today’s 220 kV line runs partly through the middle of these villages and restricts their development. National and international protected areas will be preserved. These include the Bernese High Alps and Aletsch-Bietschhorn area of national importance that is protected by the Federal Inventory of Landscapes and Natural Monuments of National Importance (ILNM), the Grimsel mire landscape included in the Federal Inventory of Mire Landscapes, and the Jungfrau-Aletsch UNESCO World Heritage Site. The current line will be removed in all variants.

Heutige Leitungsführung in Guttannen (BE)
Existing overhead line routing in Guttannen (BE)

Next steps

In the second half of June 2022, the two variants will continue on to the public consultation stage for three months. After evaluating the submissions, the SFOE will make a final recommendation to the Federal Council. The Federal Council – on the basis of the monitoring group’s recommendation and the results of the consultation – is expected to decide on the planning corridor and the transmission technology between Innertkirchen and Ulrichen at the end of 2022. Swissgrid will then draw up a corresponding construction project.

Schedule in the best case scenario. If it comes to legal proceedings, the timetable will be delayed by two to four years.

Further grid projects in the Haslital Valley

Swissgrid is planning a new line lead-in into the Innertkirchen substation to relieve the village of the current overhead lines. In addition, Swissgrid has replaced the outdated outdoor switching substation in Innertkirchen with a modern gas-insulated switchgear (GIS).

Innertkirchen lead-in

As is well known, Swissgrid is planning a new line lead-in into the Innertkirchen substation to relieve the village of the three current overhead lines. According to the SFOE, the line lead-in will now be included in the Innertkirchen – Mettlen (LU) sectoral planning process in order to avoid any delays. Three variants are currently being examined. According to the current planning, the new line route will be in place by the end of 2028. The dismantling of existing lines is scheduled for 2029.


Renovation of Innertkirchen substation

Swissgrid commissioned a 220 kV modern, gas-insulated switchgear (GIS) in the Innertkirchen substation in September 2020 following a construction period of around two years. Nine line bays, two transformer bays, two longitudinal separations and a cross-coupler form the core of the new 220 kV plant. The switchgear was prepared for all technical variants of the new line from Innertkirchen (underground cable or overhead line). Housed in the building of the substation, the modern GIS system replaces the outdated outdoor switching substation, which further relieves the burden on Innertkirchen’s landscape.

The substation in Innertkirchen is an important grid node in the Swiss transmission grid. It is very important for security of supply in Central Switzerland as well as for regional supply. The switchgear serves as the feed-in point for the Oberhasli power plant.

Erneuerung der Schaltanlage Innertkirchen

Downloads


Netznews

  • | Media release

    Old overhead line over the Gotthard Pass to be relocated to the new road tunnel

    Beitrag lesen
  • | Media release

    Bassecourt – Mühleberg voltage increase

    Beitrag lesen
  • | Media release

    Extra-high-voltage line in Balzers

    Continued operation is intended to ensure a stable and reliable supply of electricity in Liechtenstein and Switzerland.
    Beitrag lesen

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Projet de réseau Innertkirchen – Ulrichen

Le tronçon de 27 kilomètres entre Innertkirchen (BE) et Ulrichen (VS) sera rénové et passera de 220 à 380 kilovolts. Swissgrid a élaboré différents corridors de planification qui sont techniquement réalisables. Ils comportent à la fois des variantes de ligne aérienne et de ligne câblée souterraine. Le tunnel ferroviaire multifonction du Grimsel constitue l’une de ces variantes avec ligne câblée.

Votre contact pour ce projet

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Téléphone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Zone de planification
Zone de planification
Ligne actuelle
Ligne actuelle
Sous-station
Sous-station

Aperçu

  • La majeure partie de la ligne entre Innertkirchen et Ulrichen date de plus de 60 ans et doit être modernisée.
  • Dans le cadre de cette rénovation, la ligne sera préparée pour passer d’une tension actuelle de 220 kV à 380 kV. Cela est indispensable pour transporter vers le Plateau suisse l’électricité produite par les centrales hydroélectriques tessinoises, valaisannes et bernoises, dont la quantité ne cesse d’augmenter.
  • Pour le remplacement de la ligne à très haute tension entre Innertkirchen et Ulrichen, le groupe d’accompagnement mis en place par l’Office fédéral de l’énergie (OFEN) recommande une ligne câblée souterraine entre ces deux villes et une ligne aérienne entre Oberwald et Ulrichen. La ligne câblée souterraine doit être réalisée soit dans des nouvelles galeries ou des galeries existantes, soit dans le tunnel ferroviaire multifonction du Grimsel.
  • Ce projet fait l’objet d’une procédure de plan sectoriel des lignes de transport d’électricité (PSE) de la Confédération. Le Conseil fédéral déterminera le corridor de planification et la technologie de transport après une procédure de participation de la population. Il prendra probablement sa décision fin 2022. Swissgrid commencera alors un projet de construction.

Description du projet

Situation initiale

La majeure partie de la ligne à très haute tension d’environ 27 kilomètres entre Innertkirchen et Ulrichen, qui, pour l’heure, passe par le col du Grimsel, date de plus de 60 ans et doit être modernisée. Dans le cadre de cette rénovation, la tension actuelle de 220 kilovolts (kV) passera également à 380 kV sur toute la longueur de la ligne. Le renforcement de la ligne entre Mettlen (LU) et Ulrichen représente un projet important du «Réseau stratégique 2025» de Swissgrid.

Un projet indispensable: pourquoi?

Le développement de la production d’électricité issue de la force hydraulique est un pilier central de la stratégie énergétique 2050. La rénovation et le renforcement de la ligne entre Innertkirchen et Ulrichen sont importants pour transporter la production croissante d’électricité des cantons de Berne, du Valais et du Tessin vers les agglomérations du Plateau suisse. De plus, la répartition des flux d’énergie entre plusieurs axes nord-sud augmente la stabilité du réseau. Afin de transporter vers le Plateau suisse l’électricité produite à partir de la force hydraulique dans les cantons de Berne, du Valais et du Tessin, dont la quantité ne cesse d’augmenter, et de renforcer à long terme la sécurité d’approvisionnement de toute la Suisse, cette augmentation de la capacité est nécessaire au regard de la stratégie énergétique de la Confédération.

Procédure de plan sectoriel des lignes de transport d’électricité (PSE)

Début juillet 2020, Swissgrid a demandé à l’Office fédéral de l’énergie (OFEN) de déterminer un corridor de planification entre Innertkirchen et Ulrichen dans le plan sectoriel des lignes de transport d’électricité (PSE) de la Confédération. À cette fin, Swissgrid a tout d’abord élaboré différentes variantes de corridors, c’est-à-dire des zones géographiques dans lesquelles il sera par la suite possible de réaliser un tracé avec une technologie de transport spécifique, qu’il s’agisse d’une ligne aérienne ou d’une ligne câblée souterraine.

Chacune des variantes présente ses avantages et ses inconvénients en matière d’aménagement du territoire, d’environnement, de technique et de rentabilité. Afin d’évaluer ces aspects le plus objectivement possible, l’OFEN a mis en place un groupe d’accompagnement. Celui-ci comprenait entre autres différents services fédéraux, la Fondation pour la protection et l’aménagement du paysage, les cantons du Valais et de Berne ainsi que Swissgrid. Au total, le groupe d’accompagnement a examiné et évalué six variantes de corridors selon 39 critères relatifs aux thèmes «aménagement du territoire», «environnement», «technique» et «rentabilité».

Proposition du groupe d’accompagnement

Le groupe d’accompagnement recommande à l’OFEN une ligne câblée souterraine entre Innertkirchen et Oberwald et une ligne aérienne entre Oberwald et Ulrichen. Il existe deux variantes pour la ligne câblée souterraine d’environ 23 kilomètres entre Innertkirchen et Oberwald.

Variante «Câblage long 2-A (variante avec galeries)»

Variante «Câblage long 2-A (variante avec galeries)»

  • La variante prévoit une longue ligne câblée souterraine avec de nouvelles galeries et des galeries existantes. Entre la sous-station d’Innertkirchen et Handegg, la ligne de transport passe dans une nouvelle galerie. Entre Handegg et la centrale du Grimsel 2, la ligne doit être câblée dans des galeries existantes des centrales d’Oberhasli. Entre la centrale du Grimsel 2 et Oberwald, la ligne sera à nouveau enterrée dans une nouvelle galerie de câbles à construire.
  • À Oberwald, la ligne traverse le fond de la vallée sous forme de ligne câblée souterraine à environ 10 mètres sous la surface. Une station aéro-souterraine est prévue sur le côté sud de la vallée, au sud-ouest de la zone à bâtir dans le quartier d’Unterwassern du village d’Oberwald. De là, la ligne de transport est aérienne et longe le versant sud de la vallée jusqu’à la ligne existante passant par le col du Nufenen dans la région d’Ulrichen.
Variante alternative «Câblage long 2-A tunnel ferroviaire multifonction du Grimsel»

Variante alternative «Câblage long 2-A tunnel ferroviaire multifonction du Grimsel»

  • Dans le cas du tunnel ferroviaire multifonction du Grimsel, la ligne de transport est déplacée dans le tunnel du Grimsel, qui mène d’Innertkirchen à Oberwald. La ligne se trouve dans une galerie de câbles séparée, parallèle au tunnel ferroviaire.
  • À Oberwald, la ligne passe sous le fond de la vallée sous forme de ligne câblée souterraine à environ 10 mètres sous la surface. Une station aéro-souterraine est prévue sur le côté sud de la vallée, au sud-ouest de la zone à bâtir dans le quartier d’Unterwassern du village d’Oberwald. De là, la ligne de transport est aérienne et longe le versant sud de la vallée jusqu’à Ulrichen, où elle rejoint la ligne existante passant par le col du Nufenen.

Galeries ou tunnel ferroviaire multifonction du Grimsel?

Si le Conseil fédéral suit la recommandation du groupe d’accompagnement, il faudra par la suite décider laquelle des variantes avec galeries ou avec tunnel ferroviaire multifonction du Grimsel sera réalisée. Pour que cette dernière puisse être mise en œuvre, différentes conditions sont nécessaires. D’une part, le Parlement national doit garantir le financement du tunnel ferroviaire au plus tard en 2027. D’autre part, un permis de construire sera nécessaire au plus tard en 2030. Si ces deux conditions sont remplies – parallèlement aux conditions techniques et d’exploitation – la ligne à très haute tension passera par la galerie parallèle au tunnel ferroviaire du Grimsel. Dans le cas contraire, le tracé se fera par la variante avec galeries. Selon l’état actuel de la planification, la ligne à très haute tension devrait entrer en service vers le milieu des années 2030.

Swissgrid est consciente des avantages que procure le regroupement de grandes infrastructures linéaires, notamment en ce qui concerne la protection du paysage. Elle examine par conséquent les synergies possibles pour tous les projets de construction de lignes. La proposition de combiner le tunnel ferroviaire et la ligne câblée souterraine au niveau du Grimsel permet de proposer une variante faisable sur le plan technique et dont l’autorisation est possible. C’est ce que Grimselbahn AG a démontré dans le cadre d’une étude de faisabilité (2015) et d’une analyse technique approfondie (2019). Informations complémentaires: www.grimseltunnel.ch

Regain d’espace dans les territoires urbanisés

Chaque variante de corridors déposée par Swissgrid présente le point commun de libérer de l’espace dans les territoires urbanisés d’Innertkirchen, Guttannen et Obergesteln. L’actuelle ligne de 220 kV passe parfois en plein milieu de ces villages et limite leur développement urbain. Les zones protégées nationales et internationales sont épargnées. Il s’agit notamment de la région des Hautes Alpes bernoises et d’Aletsch-Bietschhorn, protégée par l’Inventaire fédéral des paysages, sites et monuments naturels d’importance nationale (IFP), du site marécageux du Grimsel, inscrit à l’Inventaire fédéral des sites marécageux, et du site Jungfrau-Aletsch, inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Chaque variante prévoit le démantèlement de cette ligne.

Tracé actuel de la ligne à Guttannen (BE)
Tracé actuel de la ligne à Guttannen (BE)

Les prochaines étapes

À partir de la mi-juin 2022, les deux variantes feront l’objet d’une participation publique qui durera trois mois. Après avoir évalué les contributions, l’OFEN émettra une recommandation finale à l’intention du Conseil fédéral. Le Conseil fédéral déterminera probablement fin 2022 le corridor de planification et la technologie de transport entre Innertkirchen et Ulrichen, en se basant sur la recommandation du groupe d’accompagnement et les résultats de la participation. Swissgrid élaborera ensuite le projet de construction correspondant.

Calendrier optimal. En cas de procédures judiciaires, le calendrier devrait être prolongé de 2 à 4 ans.

Autres projets de réseau dans le Haslital

Swissgrid prévoit une nouvelle entrée de ligne dans la sous-station d’Innertkirchen afin de libérer le village des lignes aériennes actuelles. De plus, Swissgrid a remplacé l’ancien poste de couplage en plein air par un poste de couplage moderne isolé au gaz (GIS).

Entrée de ligne à Innertkirchen

Comme précédemment évoqué, Swissgrid prévoit une nouvelle entrée de ligne dans la sous-station d’Innertkirchen afin de libérer le village des lignes aériennes actuelles. D’après l’OFEN, l’entrée de la ligne sera désormais traitée dans la procédure du plan sectoriel Innertkirchen – Mettlen (LU) afin d’éviter d’éventuels retards dans le calendrier. Trois variantes sont actuellement à l’étude. Selon la planification actuelle, le nouveau tracé devrait être mis en œuvre d’ici à fin 2028. Le démantèlement des lignes existantes est prévu pour 2029.

Swissgrid prévoit de mettre en service la nouvelle entrée de ligne d’ici fin 2026. Les lignes aériennes qui traversent Innertkirchen seront probablement démantelées d’ici fin 2027.


Rénovation de la sous-station d’Innertkirchen

Après environ deux ans de construction, Swissgrid a mis en service en septembre 2020 un poste de couplage de 220 kV moderne et isolé au gaz (GIS) dans la sous-station d’Innertkirchen. Neuf cellules de lignes et deux cellules de transformation ainsi que deux séparations longitudinales et un couplage transversal constituent le cœur de cette nouvelle installation de 220 kV. Le poste de couplage a été préparé pour toutes les variantes techniques de la nouvelle ligne partant d’Innertkirchen (câble ou ligne aérienne). Le poste de couplage moderne isolé au gaz qui se situe dans le bâtiment de la sous-station remplacera le vieux poste de couplage en plein air, ce qui libèrera de l’espace sur le site construit d’Innertkirchen.

La sous-station d’Innertkirchen constitue un nœud électrique primordial du réseau de transport suisse. Elle est d’une importance capitale pour la sécurité d’approvisionnement du Plateau central ainsi que pour l’approvisionnement régional. Le poste de couplage sert de point d’injection pour les centrales électriques d’Oberhasli.

Erneuerung der Schaltanlage Innertkirchen

Téléchargements


Actualités concernant le réseau

  • Mise en service Chamoson – Chippis
    | Communiqué de presse

    La nouvelle ligne aérienne THT Chamoson – Chippis est en service

    Lire l'article
  • | Communiqué de presse

    L'ancienne ligne aérienne du Saint-Gothard sera souterraine dans le nouveau tunnel autoroutier

    Lire l'article
  • | Communiqué de presse

    Augmentation de la tension entre Bassecourt et Mühleberg

    Lire l'article

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.