Innertkirchen – Mettlen grid project

The 61-kilometre line section between Innertkirchen and Mettlen is to be replaced and upgraded from 220 to 380 kilovolts. Swissgrid reviewed three planning territories for the line route: Glaubenberg (near the existing line), Pilatus (through the Sarneraa Valley) and Entlebuch (via Sörenberg and Entlebuch).

Your contact for this grid project

Joshu Jullier
Joshu Jullier

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch


The most important facts at a glance

  • Most of the line between Innertkirchen and Mettlen is over 70 years old and needs to be brought in line with the current state of the art.
  • At the same time, the line will be upgraded from today's 220 kilovolts to 380 kilovolts. This is necessary to ensure the transportation of the growing volume of electricity generated by the Oberhasli power plants and the hydroelectric power plants in Valais and Ticino to the Swiss Central Plateau.
  • In mid-2021, Swissgrid applied to the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) to establish a planning territory between Innertkirchen and Mettlen. Planning territories are geographic areas within which a planning corridor, including transmission technology (underground cable, overhead line or combined options), can then be chosen at a subsequent stage of the project.
  • Swissgrid examined three possible planning territories: the Glaubenberg planning territory near the existing line as well as the Pilatus (through the Sarneraa Valley) and Entlebuch (via Sörenberg and Entlebuch) planning territories.
  • Each of the submitted options has certain pros and cons. From Swissgrid’s perspective, the Glaubenberg planning territory is the best option.
  • Next, a monitoring group appointed by the SFOE will discuss and assess the planning territories.
  • The Federal Council is expected to decide on the planning territory by autumn 2023.

Project

Current situation

Most of the 61-kilometre extra-high-voltage line between Innertkirchen and Mettlen is over 70 years old and needs to be replaced. At the same time, the line voltage will be upgraded from the existing 220 kV to 380 kV along its entire length. This upgrade is an important project within Swissgrid’s implementation of «Strategic Grid 2025».

Why the project is necessary

Expanding the amount of electricity produced from hydropower is a central pillar of the Energy Strategy 2050. The increase in capacity between Innertkirchen and Mettlen is necessary to be able to transport the growing volume of electricity generated by the Oberhasli power plants and the Valais and Ticino hydroelectric power plants to the Swiss Central Plateau. Distributing energy flows along several north-south axes also increases grid stability. The Innertkirchen – Mettlen grid project therefore not only supports the expansion of renewable hydropower, it also ensures Switzerland’s security of supply.

The existing extra-high-voltage line between Innertkirchen and Mettlen leads over the Glaubenberg Pass.
The existing extra-high-voltage line between Innertkirchen and Mettlen leads over the Glaubenberg Pass.

Three possible planning territories

In mid-2021, Swissgrid applied to the Swiss Federal Office of Energy to establish a planning territory between Innertkirchen and Mettlen in the federal government’s sectoral plan for transmission lines. Planning territories are geographic areas within which a planning corridor, including transmission technology (underground cable, overhead line or combined options), can then be chosen at a subsequent stage of the project. To this end, Swissgrid examined three partly overlapping planning territories.

Overview of the three planning territories
Overview of the three planning territories

Glaubenberg planning territory

This planning territory largely follows the existing 220 kV line and leads from Innertkirchen via Giswil and Glaubenberg to Malters and then on towards Mettlen. The greatest challenge of this option is the “Glaubenberg” flysch moor landscape. No overhead lines or underground cables installed using open trenching techniques are permitted in this landscape of national importance. Swissgrid therefore proposes to tunnel under Glaubenberg.

Pilatus planning territory

The second option leads from Giswil through the Sarneraa Valley and then west or east of Pilatus to Littau and Mettlen. The main challenges presented by this option are the large settlement areas (Giswil, Sarnen, Alpnach, Hergiswil and Kriens), the scattered settlements, and the limitations imposed by the obstacles of the Kägiswil, Alpnach and Buochs airfields and the nationally protected Pilatus region.

Entlebuch planning territory

As a third alternative, a planning territory could lead west from Giswil through Entlebuch to Mettlen. This option crosses through the UNESCO Entlebuch biosphere reserve and is much longer than the two other evaluated planning territories.

Swissgrid recommends the Glaubenberg planning territory

Both of the submitted variants have specific advantages and disadvantages with respect to regional planning, the environment, technology and economic viability. From Swissgrid’s perspective, the Glaubenberg planning territory provides is the best of the three options. Firstly, it touches fewer settlement areas and involves fewer obstacles than the other options. Secondly, it is much shorter than the planning territory via Entlebuch and so has less of an impact on the ground, the natural environment and the landscape, requires less construction material and has lower energy losses and costs.

Two sections are considered separately

The section between Mettlen and Hellbühl (Littau) is considered separately. It was upgraded to 380 kV in 1990, but is currently operating at just 220 kV. The Innertkirchen – Mettlen and Bickigen – Mettlen lines approach one another to the west of Rothenburg, from where they are bundled in the section to Mettlen. With this in mind, it makes sense to consider both lines together in this section in order to provide permanent relief for the settlement area. Swissgrid will therefore review the line routing in this area as part of the planned Bickigen – Mettlen line renovation. The line lead-in for the Innertkirchen substation will be considered separately within the Innertkirchen – Mettlen sectoral plan process: two additional transmission lines run parallel to the Innertkirchen – Mettlen line along a roughly two-kilometre section. As all three lines pass through the settlement area, the only option in this section is to install an underground cable in a tunnel.


Next steps

In the next stage of the sectoral plan process, a monitoring group appointed by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) will come together with the federal authorities, the affected cantons and environmental associations to discuss and assess the planning territory options developed by Swissgrid. The monitoring group’s recommendation will then be taken forward to the public consultation stage. The Federal Council is expected to decide on the planning territory between Innertkirchen and Mettlen by autumn 2023. Swissgrid will then set out various planning corridors for each transmission technology (overhead line, underground cable or combined versions) within this planning territory and submit these to the SFOE monitoring group. The corridor will then be stipulated by the Federal Council. Ideally, the renewal of the Innertkirchen – Mettlen extra-high-voltage grid will be completed by 2035. After that, the existing line, parts of which run through the settlement area, will be removed.

Schedule in the best case without appeal to the courts
Schedule in the best case without appeal to the courts

Information events

In Malters and Giswil

Dialogue with citizens, municipalities, authorities and associations is very important to Swissgrid. Swissgrid will be holding information events on the project on Monday, 22 November 2021 at 6.30 p.m. in Malters and on Thursday, 25 November 2021 at 6.30 p.m. in Giswil. Admission is only possible with a COVID-19 certificate. There are a limited number of spaces.


Downloads


Additional information

  • Approval process

    Swissgrid is responsible for the project planning for and implementation of the transmission lines.

    Learn more

  • Emissions

    It is hard to imagine our daily life without the numerous electronic gadgets and tools. However, we are much less aware that electric and magnetic fields are formed everywhere electricity is present: including in the generation, transmission and distribution of electric energy.

    Learn more

  • Grid technologies

    The decision on whether to install a high-voltage line as an overhead line or as an underground cable is based on objective criteria. That's why Swissgrid checks the cable and overhead line options for every grid project.

    Learn more

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Projet d’extension du réseau Innertkirchen – Mettlen

Le tronçon de 61 kilomètres entre Innertkirchen (BE) et Mettlen (LU) sera rénové et passera de 220 à 380 kilovolts (kV). Swissgrid a examiné trois zones de planification pour le tracé de la ligne : Glaubenberg (à proximité de la ligne existante), le Pilate (par le Sarneraatal) et Entlebuch (par Sörenberg et Entlebuch).

Votre contact pour ce projet

Joshu Jullier
Joshu Jullier

Téléphone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch


L’essentiel en bref

  • La majeure partie de la ligne entre Innertkirchen et Ulrichen date de plus de 70 ans et doit être modernisée.
  • Elle va également être renforcée et passer de 220 à 380 kV. Cette augmentation de tension est nécessaire pour transporter l’électricité produite en quantité croissante par Kraftwerke Oberhasli (KWO) ainsi que par les centrales hydroélectriques du Valais et du Tessin vers le Plateau suisse.
  • Swissgrid a demandé à l’Office fédéral de l’énergie (OFEN) d’arrêter une zone de planification entre Innertkirchen et Ulrichen mi-2021. Les zones de planification sont des zones géographiques dans lesquelles un corridor de planification et la technologie de transport (ligne câblée souterraine, ligne aérienne ou combinaison de ces deux technologies) seront définis dans la suite du projet.
  • Swissgrid a examiné trois zones de planification possibles : la zone de planification de Glaubenberg à proximité de la ligne existante ainsi que les zones de planification du Pilate (dans le Sarneraatal) et d’Entlebuch (par Sörenberg dans la vallée de l’Entlebuch).
  • Chacune des variantes proposées présente ses avantages et ses inconvénients. Du point de vue de Swissgrid, la zone de planification de Glaubenberg est la meilleure variante.
  • Lors de l’étape suivante, un groupe d’accompagnement mis en place par l’OFEN discutera des zones de planification et les évaluera.
  • Le Conseil fédéral devrait arrêter la zone de planification à l’automne 2023.

Projet

Situation initiale

La majeure partie de la ligne à très haute tension de 61 kilomètres de long entre Innertkirchen (BE) et Mettlen (LU) date de plus de 70 ans et doit être rénovée. Dans le même temps, la tension de toute la ligne doit passer de 220 kV à 380 kV. Ce renforcement est un projet important du « Réseau stratégique 2025 » de Swissgrid.

Raisons pour lesquelles le projet est indispensable

Le développement de la production d’électricité issue de la force hydraulique est un pilier essentiel de la Stratégie énergétique 2050. L’augmentation de la capacité de la ligne entre Innertkirchen et Ulrichen est nécessaire afin de transporter l’électricité produite en quantité croissante par Kraftwerke Oberhasli (KWO) ainsi que par les centrales hydroélectriques du Valais et du Tessin vers le Plateau suisse. De plus, la répartition des flux d’énergie entre plusieurs axes nord-sud augmente la stabilité du réseau. Le projet d’extension du réseau Innertkirchen – Mettlen contribue donc non seulement au développement de l’énergie hydraulique renouvelable, mais également à la sécurité d’approvisionnement de la Suisse.

La ligne à très haute tension Innertkirchen – Mettlen passe actuellement par le col du Glaubenberg.
La ligne à très haute tension Innertkirchen – Mettlen passe actuellement par le col du Glaubenberg.

Les trois zones de planification possibles

Swissgrid a demandé à l’Office fédéral de l’énergie (OFEN) d’arrêter une zone de planification entre Innertkirchen et Ulrichen dans le plan sectoriel des lignes de transport d’électricité (PSE) mi-2021. Les zones de planification sont des zones géographiques dans lesquelles un corridor de planification et la technologie de transport (ligne câblée souterraine, ligne aérienne ou combinaison de ces deux technologies) seront définis dans la suite du projet. A cette fin, Swissgrid a examiné trois zones de planification qui se chevauchent partiellement.

Aperçu des trois zones de planification
Aperçu des trois zones de planification

Zone de planification de Glaubenberg

Cette zone de planification, qui se situe dans une large partie à proximité de la ligne 220 kV actuelle, va d’Innertkirchen à Malters en passant par Giswil et Glaubenberg, puis se poursuit vers Mettlen. Le flysch « Glaubenberg » représente la principale difficulté de cette variante. Dans ce paysage d’importance nationale, ni une ligne aérienne ni un câblage dans une fouille ouverte ne sont possibles. Swissgrid propose donc de creuser un tunnel pour traverser le Glaubenberg.

Zone de planification du Pilate

La deuxième variante part de Giswil et traverse le Sarneraatal, puis passe à l’ouest ou à l’est du Pilate vers Littau et Mettlen. Les grands territoires urbanisés (Giswil, Sarnen, Alpnach, Hergiswil et Kriens) et l’habitat dispersé, les aires de limitation d’obstacles des aérodromes de Kägiswil, Alpnach et Buochs ainsi que la région du Pilate, qui est protégée au niveau national, représentent les principales difficultés de cette option.

Zone de planification d’Entlebuch

Une zone de planification qui pourrait aller de Giswil jusqu’à Mettlen vers l’ouest, en passant par Sörenberg et la vallée de l’Entlebuch, constitue la troisième variante. Cette variante, qui traverse la réserve de biosphère de l’UNESCO de l’Entlebuch, est nettement plus longue que les deux autres zones de planification examinées.

Swissgrid recommande la zone de planification de Glaubenberg

Chacune des variantes proposées présente des avantages et des inconvénients en ce qui concerne l’aménagement du territoire, l’environnement, la technique et les aspects économiques. Du point de vue de Swissgrid, la zone de planification de Glaubenberg est la meilleure variante. En premier lieu, elle touche moins de territoires urbanisés et présente moins d’aires de limitation d’obstacles que les autres variantes. D’autre part, elle est nettement plus courte que la variante par l’Entlebuch. Les conséquences sur le sol, l’espace naturel et le paysage naturel sont donc moindres. La quantité de matériaux de construction nécessaires ainsi que les pertes d’énergie sont inférieures et les coûts sont plus faibles.

Deux tronçons sont examinés séparément

Le tronçon entre Mettlen et Hellbühl (Littau) est examiné séparément. Il a déjà été modernisé en 1990 en vue d’être exploité sous une tension de 380 kV, mais n’est exploité qu’à 220 kV à l’heure actuelle. Les lignes Innertkirchen – Mettlen et Bickigen – Mettlen se rapprochent de plus en plus à l’ouest de Rothenburg et sont regroupées entre Rothenburg et Mettlen. Il est donc logique de considérer ces deux lignes conjointement sur ce tronçon afin de pouvoir libérer durablement de l’espace sur le territoire urbanisé. Swissgrid va donc examiner le tracé de la ligne dans cette zone dans le cadre de la rénovation prévue de la ligne Bickigen – Mettlen. L’entrée de la ligne dans la sous-station d’Innertkirchen (BE) est considérée séparément dans le cadre de la procédure de plan sectoriel Innertkirchen – Mettlen : sur un tronçon d’un peu moins de deux kilomètres, deux autres lignes de transport sont parallèles à la ligne Innertkirchen – Mettlen. Seule une ligne câblée souterraine dans une galerie souterraine peut être envisagée sur ce tronçon, car les trois lignes traversent le territoire urbanisé.


Étapes suivantes

Lors de la prochaine étape de la procédure de plan sectoriel, un groupe d’accompagnement mis en place par l’OFEN discutera des variantes de la zone de planification qui ont été définies par Swissgrid en impliquant les offices fédéraux, les cantons concernés ainsi que les associations de protection de l’environnement et les évaluera. La recommandation du groupe d’accompagnement fera ensuite l’objet d’une procédure de consultation publique. Le Conseil fédéral devrait arrêter la zone de planification entre Innertkirchen et Mettlen à l’automne 2023. Swissgrid définira ensuite différents corridors de planification à l’intérieur de cette zone de planification ainsi que la technologie de transport (ligne aérienne, ligne câblée souterraine ou combinaison de ces deux technologies) et les remettra au groupe d’accompagnement de l’OFEN. Le Conseil fédéral arrêtera également le corridor. Dans le meilleur des cas, la rénovation de la ligne à très haute tension Innertkirchen – Mettlen pourra être terminée d’ici à 2035. La ligne actuelle, qui traverse une partie du territoire urbanisé, sera ensuite démantelée.

Optimaler Zeitplan
Planning dans le cas optimal (sans renvoi devant les tribunaux)

Réunions d'information

À Malters et Giswil

Swissgrid attache une grande importance au dialogue avec la population, les communes, les autorités et les associations. Swissgrid organise des réunions d’information sur le projet à Malters (LU) lundi 22 novembre 2021 à 18h30 et à Giswil (OW) jeudi 25 novembre 2021 à 18h30. Entrée uniquement possible avec un certificat Covid. Le nombre de places est limité.


Téléchargements


Plus d'informations

  • Procédures d’autorisation

    Swissgrid est responsable de l'étude de projet et de la réalisation des lignes de transport.

    Mehr erfahren

  • Emissions

    Il nous serait bien difficile d’imaginer notre quotidien sans les nombreux compagnons électroniques qui nous entourent. Nous sommes en revanche beaucoup moins conscients du fait que des champs électriques et magnétiques apparaissent partout où l’électricité est présente et ce même lors de la production, du transport, de la distribution et de la consommation d’énergie électrique.

    Mehr erfahren

  • Technologies de réseau

    Avant que le courant ne parvienne finalement dans la prise de courant à la maison, la tension doit être réduite près de 1000 fois (de 380 000 volts et 220 000 volts à 400 et 220 volts). Cela se produit dans le cadre de plusieurs étapes, et plus précisément à différents niveaux du réseau.

    Mehr erfahren

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.