Grid project Niederwil – Obfelden

Swissgrid is planning a new 380-kilovolt line between Niederwil and Obfelden. The new line is essential for power transit and security of supply in the cantons of Aargau and Zurich.

Your contact for this grid project

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Planning area
Planning area
Dismantling
Dismantling
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

This project has been designed to expand and/or replace the 17 kilometre, 220 kilovolt line between the Niederwil (AG) and Obfelden (ZH) substations with a new 380 kilovolt line. The line is part of the Beznau to Mettlen expansion programme. It will permanently improve and secure the supply of energy to the consumer centres in the regions of Aargau West, Zurich North, the left bank of Lake Zurich and Zug.

Improvement compared to the current situation

  • The existing 220 kilovolt line will be dismantled following commissioning of the new line. This currently passes along the villages in Niederwil, Fischbach-Göslikon and Hermetschwil-Staffeln and inhibits the development of these settlements.
  • Possible planning corridors for underground, partial underground and overhead line options will be reviewed in the sectoral plan process. The affected local authorities and associations will be integrated into the planning process at an early stage.

Project

The project is part of the Swiss government's sectoral plan process, which is used to coordinate projects that have a significant spatial and environmental impact. On 31 August 2016, the Federal Council finalised the planning territory for the new 380-kilovolt line from Niederwil (AG) to Obfelden (ZH). Swissgrid developed possible planning corridors for underground, partial underground and overhead line versions within the planning territory. These will be reviewed by the monitoring group set up by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy, consisting of representatives from the federal government, cantonal authorities, environmental associations and Swissgrid. The monitoring group provides a recommendation for the planning corridor as well as the technical underground, partial underground or overhead line versions using the «Evaluation Scheme for Transmission Lines».

Before the corridor versions were evaluated by the monitoring group, Swissgrid consulted with the affected municipalities, environmental associations, regional planning associations and the Reusstal Compatible Power Line Association (VSLR) in the planning process. The Swiss Federal Office of Energy, the cantons of Aargau and Zurich as well as Swissgrid will hold a public information event before the public consultation on the planning corridor proposed by the monitoring group.

In the canton of Aargau, the cantonal structure plan will be adapted in parallel with the sectoral plan process. The cantonal structure plan for Zurich does not require any changes as a result of the planning territory being defined.

Milestones

Within the planning corridor defined by the Federal Council, Swissgrid then works out the concrete line routing for the detailed project and submits a request for planning approval. During the project's history spanning more than 30 years, two sections have already been realised (in connection with the road building projects «Bremgarten detour» and «A4 motorway»).

Schedule in the optimal case (without appeal to the courts):

15 July 2013
Start of the sectoral plan process
3 September 2013 Information event for municipalities and associations
24 February 2015 Information event for authorities, associations and the general public before the circulation of the planning territory
31 August 2016 Specification of the planning territory by the Federal Council
16. Februar 2017 Information event for local authorities and associations
2018 Public consultation / cooperation procedure on the planning corridor
2018 Information event for authorities, associations and the general public before the circulation of the planning corridor
2019 Specification of the planning corridor and the technology by the Federal Council
2021 Start of the planning approval procedure
2022 Planning approval decision
2024 Commissioning of the new line 380 kilovolt line
2025 Dismantling of the existing 220 kilovolt line

People & environment

Landscape

Overhead line

Overhead lines are visible objects in the landscape and can have a negative impact on the landscape depending on their location. The interventions must be assessed by the federal government and the cantons in accordance with the protection objectives and the consideration of compliance with the federal tasks (ensuring the supply of energy).

Underground line

Underground cables are generally assessed more favourably in relation to the landscape than overhead lines. While the cable route is not visible on open terrain, it remains clearly visible in forested areas as a necessary zone without deep-rooted and high trees must be maintained.

Forests

Overhead line

Interventions in groves by route clearing and/or the suppression of growth. Higher pylons make it possible to cross above the forest. However, the effects on the landscape are greater. The land under overhead lines can be used for agricultural purposes.

Underground line

Interventions in groves are greater than the interventions required for an overhead line due to the need for route clearance. The cable route is clearly visible in the forest because, for underground cables, the area above the line has to be kept free of high trees and deep-rooted plants. The soil above the underground cable can be used for agricultural purposes.

Soil

Overhead line

Soil sealing takes place on a small scale around the pylon foundations. Temporary interventions, especially around the pylon locations, during the construction phase.

Underground line

Extensive impact during the construction phase. Around 20,000 m2 of soil is impacted to construct an underground line 1 kilometre long (construction, installation locations, construction tracks). Depending on the electricity load, the electrical losses heat the underground cable and the surrounding soil. Measuring installations are used to measure and monitor the soil temperature. Soil sealing takes place on a small scale around the coupling shafts.

Noise

Overhead line

The noise emissions are caused by electrical discharge on the conductors (corona noises), which occur on high-voltage overhead lines under certain weather conditions, such as fog, rain or snow.

Underground line

In the operating phase, the noise emissions originate from compensation systems. Compensation systems emit a humming noise similar to transformers.

Electromagnetic fields

Overhead line

The magnetic field depends on the current and the phase arrangement of the conductor. In an overhead line, the limit of 1 microtesla is complied with from a distance of about 60 – 80 metres from the line axis.

Underground line

In underground cables, the magnetic field depends on the current, the installation depth and the cable arrangement. The spatial expansion of the magnetic field is lower than for overhead lines, but the strength directly over the underground cable is much higher than under an overhead line. The limit of 1 microtesla is complied with from a distance of about 6 – 8 metres from the line axis of the underground cable. The magnetic field can amount to more than 100 µT directly above the line. A value of 100 μT must not be exceeded from a soil distance of 20 cm.

Electrical losses

Electric power transmission leads to electrical losses. A small portion of the power is transformed into heat. The voltage causes losses as well. With overhead power lines, these are known as «corona losses,» because the air serves as an insulator. In cables, it is the insulating material that conducts a small portion of the power, likewise resulting in losses. Since cables have a significantly larger cross section than overhead lines, they experience much lower conductor losses than the latter. However, the interplay of cable and grid generates reactive power, which has to be compensated for. These losses are much higher with cables than with overhead lines.


Grid news

  • | Media release

    Ground-breaking ceremony at «Gäbihübel»

    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: Work has begun

    The preparatory work for the Chamoson – Chippis VHV overhead line that started last January is nearing completion for the first two sections between Chalais and Sierre and Sion and Vex.
    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: supplementary geological study

    In 2015, the cantonal geologist of the Valais requested an additional «natural hazards» study within the framework of the Chamoson – Chippis extra-high-voltage transmission line project.
    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Netzprojekt Niederwil – Obfelden

Zwischen Niederwil und Obfelden plant Swissgrid eine neue 380-kV-Leitung. Die neue Leitung ist essenziell für den Stromtransit und die Versorgungssicherheit der Kantone Aargau und Zürich.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für dieses Netzprojekt

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Telefon +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Planungsgebiet
Planungsgebiet
Rückbau
Rückbau
Bestehende Leitung
Bestehende Leitung
Unterwerk
Unterwerk

Übersicht

Das Projekt sieht den Ausbau bzw. den Ersatz der 17 Kilometer langen 220-kV-Leitung zwischen dem Unterwerk Niederwil (AG) und dem Unterwerk Obfelden (ZH) durch eine neue 380-kV-Leitung vor. Die Leitung ist Teil des Ausbauprogrammes von Beznau bis Mettlen. Sie verbessert und sichert die Energieversorgung der Verbraucherzentren in den Regionen Aargau West, Zürich Nord, linkes Zürichseeufer und Zug nachhaltig.

Verbesserung gegenüber der heutigen Situation

  • Nach Inbetriebnahme der neuen Leitung wird die bestehende 220-kV-Leitung demontiert. Diese führt heute im Raum Niederwil, Fischbach-Göslikon und Hermetschwil-Staffeln entlang der Dörfer und behindert diese in ihren Siedlungsentwicklungen.
  • Im Sachplanverfahren werden mögliche Planungskorridore für Kabel-, Teilverkabelungs- und Freileitungsvarianten geprüft. Die betroffenen lokalen Behörden und Verbände werden frühzeitig in den Planungsprozess einbezogen.

Projekt

Das Projekt befindet sich im Sachplanverfahren des Bundes, das der planerischen Abstimmung von Vorhaben mit erheblichen Auswirkungen auf Raum und Umwelt dient. Der Bundesrat hat am 31. August 2016 das Planungsgebiet für die neue 380-kV-Leitung von Niederwil nach Obfelden festgesetzt. Innerhalb des Planungsgebiets hat Swissgrid mögliche Planungskorridore für Kabel-, Teilverkabelungs- und Freileitungsvarianten ausgearbeitet. Diese werden von der vom Bundesamt für Energie (BFE) eingesetzten Begleitgruppe bestehend aus Vertretern aus Bund, kantonalen Behörden, Umweltverbänden und Swissgrid geprüft. Die Begleitgruppe gibt eine Empfehlung für den Planungskorridor sowie die technischen Varianten des Kabels, der Teilverkabelung oder Freileitung unter Anwendung des «Bewertungsschemas für Übertragungsleitungen» ab.

Bevor die Korridorvarianten durch die Begleitgruppe bewerten wurden, hat Swissgrid zusammen mit den Kantonen Aargau und Zürich die betroffenen Gemeinden, Umweltverbände, Regionalplanungsverbände und den Verein Verträgliche Starkstromleitung Reusstal (VSLR) in den Planungsprozess einbezogen. Vor der öffentlichen Anhörung des von der Begleitgruppe vorgeschlagenen Planungskorridors werden das Bundesamt für Energie, die Kantone Aargau und Zürich sowie Swissgrid eine öffentliche Informationsveranstaltung durchführen.

Im Kanton Aargau wird parallel zum Sachplanverfahren der kantonale Richtplan angepasst. Im Kanton Zürich besteht aufgrund des festzusetzenden Planungsgebiets kein Anpassungsbedarf des kantonalen Richtplans.

Meilensteine

Innerhalb des vom Bundesrat festgesetzten Planungskorridors wird Swissgrid anschliessend die konkrete Leitungsführung für das Detailprojekt ausarbeiten und das Plangenehmigungsgesuch einreichen. Während der über 30-jährigen Projektgeschichte wurden zwei Teilabschnitte bereits realisiert (im Zusammenhang mit den Strassenbauprojekten «Umfahrung Bremgarten» und «Autobahn A4»).

Zeitplan im optimalen Fall (ohne Weiterzug an Gerichte):

15. Juli 2013
Start des Sachplanverfahrens
3. September 2013 Informationsveranstaltung für Gemeinden und Verbände
24. Februar 2015 Informationsveranstaltung für Behörden, Verbände und Öffentlichkeit vor der Auflage des Planungsgebietes
31. August 2016 Festsetzung des Planungsgebietes durch den Bundesrat
16. Februar 2017 Informationsveranstaltung für lokale Behörden und Verbände
2018 Öffentliches Anhörungs- und Mitwirkungsverfahren zum Planungskorridor
2018 Informationsveranstaltung für Behörden, Verbände und Öffentlichkeit vor der Auflage des Planungskorridors
2019 Festsetzung des Planungskorridors und der Technologie durch den Bundesrat
2021 Start des Plangenehmigungsverfahrens
2022 Plangenehmigungsentscheid
2024 Inbetriebnahme der neuen 380-kV-Leitung
2025 Rückbau der bestehenden 220-kV-Leitung

Mensch & Umwelt

Landschaftsbild

Freileitung

Freileitungen sind sichtbare Objekte in der Landschaft und können je nach Standort das Landschaftsbild beeinträchtigen. Die Eingriffe sind gemäss den Schutzzielen von Bund und Kantonen und der Abwägung zur Erfüllung von Bundesaufgaben (Sicherstellung der Energieversorgung) zu beurteilen.

Kabelleitung

Erdkabel schneiden in Bezug auf das Landschaftsbild in der Regel besser ab als Freileitungen. Während im offenen Terrain das Kabeltrassee nicht sichtbar ist, bleibt sie in bewaldeten Flächen aufgrund einer einzuhaltenden Zone ohne tiefwurzelnden und hochstämmigen Baumwuchs deutlich erkennbar.

Wald

Freileitung

Eingriffe in Gehölze durch Trasseefreihaltung und/oder Niederhaltung. Höhere Masten machen eine Überspannung des Waldes möglich. Jedoch sind die Auswirkungen auf das Landschaftsbild dementsprechend grösser. Die landwirtschaftliche Nutzung ist unterhalb der Freileitung möglich.

Kabelleitung

Eingriffe in Gehölze sind durch Trasseefreihaltung grösser als bei einer Freileitung. Das Kabeltrassee ist im Wald deutlich erkennbar, weil bei Kabelleitungen der Bereich oberhalb der Leitung frei von hochstämmigen und tiefwurzelnden Pflanzen sein muss. Die landwirtschaftliche Nutzung über der Kabelleitung ist möglich.

Boden

Freileitung

Die Bodenversiegelung findet kleinräumig im Bereich der Mastfundamente statt. Während der Bauphase temporäre Eingriffe vor allem im Bereich der Maststandorte.

Kabelleitung

Grossflächige Beanspruchung während der Bauphase. Beanspruchung von rund 20 000 m2 Boden für den Bau einer Kabelleitung von 1 km Länge (Bau, Installationsplätze, Baupisten). Je nach Stromlast erwärmen die elektrischen Verluste das Erdkabel sowie das umgebende Erdreich. Mit Hilfe von Messinstallationen wird die Bodentemperatur gemessen und überwacht. Bodenversiegelung findet kleinräumig im Bereich der Muffenschächte statt.

Lärm

Freileitung

Die Lärmemissionen entstehen durch elektrische Entladungen an den Leiterseilen (Korona-Geräusche), welche an Hochspannungsleitungen unter gewissen Wetterbedingungen wie Nebel, Regen oder Schnee entstehen.

Kabelleitung

In der Betriebsphase gehen die Lärmemissionen von Kompensationsanlagen aus. Die Kompensationsanlagen haben ein ähnliches Brummgeräusch wie Transformatoren.

Elektromagnetische Strahlung

Freileitung

Das Magnetfeld hängt vom massgebenden Strom und der Phasenanordnung der Leiterseile ab. Bei der Freileitung wird der Grenzwert von 1 Mikrotesla ab ca. 60 – 80 m Distanz zur Leitungsachse eingehalten.

Kabelleitung

Bei Erdkabeln hängt das Magnetfeld vom massgebenden Strom, der Verlegetiefe und der Kabelanordnung ab. Die räumliche Ausdehnung des Magnetfeldes ist geringer als bei Freileitungen, die Stärke direkt über dem Erdkabel ist aber deutlich höher als unter einer Freileitung. Der Grenzwert von 1 Mikrotesla wird bereits ab ca. 6 – 8 m Distanz zur Leitungsachse des Erdkabels eingehalten. Direkt über der Leitung kann das Magnetfeld mehr als 100 µT betragen. Ab einem Bodenabstand von 20 cm dürfen 100 μT nicht überschritten sein.

Elektrische Verluste

Der Stromtransport führt zu elektrischen Verlusten. Ein kleiner Teil des Stroms wird in Wärme umgewandelt. Ebenso führt die Spannung zu Verlusten. Bei Freileitungen sind dies sogenannte «Korona-Verluste», da die Luft als Isolator dient. Bei den Kabeln ist es das Isolationsmaterial, welches einen kleinen Teil des Stroms leitet und so ebenfalls zu Verlusten führt. Da die Kabel deutlich grössere Querschnitte haben als die Leiterseile, sind die Leiterverluste beim Kabel deutlich geringer als bei der Freileitung. Jedoch wird durch das Zusammenspiel von Kabel und Netz bei einem Kabel Blindleistung erzeugt, welche kompensiert werden muss. Diese Verluste sind beim Kabel deutlich höher als bei der Freileitung.



Netznews

  • Zwischen La Punt und Zernez tragen die Masten heute nur auf einer Seite eine Leitung.
    | News

    50 neue Masten für die Leitung Pradella – La Punt

    Beitrag lesen
  • | News

    Swissgrid nimmt neuen Transformator in Laufenburg in Betrieb

    Beitrag lesen
  • | News

    Mörel – Ulrichen

    Freileitungsvariante Abschnitt Mörel – Ernen bewilligt, Bauarbeiten Abschnitt Ernen – Ulrichen im Plan.

    Beitrag lesen

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.