Grid project Mettlen – Ulrichen

Swissgrid is constructing a new 380 kilovolt line between Mettlen and Ulrichen. This is necessary in order to fully transport the energy from the pumped storage power plants to the centres in Central Switzerland.

Swissgrid is reviewing a number of options for increasing the voltage from 220 kilovolts to 380 kilovolts between Innertkirchen and Ulrichen. The construction of a new overhead line, an underground cable as well as the laying of the cable in the Grimsel Tunnel are being discussed.

Your contact for this grid project

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

220 kV line
220 kV line
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

The Mettlen – Ulrichen project will convert the existing 87 kilometre, 220 kilovolt overhead line to 380 kilovolts. The new line will be operated at 220 kilovolts for the time being.

The Mettlen – Ulrichen section is 61 kilometres long and does not meet the current technical requirements. The largest section of the line (51 kilometres) is over 60 years old and 10 kilometres of the line was converted to 380 kilovolts in 1992.

The upgrading of the existing 220-kilovolt line between Innertkirchen and Ulrichen (Grimsel line) to 380 kilovolts throughout is a key element in the 2025 strategic grid planning. The Innertkirchen – Ulrichen project will convert the existing, roughly 27.8 kilometre-long, 220 kilovolt overhead line and prepare it for subsequent operation at 380 kilovolts.

The planning approval procedure is expected to be concluded by mid-2027. Swissgrid is very reliant on efficient planning and approval processes to do this. Swissgrid endeavours to find the most logical and sensible solution for all projects with regard to environmental compatibility as well as with respect to regional planning and technical and financial aspects. Potential synergies with other linear infrastructure, such as SBB rail power, distribution grids or motorways are systematically reviewed and considered where appropriate. As is the case for all projects, Swissgrid is required to develop several versions. At least three versions exist for the Grimsel line: the version with an overhead line over the pass (in this case, the existing line would be replaced), the version that exclusively uses underground cabling and the version with cabling through the Grimsel Tunnel. The Federal Council reaches the final decision on the version after careful consideration of regional planning, technical, economic and environmental aspects by the authority administering the process.


Project

The 220 kV line between Innertkirchen and Ulrichen (Grimsel line) was created in 1951. The project aims to upgrade the existing 220 kV line between Mettlen and Ulrichen, which is 27.8 km in length, to 380 kV. Two 380 kV extra-high-voltage lines or cable systems are planned for the Innertkirchen – Oberwald (Ulrichen) section. For the Innertkirchen – Oberwald section, the possibility of laying a cable in the Grimsel tunnel, 22.3 km in length, will be investigated. The connection of the Handegg and Grimsel power plants is also part of the laying of the cable in the Grimsel tunnel. The possibility of a 220 kV power plant connection from the Handeck and Grimsel substation to the Innertkirchen substation via a cable laid in the Grimsel tunnel will be investigated.

As part of the Mettlen – Ulrichen programme, but also outside this project, a new 220 kV switching substation will be constructed on the site of the existing switching substation in Innertkirchen. The necessary space will be reserved for the later construction of a new 380 kV switching substation and a grid coupling transformer.

The Grimsel tunnel (in German)
The Grimsel tunnel (in German)

Facts and figures

Route lengths Innertkirchen – Ulrichen: 27.8 km of which in the Grimsel tunnel
Innertkirchen – Mettlen: 60.8 km
Total length: 88.6 km
Electricity conductor 1600 mm2 copper
Rated voltage 220 kV
Number of dismantled electricity pylons in the Grimsel tunnel section 121

Timetable

2018 Sectoral plan process start
2022 Determination of the planning corridor by the Federal Council
2024 Planning approval procedure start
2027 Planning approval decision
2030 Construction / commissioning

Downloads


Grid news

  • | Media release

    Ground-breaking ceremony at «Gäbihübel»

    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: Work has begun

    The preparatory work for the Chamoson – Chippis VHV overhead line that started last January is nearing completion for the first two sections between Chalais and Sierre and Sion and Vex.
    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: supplementary geological study

    In 2015, the cantonal geologist of the Valais requested an additional «natural hazards» study within the framework of the Chamoson – Chippis extra-high-voltage transmission line project.
    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Projet de réseau Mettlen – Ulrichen

Swissgrid construit une nouvelle ligne 380 kV entre Mettlen et Ulrichen. Cette ligne est nécessaire afin de pouvoir transporter toute l’énergie issue des centrales de pompage-turbinage vers les centres de consommation du Plateau suisse.

Swissgrid examine différentes variantes afin d'augmenter la tension de 220 kV à 380 kV entre Innertkirchen et Ulrichen. La construction d'une nouvelle ligne aérienne, un câblage souterrain et un câblage dans le tunnel du Grimsel sont à l'étude.

Votre contact pour ce projet

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Téléphone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Ligne 220 kV
Ligne 220 kV
Ligne actuelle
Ligne actuelle
Sous-station
Sous-station

Sommaire

Dans le cadre du projet Mettlen – Ulrichen, la tension de la ligne aérienne 220 kV existante de 87 km, va passer à 380 kV. La nouvelle ligne sera tout d'abord exploitée en 220 kV.

Le tronçon Mettlen – Ulrichen de 61 km ne répond plus aux exigences techniques actuelles. La majeure partie de la ligne (51 km) date de plus de 60 ans. En 1992, 10 km ont été transformés en 380 kV.

Le renforcement de la ligne 220 kV existante entre Innertkirchen et Ulrichen (ligne du Grimsel) pour être exploitée en 380 kV sur toute sa longueur est un élément clé de la planification stratégique du réseau 2025. Dans le cadre du projet Innertkirchen – Ulrichen, la ligne aérienne 220 kV existante d'environ 27,8 kilomètres va subir des travaux de transformation afin de pouvoir être exploitée en 380 kV par la suite.

La procédure d'approbation des plans prendra vraisemblablement fin à mi-2027. En l'occurrence, Swissgrid dépend essentiellement de procédures de planification et d'approbation efficaces. Swissgrid s'efforce de trouver la meilleure solution pour tous les projets en ce qui concerne l'impact sur l'environnement, l'aménagement du territoire, les aspects techniques et financiers. Elle examine systématiquement toutes les synergies possibles avec d'autres infrastructures linéaires, comme les lignes de traction des CFF, les réseaux de distribution ou les autoroutes, si elles sont judicieuses. Swissgrid est tenue d'élaborer plusieurs variantes, comme pour tous les projets. Il existe au moins trois variantes pour franchir le Grimsel: la variante avec une ligne aérienne au-dessus du col, la ligne existante serait dans ce cas remplacée, la variante avec un câblage souterrain indépendant, et la variante avec un câblage dans le tunnel du Grimsel. Le Conseil fédéral décidera de la variante définitive lorsque les autorités chargées de la procédure auront évalué soigneusement les aspects techniques, économiques, environnementaux et relatifs à l'aménagement du territoire.


Projet

La ligne 220 kV entre Innertkirchen et Ulrichen (ligne du Grimsel) a été réalisée en 1951. Le projet prévoit de renforcer la ligne 220 kV existante sur une longueur de 27.8 km entre Mettlen et Ulrichen pour en faire une ligne de 380 kV. Deux systèmes de lignes à très haute tension 380 kV ou systèmes de câbles sont prévus sur le tronçon Innertkirchen – Oberwald. Le câblage dans le tunnel du Grimsel est examiné sur une longueur de 22.3 km sur le tronçon Innertkirchen – Oberwald. Le raccordement des centrales électriques Handegg et Grimsel fait également partie du câblage dans le tunnel du Grimsel. Le raccordement 220 kV de centrale des sous-stations Handeck et Grimsel à la sous-station Innertkirchen via une pose de câble dans la galerie du Grimsel est examiné.

Le tunnel du Grimsel (en allemand)
Le tunnel du Grimsel (en allemand)

A Innertkirchen, un nouveau poste de couplage 220 kV isolé au gaz sera construit à l'endroit du poste de couplage actuel en tant qu'élément du programme Mettlen – Ulrichen, toutefois en dehors de ce projet. Les emplacements nécessaires sont réservés pour la construction ultérieure d'un nouveau poste de couplage 380 kV et d'un transformateur de couplage au réseau.

Construction du bâtiment d'exploitation du poste de couplage isolé au gaz à Innertkirchen
Construction du bâtiment d'exploitation du poste de couplage isolé au gaz à Innertkirchen

Faits et chiffres

Longueurs des lignes Innertkirchen – Ulrichen: 27,8 km, dont 22.26 dans le tunnel du Grimsel
Innertkirchen – Mettlen: 60,8 km
Longueur totale: 88,6 km
Conducteur électrique 1600 mm2 de cuivre
Tension nominale 220 kV
Nombre de pylônes démantelés sur le tronçon tunnel du Grimsel 121

Calendrier

2018 Début de la procédure de plan sectoriel
2022 Fixation du couloir de projet par le Conseil fédéral
2024 Début de la procédure d'approbation des plans
2027 Décision d'approbation des plans
2030 Construction / mise en service

Téléchargements


Actualités concernant le réseau

  • | Communiqué de presse

    Pour un approvisionnement en électricité sûr du Valais et de la Suisse

    Lire l'article
  • | News

    Projets de réseau: Swissgrid informe sur l’état d’avancement des travaux de cons-truction

    Lire l'article
  • | Communiqué de presse

    Premier coup de pioche dans la zone «Gäbihübel»

    Lire l'article

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.