Grid project Niederwil – Obfelden

Swissgrid is planning a new 380-kilovolt line between Niederwil and Obfelden. The new line is essential for power transit and security of supply in the cantons of Aargau and Zurich.

Your contact for this grid project

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Planning area
Planning area
Dismantling
Dismantling
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

This project has been designed to expand and/or replace the 17 kilometre, 220 kilovolt line between the Niederwil (AG) and Obfelden (ZH) substations with a new 380 kilovolt line. The line is part of the Beznau to Mettlen expansion programme. It will permanently improve and secure the supply of energy to the consumer centres in the regions of Aargau West, Zurich North, the left bank of Lake Zurich and Zug.

Improvement compared to the current situation

  • The existing 220 kilovolt line will be dismantled following commissioning of the new line. This currently passes along the villages in Niederwil, Fischbach-Göslikon and Hermetschwil-Staffeln and inhibits the development of these settlements.
  • Possible planning corridors for underground, partial underground and overhead line options will be reviewed in the sectoral plan process. The affected local authorities and associations will be integrated into the planning process at an early stage.

Project

The project is part of the Swiss government's sectoral plan process, which is used to coordinate projects that have a significant spatial and environmental impact. On 31 August 2016, the Federal Council finalised the planning territory for the new 380-kilovolt line from Niederwil (AG) to Obfelden (ZH). Swissgrid developed possible planning corridors for underground, partial underground and overhead line versions within the planning territory. These will be reviewed by the monitoring group set up by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy, consisting of representatives from the federal government, cantonal authorities, environmental associations and Swissgrid. The monitoring group provides a recommendation for the planning corridor as well as the technical underground, partial underground or overhead line versions using the «Evaluation Scheme for Transmission Lines».

Before the corridor versions were evaluated by the monitoring group, Swissgrid consulted with the affected municipalities, environmental associations, regional planning associations and the Reusstal Compatible Power Line Association (VSLR) in the planning process. The Swiss Federal Office of Energy, the cantons of Aargau and Zurich as well as Swissgrid will hold a public information event before the public consultation on the planning corridor proposed by the monitoring group.

In the canton of Aargau, the cantonal structure plan will be adapted in parallel with the sectoral plan process. The cantonal structure plan for Zurich does not require any changes as a result of the planning territory being defined.

Milestones

Within the planning corridor defined by the Federal Council, Swissgrid then works out the concrete line routing for the detailed project and submits a request for planning approval. During the project's history spanning more than 30 years, two sections have already been realised (in connection with the road building projects «Bremgarten detour» and «A4 motorway»).

Schedule in the optimal case (without appeal to the courts):

15 July 2013
Start of the sectoral plan process
3 September 2013 Information event for municipalities and associations
24 February 2015 Information event for authorities, associations and the general public before the circulation of the planning territory
31 August 2016 Specification of the planning territory by the Federal Council
16. Februar 2017 Information event for local authorities and associations
2018 Public consultation / cooperation procedure on the planning corridor
2018 Information event for authorities, associations and the general public before the circulation of the planning corridor
2019 Specification of the planning corridor and the technology by the Federal Council
2021 Start of the planning approval procedure
2022 Planning approval decision
2024 Commissioning of the new line 380 kilovolt line
2025 Dismantling of the existing 220 kilovolt line

People & environment

Landscape

Overhead line

Overhead lines are visible objects in the landscape and can have a negative impact on the landscape depending on their location. The interventions must be assessed by the federal government and the cantons in accordance with the protection objectives and the consideration of compliance with the federal tasks (ensuring the supply of energy).

Underground line

Underground cables are generally assessed more favourably in relation to the landscape than overhead lines. While the cable route is not visible on open terrain, it remains clearly visible in forested areas as a necessary zone without deep-rooted and high trees must be maintained.

Forests

Overhead line

Interventions in groves by route clearing and/or the suppression of growth. Higher pylons make it possible to cross above the forest. However, the effects on the landscape are greater. The land under overhead lines can be used for agricultural purposes.

Underground line

Interventions in groves are greater than the interventions required for an overhead line due to the need for route clearance. The cable route is clearly visible in the forest because, for underground cables, the area above the line has to be kept free of high trees and deep-rooted plants. The soil above the underground cable can be used for agricultural purposes.

Soil

Overhead line

Soil sealing takes place on a small scale around the pylon foundations. Temporary interventions, especially around the pylon locations, during the construction phase.

Underground line

Extensive impact during the construction phase. Around 20,000 m2 of soil is impacted to construct an underground line 1 kilometre long (construction, installation locations, construction tracks). Depending on the electricity load, the electrical losses heat the underground cable and the surrounding soil. Measuring installations are used to measure and monitor the soil temperature. Soil sealing takes place on a small scale around the coupling shafts.

Noise

Overhead line

The noise emissions are caused by electrical discharge on the conductors (corona noises), which occur on high-voltage overhead lines under certain weather conditions, such as fog, rain or snow.

Underground line

In the operating phase, the noise emissions originate from compensation systems. Compensation systems emit a humming noise similar to transformers.

Electromagnetic fields

Overhead line

The magnetic field depends on the current and the phase arrangement of the conductor. In an overhead line, the limit of 1 microtesla is complied with from a distance of about 60 – 80 metres from the line axis.

Underground line

In underground cables, the magnetic field depends on the current, the installation depth and the cable arrangement. The spatial expansion of the magnetic field is lower than for overhead lines, but the strength directly over the underground cable is much higher than under an overhead line. The limit of 1 microtesla is complied with from a distance of about 6 – 8 metres from the line axis of the underground cable. The magnetic field can amount to more than 100 µT directly above the line. A value of 100 μT must not be exceeded from a soil distance of 20 cm.

Electrical losses

Electric power transmission leads to electrical losses. A small portion of the power is transformed into heat. The voltage causes losses as well. With overhead power lines, these are known as «corona losses,» because the air serves as an insulator. In cables, it is the insulating material that conducts a small portion of the power, likewise resulting in losses. Since cables have a significantly larger cross section than overhead lines, they experience much lower conductor losses than the latter. However, the interplay of cable and grid generates reactive power, which has to be compensated for. These losses are much higher with cables than with overhead lines.


Grid news

  • | Media release

    Ground-breaking ceremony at «Gäbihübel»

    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: Work has begun

    The preparatory work for the Chamoson – Chippis VHV overhead line that started last January is nearing completion for the first two sections between Chalais and Sierre and Sion and Vex.
    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: supplementary geological study

    In 2015, the cantonal geologist of the Valais requested an additional «natural hazards» study within the framework of the Chamoson – Chippis extra-high-voltage transmission line project.
    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Projet de réseau Niederwil – Obfelden

Swissgrid prévoit une nouvelle ligne 380 kV entre Niederwil et Obfelden. La nouvelle ligne est essentielle pour le transit de l'électricité et pour la sécurité de l'approvisionnement des cantons d'Argovie et de Zurich.

Votre contact pour ce projet

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Téléphone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Zone de planification
Zone de planification
Démantèlement
Démantèlement
Ligne actuelle
Ligne actuelle
Sous-station
Sous-station

Sommaire

Ce projet prévoit l'extension ou le remplacement de la ligne 220 kV de 17 kilomètres entre les sous-stations de Niederwil (AG) et d'Obfelden (ZH) par une nouvelle ligne 380 kV. Cette ligne fait partie du programme d'extension de Beznau à Mettlen. Elle améliore et sécurise durablement l'approvisionnement en énergie des centres de consommation situés dans les régions d'Argovie Ouest, de Zurich Nord, de Zoug et sur la rive gauche du lac de Zurich.

Amélioration par rapport à la situation actuelle

  • La ligne 220 kV existante sera démontée après la mise en service de la nouvelle ligne. À l'heure actuelle, elle longe les villages dans la région de Niederwil, Fischbach-Göslikon ainsi que d'Hermetschwil-Staffeln et gêne leur expansion.
  • La procédure de plan sectoriel examine différents couloirs de planification possibles pour les variantes avec ligne câblée, avec câblage partiel ou avec ligne aérienne. Les autorités et les associations locales concernées sont impliquées de manière précoce dans le processus de planification.

Projet

Le projet se trouve dans la phase de procédure de plan sectoriel de la Confédération qui permet de coordonner la planification de projets ayant des répercussions considérables sur le territoire et l'environnement. Le Conseil fédéral a défini la zone de projet pour la nouvelle ligne 380 kV reliant Niederwil (AG) à Obfelden (ZH) le 31 août 2016. Dans cette zone de planification, Swissgrid a défini plusieurs couloirs de planification possibles pour les variantes avec ligne câblée, câblage partiel et ligne aérienne. Ces derniers sont examinés par le groupe d'accompagnement constitué par l'Office fédéral de l'énergie, qui comporte des représentants de la Confédération, des autorités cantonales, des associations environnementales et de Swissgrid. Le groupe d'accompagnement fournit une recommandation pour le couloir de planification et la variante technique (ligne câblée, câblage partiel ou ligne aérienne) en se basant sur le «Modèle d'évaluation pour les lignes de transport».

Avant d'en arriver à ce stade, Swissgrid a impliqué les communes concernées, les associations environnementales, les associations de planification régionales et l'association «Verträgliche Starkstromleitung Reusstal (VSLR)» dans le processus de planification en collaboration avec les cantons d'Argovie et de Zurich. L'Office fédéral de l'énergie, les cantons d'Argovie et de Zurich ainsi que Swissgrid organisent une réunion d'information publique avant la consultation publique du couloir de planification proposé par le groupe d'accompagnement.

Dans le canton d'Argovie, le plan directeur cantonal est adapté parallèlement à la procédure de plan sectoriel. Dans le canton de Zurich, le plan directeur cantonal n'a pas besoin d'être adapté en raison du domaine de planification à définir.

Etapes

Ensuite, Swissgrid concrétisera le tracé de ligne pour le projet détaillé et déposera la demande d'approbation du projet dans le respect du corridor de planification défini par la Confédération. Dans le cadre de ce projet, qui dure depuis plus de 30 ans, deux tronçons ont déjà été réalisés (en lien avec les projets routiers «Contournement Bremgarten» et «Autoroute A4»).

Calendrier en cas de procédure optimale (sans recours devant les tribunaux):

15 juillet 2013
Début de la procédure de plan sectoriel
3 septembre 2013 Réunion d'information destinée aux communes et aux associations
24 février 2015 Réunion d'information destinée aux autorités, aux associations et au public avant la mise à l'enquête de la zone de planification
31 août 2016 Le Conseil fédéral décide de la zone de planification
16 février 2017 Réunion d'information destinée aux autorités et aux associations locales
2018 Procédure de consultation / de participation publique concernant le couloir de planification
2018 Réunion d'information destinée aux autorités, aux associations et au public avant la mise à l'enquête du couloir de planification
2019 Le Conseil fédéral décide du couloir de planification et de la technologie
2021 Début de la procédure d'approbation des plans
2022 Décision d'approbation des plans
2024 Mise en service de la nouvelle ligne 380 kV
2025 Démantèlement de la ligne 220 kV existante

Personnes & environnement

Paysage

Ligne aérienne

Les lignes aériennes sont des objets visibles et peuvent nuire au paysage en fonction de leur emplacement. Toute intervention doit être évaluée en fonction des objectifs de protection de la Confédération et des cantons ainsi que des tâches que la Confédération doit accomplir (garantir l'approvisionnement en énergie).

Ligne câblée

En général, les câbles souterrains nuisent moins au paysage que les lignes aériennes. Bien que le tracé de câbles est invisible en terrain dégagé, il reste très visible dans les zones boisées étant donné qu'il faut respecter une zone sans racines profondes ni arbres de grande taille.

Forêt

Ligne aérienne

Interventions dans les forêts en raison de préservation de tracé et/ou de limitation de la hauteur des arbres. Des pylônes plus élevés permettent de passer au-dessus des forêts. Les impacts sur le paysage sont toutefois d'autant plus importants. L'exploitation agricole est possible sous une ligne aérienne.

Ligne câblée

Les interventions dans les forêts en raison de préservation du tracé sont plus importantes que pour une ligne aérienne. Le tracé de câbles en forêt est nettement visible étant donné que la zone située au-dessus de ces dernières doit être dépourvue d'arbres de grande taille et de plantes aux racines profondes. L'exploitation agricole est possible au-dessus d'une ligne câblée.

Sols

Ligne aérienne

Le sol est imperméabilisé sur une petite surface à l'emplacement des fondations des pylônes. Interventions provisoires pendant la phase de construction, notamment au niveau des emplacements des pylônes.

Ligne câblée

Sollicitations de surfaces importantes pendant de la phase de construction. Une surface d'environ 20 000 m2 est nécessaire afin de construire une ligne câblée d'un kilomètre (construction, sites d'installation, pistes de chantier). Les pertes électriques échauffent les câbles souterrains et le sol environnant en fonction de le charge du courant. Des installations de mesure permettent de mesurer la température du sol et de la surveiller. Le sol est imperméabilisé sur une petite surface à l'emplacement des chambres de jonction..

Bruit

Ligne aérienne

Les décharges électriques qui se produisent sur les conducteurs des lignes à haute tension dans certaines conditions météorologiques, comme le brouillard, la pluie ou la neige, provoquent des émissions de bruit (bruits corona).

Ligne câblée

Lors de la phase d'exploitation, les émissions de bruit proviennent des installations de compensation. Ces dernières émettent un bourdonnement similaire à celui des transformateurs.

Champs électromagnétiques

Ligne aérienne

Le champ magnétique dépend du courant déterminant et de la disposition des phases des conducteurs. Pour une ligne aérienne, la valeur limite de 1 microtesla est respectée à partir d'une distance de 60 à 80 mètres par rapport à l'axe de la ligne.

Ligne câblée

Le champ magnétique des câbles souterrains dépend du courant déterminant, de la profondeur de pose et de la disposition des câbles. La portée du champ magnétique est inférieure à celle d'une ligne aérienne, mais son intensité juste au-dessus du câble souterrain est nettement supérieure à l'intensité en dessous d'une ligne aérienne. La valeur limite de 1 microtesla est respectée à partir d'une distance de 6 à 8 mètres par rapport à l'axe de la ligne du câble souterrain. La valeur du champ magnétique peut atteindre plus de 100 µT juste au-dessus de la ligne. La valeur de 100 μT ne doit pas être dépassée à partir d'une distance au sol de 20 cm.

Pertes électriques

Le transport de l'électricité entraîne des pertes électriques. Une petite partie du courant est convertie en chaleur. Le tension entraîne également des pertes. Sur les lignes aériennes, il s'agit des «effets corona» car l'air agit comme isolateur. Sur les câbles enterrés, c'est le matériau d'isolation qui conduit une petite partie du courant et qui entraîne donc également des pertes. Comme les câbles enterrés ont une section beaucoup plus grande que les conducteurs, les pertes sur les câbles sont nettement moins importantes que sur les lignes aériennes. Néanmoins, la cohabitation du câble et du réseau sur un câble enterré produit une puissance réactive qui doit être compensée. Ces pertes sont nettement plus élevées pour les câbles enterrés que pour les lignes aériennes.


Actualités concernant le réseau

  • | News

    Projets de réseau: Swissgrid informe sur l’état d’avancement des travaux de cons-truction

    Lire l'article
  • | Communiqué de presse

    Premier coup de pioche dans la zone «Gäbihübel»

    Lire l'article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: Démarrage des travaux

    Les travaux préparatoires de la ligne aérienne THT Chamoson – Chippis débutés en janvier dernier touchent à leur fin sur les deux premiers tronçons de travail entre Chalais et Sierre et Sion et Vex.
    Lire l'article

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.