Jobs

Become part of our success story

As Switzerland's national grid company, Swissgrid offers a variety of exciting and impactful roles – and we're always looking to add new sources of energy to our team. Apply now and help us to shape Switzerland's electricity future.

Your contacts

Marlene Eve
Marlene Eve

Talent Acquisition

hr@swissgrid.ch

Laura Künzli
Laura Künzli

Talent Acquisition
hr@swissgrid.ch


Job vacancies

Are you studying engineering, natural sciences, electrical engineering or IT – or have you already completed your degree? Then Swissgrid is the ideal place to start your career.


Six people, six roles, one goal

You turn on the tap, and the water starts flowing. Something that we essentially take for granted in fact requires a fully functional infrastructure and coordination in the background. The same is true of the Swiss transmission grid. Without an extensive network of power lines, constant management of electricity flows and cooperation between all partners, permanently available electricity would not be the norm. Together, Swissgrid employees play a vital role in guaranteeing a secure supply of electricity across Switzerland and Europe.

Loïc Ehrler, Senior System Operator
1/6: «Sometimes the grid creates tricky situations. So it's a good thing that we maintain close ties with the distribution system operators through constant contact.» – Loïc Ehrler, Senior System Operator
Julia Song, Grid Project Engineer
2/6: «Every time we plan a line corridor, there are new aspects to address. These are evaluated in interdisciplinary groups and a joint recommendation is made where possible.» – Julia Song, Grid Project Engineer
Cécile Jost, Grid Maintenance Manager
3/6: «Pylon and line safety ensures that the transmission grid functions reliably. Swissgrid and our partners conduct site inspections non-stop to ensure that this is the case.» – Cécile Jost, Grid Maintenance Manager
Jérémy Plumejeau, Manager Stakeholder Affairs
4/6: «The equal treatment of all stakeholders is a prerequisite for jointly developed solutions that are legally, technically and commercially feasible.» – Jérémy Plumejeau, Manager Stakeholder Affairs
Serge Wisselmann, Head of Anicllary Service Procurement
5/6: «The electricity industry is closely linked. Everyone relies on everyone else: the producers on the grid operator and vice versa. This is as it should be, as it drives cooperation and ensures the security of supply.» – Serge Wisselmann, Head of Anicllary Service Procurement
Nicolas Gysi, Head of Real Estate & Administration Services
6/6: «A pleasant work environment is a prerequisite for people to work well together. We do everything we can to keep it that way.» – Nicolas Gysi, Head of Real Estate & Administration Services

Coordinated operations

Loïc Ehrler is one of the team members responsible for operating the transmission grid and maintaining a frequency of 50 Hertz. As an operator in the Prilly grid control room, he performs switching operations through which he can control the various grid elements. For example, line sections need to be shut down so that maintenance can be carried out, or when grid operations call for it. These switching operations demand close coordination between Swissgrid and the distribution system operators. The lower grid levels are connected to the extra-high-voltage grid via transformers. This means that they can be managed using switching operations.

Where theory meets practice

Julia Song has the future transmission grid in her sights. As a project engineer, she supervises line construction projects and compares the possible line corridor variants as part of the upstream sectoral plan process. One of the objectives throughout this process is to protect both water and the environment. She also conducts site visits to maintain an overview of the construction projects. Once all factors and interests have been aligned, a complete draft of the line corridor is prepared for the Swiss Federal Council.

In any weather

Another person who spends a lot of time onsite is Cécile Jost. She is responsible for pylon and line safety. As facility manager, she commissions service providers to carry out visual inspections and maintenance activities to ensure that pylons and lines can be operated safely. Cécile Jost is out and about three days a week in any weather, either on foot, by car or in a helicopter. Her role puts her in contact with people in the immediate vicinity of pylons and lines, such as residents, district foresters and construction service providers.

Building bridges for the benefit of all

Jérémy Plumejau, Manager Stakeholder Affairs, is in close contact with partners in the industry. Swissgrid works extensively with energy producers and distribution system operators. Valais in particular plays an important role in grid stability thanks to its highly flexible hydropower plants. As a «bridge builder» he draws on his vast network to coordinate complex issues and represent the interests of Swissgrid and stakeholders alike. One way he does this is by developing solutions that are acceptable to all parties to deadlocked construction projects.

Enabling virtual power plants

Serge Wisselmann, Head of Ancillary Service Procurement, is another colleague with an interest in market-driven solutions. His team's role includes procuring control reserves to maintain the 50 Hertz standard transmission grid frequency. Swissgrid is responsible for this power market and constantly strives to develop innovative solutions in this area. For example, small hydropower plants can merge to form a virtual power plant. This gives them the critical mass required to participate in the market.

Committed to a well-functioning work environment

As Head of Real Estate & Administration Services, Nicolas Gysi is not just responsible for administrative matters, such as the reception area, internal mail and building cleaning services. His remit also extends to technical maintenance, heating, ventilation and climate control as well as the supply of drinking water. This is particularly challenging in the grid control room, which needs to run as a self-sufficient unit in an emergency. Nicolas and his team are constantly working to provide a well-functioning and pleasant work environment for Swissgrid employees.


Students

We offer internships and diploma projects for students and graduates. Young people in the fields of engineering, natural sciences, electrical engineering and IT can make the perfect start to their professional career at Swissgrid.

What we offer

An internship at Swissgrid lasts between three and twelve months. Interns and graduates are involved in projects from day one. During this time they

  • assist our project teams with strategic planning,
  • help with complex analyses, prepare results and
  • create results presentations for the projects together with the project teams.

Our requirements

What do we expect from you?

  • You are an undergraduate or a graduate
  • You demonstrate a high level of commitment and personal responsibility and are accustomed to working independently in a goal-oriented manner
  • You work well and happily in a team
  • You are able to express yourself eloquently in German, both orally and in writing, and also have a good command of written and spoken English
  • You are familiar with Microsoft Office applications 

Your benefits

At the end of the internship we will discuss your experiences during your time at Swissgrid and give you detailed feedback. But we are also interested in your future: we will discuss with you the prospects for starting a career at Swissgrid.

Are you interested? Send us your dossier at least two months before you wish to start the internship. We require all your application documents, including CV, a photo and details of your availability. We would also be interested in the title and subject of your dissertation, if you already have it.


CAS «electrical energy systems – system operation»

The new federal energy strategy, the modernisation of operations, and the change in European energy markets present major challenges for the energy system. To enable Swissgrid to continue contributing to the established security of supply and quality, it is essential that the right decisions are made with regard to grid and market operations.

Advanced training in system operations
The new advanced training course on the subject of electrical energy systems focuses on system operations to help prepare specialists of distribution system operators, power plant operators, federal railways and Swissgrid for the oncoming challenges as well as possible.
This course will help participants develop the following skills:

  • Analysing electrical energy systems and planning operations
    Typical work scenarios: Optimising grid operations, determining a project’s technical and regulatory feasibility, proposing and planning grid optimisations and expansions.
  • Operating electrical grids
    Typical work scenarios: Analysing faults in the grid, proposing measures to secure grid stability, identifying critical operating situations early on, finding economic solutions for grid and market operations to minimise the impact of faults.

Swissgrid was able to work with Romande Energie, Omicron and the Research Centre for Energy Grids (FEN) to launch the certified course and influence the training content.

General goals
The goal of the afore-mentioned advanced training course is to offer interested engineers system operations training that can be applied to the entire industry. After completing the course, participants will be able to apply their skills in multiple areas and will have attained a standardised, high-quality training certificate covering various fields in electrical energy systems.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Jobs

Werden Sie Teil unserer Erfolgsgeschichte

Wir freuen uns auf neue Energie im Team. Als nationale Netzgesellschaft bietet Swissgrid ebenso spannende wie sinnvolle Aufgaben. Bewerben Sie sich und gestalten Sie mit uns die Stromzukunft der Schweiz.

Ihre Ansprechpartner

Marlene Eve
Marlene Eve

Talent Acquisition

hr@swissgrid.ch

Laura Künzli
Laura Künzli

Talent Acquisition
hr@swissgrid.ch


Offene Stellen

Sie studieren Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften, Elektrotechnik beziehungsweise Informatik – oder haben das Studium bereits abgeschlossen? Dann finden Sie bei Swissgrid den idealen Einstieg in Ihre berufliche Laufbahn.


Sechs Menschen, sechs Rollen, ein Ziel

Dreht man den Wasserhahn auf, kommt Wasser. Was sich wie eine Selbstverständlichkeit anhört, braucht im Hintergrund eine funktionierende Infrastruktur und Koordination. Dasselbe gilt für das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz. Ohne das weitverzweigte Leitungsnetz, konstantes Management der Stromflüsse und das Zusammenspiel aller Partner wäre permanent verfügbarer Strom keine Normalität. Damit die Schweiz und Europa sicher mit Strom versorgt sind, leisten die Mitarbeitenden von Swissgrid gemeinsam einen wichtigen Beitrag.

Loïc Ehrler, Senior System Operator
1/6: «Manchmal entstehen knifflige Situationen im Netz. Da ist es gut, dass wir dank ständigem Kontakt gut mit den Verteilnetzbetreibern vernetzt sind.» – Loïc Ehrler, Senior System Operator
Julia Song, Grid Project Engineer
2/6: «Jede Planung eines Leitungskorridors bringt neue Aspekte mit sich. In interdisziplinären Gruppen werden diese evaluiert und wird möglichst eine gemeinsame Empfehlung ausgesprochen.» – Julia Song, Grid Project Engineer
Cécile Jost, Grid Maintenance Manager
3/6: «Sicherheit für Masten und Leitungen gewährleistet die Funktionsfähigkeit des Übertragungsnetzes. Dafür sind unsere Partner und wir ständig unterwegs.» – Cécile Jost, Grid Maintenance Manager
Jérémy Plumejeau, Manager Stakeholder Affairs
4/6: «Die Gleichbehandlung aller Interessengruppen ist die Voraussetzung für gemeinsam erarbeitete Lösungen, die gesetzlich, technisch und wirtschaftlich plausibel sind.» – Jérémy Plumejeau, Manager Stakeholder Affairs
Serge Wisselmann, Head of Anicllary Service Procurement
5/6: «Die Strombranche ist eng vernetzt. Jeder ist auf den anderen angewiesen, die Produzenten auf den Netzbetreiber und umgekehrt. Das ist gut so, denn es zwingt zur Zusammenarbeit und gewährleistet die Versorgungssicherheit.» – Serge Wisselmann, Head of Ancillary Service Procurement
Nicolas Gysi, Head of Real Estate & Administration Services
6/6: «Ein angenehmes Arbeitsumfeld ist die Voraussetzung dafür, dass die Menschen gut zusammenarbeiten können. Dafür tun wir alles Nötige.» – Nicolas Gysi, Head of Real Estate & Administration Services

Koordinierte Schaltungen

Für den Betrieb des Übertragungsnetzes und die Einhaltung der Frequenz von 50 Hertz ist Loïc Ehrler mitverantwortlich. Als Operateur in der Netzleitstelle Prilly führt er Schalthandlungen aus, mit denen er Einfluss auf die Netzelemente nehmen kann. Zum Beispiel wird die Abschaltung eines Leitungsabschnitts notwendig bei Wartungen oder wenn der Netzbetrieb dies erfordert. Die Schaltungen bedingen eine enge Koordination zwischen Swissgrid und den Verteilnetzbetreibern. Ihre tieferliegenden Netzebenen sind über Transformatoren mit dem Höchstspannungsnetz verbunden. Daher können sich Schaltungen bei ihnen auswirken.

Theorie und Praxis vereinen

Für Julia Song ist das zukünftige Übertragungsnetz relevant. Die Projektingenieurin begleitet Leitungsbauprojekte und vergleicht im Rahmen der vorgelagerten Sachplanverfahren die möglichen Varianten für Leitungskorridore. Dabei gilt es unter anderem den Gewässer- und Umweltschutz sicherzustellen. Um sich für die Bauprojekte einen Überblick zu verschaffen, gehören auch Begehungen vor Ort dazu. Sind alle Faktoren und Interessen abgestimmt, wird zuhanden des Bundesrats ein Gesamtentwurf für einen Leitungskorridor erstellt.

Bei jeder Witterung

Ebenfalls viel vor Ort ist Cécile Jost. Sie ist für die Sicherheit von Masten und Leitungen verantwortlich. Damit diese sicher betrieben werden können, beauftragt sie als Anlagenverantwortliche Dienstleister mit Sichtkontrollen und Instandhaltungsmassnahmen. Drei Tage die Woche ist Cécile Jost bei jedem Wetter selbst zu Fuss, mit dem Auto oder dem Helikopter unterwegs. Dabei steht sie in Kontakt mit den Menschen, die sich als Anwohner, Revierförster oder Baudienstleister in der Nähe von Masten und Leitungen befinden.

Brückenbauer im Interesse aller

Zu den Partnern in der Branche hält Jérémy Plumejeau, Manager Stakeholder Affairs, engen Kontakt. Swissgrid arbeitet viel mit den Stromproduzenten und Verteilnetzbetreibern zusammen. Gerade das Wallis spielt mit seinen sehr flexiblen Wasserkraftanlagen für die Netzstabilität eine wichtige Rolle. Gut vernetzt, koordiniert er als «Brückenbauer» komplexe Themen und vertritt sowohl die Interessen von Swissgrid als auch die der Stakeholder. Zum Beispiel, indem er bei festgefahrenen Bauprojekten Lösungsvorschläge erarbeitet, die von allen Parteien mitgetragen werden können.

Virtuelle Kraftwerke ermöglichen

An marktgerechten Lösungen ist Serge Wisselmann, Head of Ancillary Service Procurement, ebenfalls interessiert. Sein Team verantwortet unter anderem die Beschaffung von Regelreserven für die Aufrechterhaltung der Standardfrequenz des Übertragungsnetzes von 50 Hertz. Swissgrid ist für diesen Strommarkt verantwortlich und entwickelt hierfür innovative Lösungen. Zum Beispiel können sich kleinere Wasserkraftwerke als ein virtuelles Kraftwerk zusammenschliessen. Dadurch erreichen sie die kritische Grösse, um am Markt teilzunehmen.

Einsatz für ein gut funktionierendes Arbeitsumfeld

Nicolas Gysi verantwortet als Head of Real Estate & Administration Services nicht nur administrative Belange wie den Empfang, die Post oder die Gebäudereinigung. Auch der technische Unterhalt, Heizung, Lüftung, Klima sowie die Trinkwasserversorgung liegen in seinem Aufgabenbereich. Herausfordernd ist dies vor allem in der Netzleitstelle, die im Notfall auch autark funktionieren muss. Er und sein Team sind im ständigen Einsatz für ein gut funktionierendes und angenehmes Arbeitsumfeld für die Swissgrid Mitarbeitenden.


Studierende

Junge Persönlichkeiten aus den Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften, Elektrotechnik oder Informatik finden bei uns den idealen Einstieg in die Berufswelt.

Unser Angebot

Ein Praktikum bei Swissgrid dauert bis zu zwölf Monate. Praktikanten und Diplomanden werden vom ersten Tag in die Projekte miteinbezogen. In dieser Zeit werden Sie:

  • Projektteams unterstützen und strategische Vorhaben bearbeiten
  • komplexe Analysen vornehmen
  • Projekte präsentieren

Unsere Anforderungen

  • Sie sind im Grundstudium oder haben es abgeschlossen
  • Sie sind engagiert und arbeiten selbständig und zielgerichtet
  • Sie sind ein Teamplayer
  • Sie drücken sich auf Deutsch gewandt aus und beherrschen auch Englisch in Wort und Schrift
  • Sie sind geübt in der Anwendung von Microsoft Office

Ihr Gewinn

Zum Ende des Praktikums sprechen wir über Ihre Erfahrungen und diskutieren mögliche Perspektiven für einen beruflichen Einstieg bei Swissgrid.

Senden Sie uns Ihr vollständiges Dossier. Uns interessiert dabei auch das Thema Ihrer Diplomarbeit.


Certificate of Advanced Studies HES-SO in «Elektrische Energiesysteme - Systembetrieb»

Die neue Energiestrategie des Bundes, die Modernisierung des Betriebs sowie der Wandel der Europäischen Energiemärkte stellen für das Energiesystem grosse Herausforderungen dar. Um die etablierte Versorgungssicherheit und -qualität weiterhin zu gewährleisten, müssen im Netz- und Marktbetrieb die richtigen Entscheidungen getroffen werden.

Weiterbildung im Umfeld des Systembetriebs

Mit der neuen Fachausbildung im Bereich elektrischer Energiesysteme mit Fokus auf Systembetrieb können sich Fachkräfte aller Verteilnetz- und Kraftwerksbetreiber in der Schweiz, der SBB und Swissgrid optimal auf die neuen Herausforderungen vorbereiten.
In diesem Lehrgang werden folgende Kompetenzen der Teilnehmer / innen aufgebaut:

  • Elektrische Energiesysteme analysieren und deren Betrieb planen
    Typische Berufssituationen: Optimierung des Netzbetriebs, Untersuchung der technischen und regulatorischen Machbarkeit eines Projekts, Vorschlagen und Planen von Verbesserungen und Erweiterungen des Netzes.
  • Elektrische Netze führen
    Typische Berufssituationen: Analyse von Störungen im Netz, Massnahmen zur Sicherung der Netzstabilität vorschlagen, kritische Betriebssituationen rechtzeitig erkennen, wirtschaftliche Lösungen für Netz- und Marktbetrieb finden, die Auswirkungen von Störungen minimieren.

Gemeinsam mit Romande Energie, Omicron und der Forschungsstelle Energienetze (FEN) konnte Swissgrid den Zertifikatskurs mitinitiieren und wesentlich mitgestalten.

Allgemeine Ziele

Das Ziel des vorliegenden Weiterbildungsprogramms besteht darin, den interessierten Ingenieuren und Ingenieurinnen eine für die ganze Branche relevante Ausbildung im Bereich Systembetrieb anzubieten. Nach dem Besuch des Programms sind die Kursteilnehmenden polyvalent einsetzbar und besitzen eine einheitliche, qualitativ hochstehende und zertifizierte Ausbildung für verschiedene Tätigkeiten im Elektrischen Energiesystem.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.