Grid project Chippis – Mörel

A new 380-kilovolt line is being constructed between Chippis and Mörel. The construction of this line is necessary to ensure that all of the energy generated from hydropower in the Valais can reach the centres in Central Switzerland and Ticino.

Your contact for this grid project

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

220 kV line
220 kV line
Planning area
Planning area
Dismantling
Dismantling
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

The increase in voltage of the extra-high-voltage line between Chippis and Mörel from 220 to 380 kilovolts is part of the «Strategic Grid 2025» of Swissgrid. It is used to transport energy generated by hydropower in Valais to the urban areas of the Central Switzerland. This is an important element of the Energy Strategy 2050 and will increase the security of supply in Valais and all of Switzerland in the long term.

The project calls for the construction of a new approx. 44-km 380-kV line between the substations Chippis and Mörel. The Federal Council identified the corridor for the overhead line in the sectoral plan in 2012. The existing 220-kV line between Chippis and Mörel will be dismantled once the new overhead line has been commissioned. This step will provide relief to residential areas, especially around Leuk-Susten, Niedergampel, Gampel, Raron, Steg, Baltschieder and Brig.

Swissgrid conducted a study for laying the line underground on the Agarn – Mörel section to prepare for the grid project Chippis – Mörel. The objective is to take the local circumstances into consideration in more detail and to better assess the technical solution and costs of underground lines.

Improvement compared to the current situation

  • The new 380-kV line runs away from the settlement areas along the shady south-facing slope. The existing 220-kV line leads right through a number of villages in the area of Leuk-Susten, Niedergampel, Gampel, Steg, Raron Baltschieder and Brig, restricting them in their development.
  • The cable study conducted in Pfynwald forest concluded that an underground line does not constitute an added value for this natural landscape. Swissgrid is implementing various replacement and environmental protection measures to compensate for the intrusion into nature. The two extra-high-voltage lines Chippis – Mörel and Chippis – Stalden run parallel between the substation Chippis and Agarn. In addition, Swissgrid is cabling various lines on a lower-voltage level (for example the 65-kV line Leuk – Lötschen) or bundling them on the new route (for example the 65-kV line Chippis – Turtmann). Overall, the burden on this unique pine forest will be reduced in comparison to the current situation.
  • The removal of the 65-kV overhead lines will especially provide relief to the industrial area of the municipality of Salgesch as well as the residential areas in Leuk-Susten and Agarn.
  • The burden on the population will be reduced overall by the greater distance of the line to the residential areas. Electromagnetic fields will either meet or be well below the limits defined in new and strict regulations.
Opinions and impressions of the project

Project

The project calls for the construction of a new 44-km 380-kV extra-high-voltage line between the substations Chippis and Mörel. The new line route will pass along the shady southern-facing slope. An additional 220-kV circuit (Stalden – Mörel) is planned to run from Visp to Mörel. Furthermore, the 220-kV line Mörel – Pallanzeno (Simplon line) will be laid on the route as of Ried-Brig to Mörel. The existing 220-kV line between Chippis and Mörel will be dismantled once the new overhead line has been commissioned. This step will provide relief to residential areas, especially around Leuk-Susten, Niedergampel, Gampel, Raron, Steg, Baltschieder and Brig.

In Visp, the new line will pass along the west-facing slope, in the south and along the east-facing slope around the village. Due to the steep hillside situation, the new line passes far above the village. The existing 220/65-kV lines Visp – Stalden already pass along the east-facing slope. These lines will be bundled with the 380-kV project. The current valley traverse in Eyholz via Lonza-Werke will be dismantled to the splitter mast in Lalden. In the area Unterstalden/Staldbach in Visperterminen, Swissgrid will lay the existing 220-kV line Stalden – Mörel as well as the 65-kV lines. This step will provide relief to the residential area «Untere Stalden».

For the natural protection reserve Pfynwald, the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) has decided to lay the two extra-high-voltage lines Chippis – Mörel and Chippis – Stalden parallel between the substation Chippis and Agarn. This is for reasons of operational management, maintenance and repair in the event of failure. Swissgrid is cabling various lines on a lower voltage level (for example 65-kV line Leuk – Lötschen) or is bundling them on the new route (for example 65-kV line Leuk – Turtmann). Overall, the burden on this unique pine forest will be reduced compared to the current situation.

The project also includes approval for the 220-kV line Chippis – Stalden (Törbel line). This line currently only carries one power circuit and will now be supplemented with another. On the section from Chippis to the traverse of Emsbach in Agarn, the line will be constructed parallel to the new line Chippis – Mörel. The line route between Agarn and Stalden will remain unchanged.

The total cost for the new extra-high-voltage line Chippis – Mörel will amount to approximately 110 million Swiss francs.

General site plan Chippis – Mörel
General site plan Chippis – Mörel
Animation of the Chippis – Mörel line
Animation of the Chippis – Mörel line

Timetable

The project Chippis – Mörel was included in the sectoral plan for transmission lines (SÜL) in 2001. The Federal Council specified an overhead line corridor in 2012. Swissgrid was commissioned to construct the overhead line. On 29 March 2019, Swissgrid submitted the planning approval procedure for the 380-kV line project Chippis – Mörel and for the 220-kV line project Chippis – Stalden to the Federal Inspectorate for Heavy Current Installations (ESTI).

Ideally, the commissioning for the new 380-kV line Chippis – Mörel is planned for 2025. In case of objections and legal proceedings, commissioning may be delayed by several years.

Agarn – Mörel cable study

For each grid project, Swissgrid checks cable as well as overhead line options. Swissgrid conducted a study for laying the line underground (in German) in cooperation with a Valais-based engineering office on the Agarn – Mörel section to prepare for the grid project Chippis – Mörel. Regional development, the environment and economic efficiency are factors which are taken into consideration in addition to technical aspects.

Swissgrid proceeded as follows:

  1. Swissgrid reviewed whether any significant changes took place in the decision-making foundations. This could include newly protected areas or infrastructure previously not taken into consideration which would enable a better cable line, for example an abandoned tunnel or old railway tracks. The cable study found that the situation in terms of the environment, regional planning, technology and costs has not changed much over the last few years.
  2. Swissgrid analysed whether today’s state of technology for construction and cabling systems allows for a next generation of underground cable. Developments that would make the construction and operation of cable lines easier have not taken place in construction technology or in cable technology. Specifically, Swissgrid examined the possibility of underground lines at various sections near the overhead line corridor. Underground cables could be laid for a few individual sections. It is important to note that cable cannot be laid underground along the overhead line corridor.
  3. Swissgrid reviewed the cost of possible underground line options in comparison with the cost of an overhead line option. The cost for the construction of a cable line depend on the terrain and substrate as well as the resulting structural shape. Energy prices have significantly dropped compared to back then which reduces the life cycle cost of a cable line. The cost for the underground line option were estimated to amount to about 13 million Swiss francs per kilometre in the cable study Agarn – Mörel. This is about 5 times as much as the overhead line for the same section.

The cable study reviewed nine subsections in the vicinity of the overhead line corridor. Thus, underground cables are only possible in some sections. To this end, transition structures would be required to connect the underground cable with the overhead line. They would be approximately the same size as an ice hockey rink and about 25 metres high. Underground line construction would be very complex and cost-intensive as some of the cable lines would pass through very steep terrain which is difficult to access. Furthermore, the lines would have to be laid under several bodies of water. As a result, these difficult terrain conditions would require the construction of four mining tunnels with a total length of approximately 8 kilometres.

Underground cabling has already been examined as part of the sectoral plan for transmission lines for the Pfynwald forest area (protected landscape; area 1716 Pfynwald forest – Illgraben). After applying the protection criteria, the responsible authorities decided that the future 380-kV line Chippis – Mörel would be planned as an overhead line. The route of the line along the southern foot of the slope and the underground cabling/bundling of lower voltage lines according to the «Pfynwald forest line concept» will result in an improvement overall.

Section 1: Leuk, from Pfynwald to Turtmann, Milachru (4,75 km)
1/9: Section 1: Leuk, from Pfynwald to Turtmann, Milachru (4,75 km)
Section 2: Turtmann, from Milachru to Turtmann, Tännu (3,82 km)
2/9: Section 2: Turtmann, from Milachru to Turtmann, Tännu (3,82 km)
Section 3: Turtmann, from Tännu to Niedergesteln, Unner Turtig (5,84 km)
3/9: Section 3: Turtmann, from Tännu to Niedergesteln, Unner Turtig (5,84 km)
Section 4: Niedergesteln, from Unner Turtig to Visp West (4,92 km)
4/9: Section 4: Niedergesteln, from Unner Turtig to Visp West (4,92 km)
Section 5: Visp, from Blättji to Visp, Staldbach  (2,95 km)
5/9: Section 5: Visp, from Blättji to Visp, Staldbach (2,95 km)
Section 6: Visp, from Staldbach to Eyholz, Grosshüs (4,09 km)
6/9: Section 6: Visp, from Staldbach to Eyholz, Grosshüs (4,09 km)
Section 7: Eyholz, from Grosshüs to Brig-Glis, Ännerholz/Oberli (5,06 km)
7/9: Section 7: Eyholz, from Grosshüs to Brig-Glis, Ännerholz/Oberli (5,06 km)
Section 8: Brig-Glis, from Ännerholz/Oberli to Termen, Fäldgrabe (4,05 km)
8/9: Section 8: Brig-Glis, from Ännerholz/Oberli to Termen, Fäldgrabe (4,05 km)
Section 9: Termen, from Fäldgrabe to Mörel-Filet, substation Mörel (3,60 km)
9/9: Section 9: Termen, from Fäldgrabe to Mörel-Filet, substation Mörel (3,60 km)

People & environment

The construction of large-scale infrastructure such as an extra-high-voltage line will impact the landscape and environment. For Swissgrid, it is a matter of course to compensate for such an impact on the landscape. To this end, Swissgrid implements various environmental protection measures. In addition, the existing line will be dismantled which currently passes right through villages in the area of Leuk-Susten, Niedergampel, Gampel, Raron, Steg and Baltschieder and Brig.

Landscape

The new extra-high-voltage line will be built on the shaded southern slope further away from the residential areas. There, it will pass through the western part at altitudes ranging from 600 metres to 1400 metres above sea level and up to 1200 metres above sea level in the eastern part, avoiding higher, more exposed conditions. The line will pass through a number of valleys and trenches, for example Illgraben valley, Nanztal valley and Vispertal valley as well as Saltinaschlucht gorge. Additional visual impairments will occur in the area of Turtmann and in the valley traverse Visp/Stalden.

The dismantling of existing lines will provide significant relief for residential areas and leisure facilities. In the area around Leuk-Susten, Niedergampel, Gampel, Raron, Steg and Baltschieder and Brig, this line leads right through villages, restricting their possibilities in settlement developments. In Visp, the residential area on the west-facing slope, in the south and on the east-facing slope will be bypassed. Due to the steep inclines, the new line will pass above the village and will be more visible from the surrounding hiking paths than from the centre of the village. To the south of Visp, the new line will pass through Vispertal valley close to the new motorway bridge and is especially visible from Visperterminen.

Due to the bundling of the new line with the existing 220-kV line Stalden – Visp – Mörel, the burden on area around Visp to Bitsch will be reduced. In Visp, the existing line Stalden – Lalden will be dismantled from the splitter mast in Lalden, via Lonza-Werke to the intersection with the new 380-kV line.

Environmental protection

Shortly after the substation Chippis, the line passes through the protected Pfynwald nature park. For this reason, the line route will pass along the foot of the hill with as little intrusion as possible. In the Pfynwald forest, the two lines Chippis – Mörel and Chippis – Stalden will be bundled on the same route. Lines with lower voltage levels will be laid or bundled as well. Overall, the burden on this unique pine forest will be significantly reduced compared to the current situation.

The alternative measures for the replacement of the forest clearance will take place in the Pfyn-Ginges nature park. The canton is still in the process of defining the alternative measures required for the clearance easements.

Electromagnetic fields

The burden on the population will be reduced by the greater distance of the line to the residential area. Electromagnetic radiation will either meet or be well below the limit of 1 μT. The noise pollution will be significantly reduced through the use of new technology and bundles of two..

Natural hazards

The construction approval is subject to strict conditions. One of these conditions stipulates that a review will be performed together with canton geologists and engineering offices to determine whether protective measures are required for the masts. Possible natural hazards are landslides, mudslides, avalanches or rock falls. To counter these natural hazards in hazardous areas, the masts will be secured with reinforced mast foundations and anchors, nets or earth banks, for example. In coordination with the authorities, Swissgrid will verify whether protective measures for avalanches and snow slides are necessary.


Downloads

Grid news

  • | Medienmitteilung

    Objections to the Bassecourt – Mühleberg grid project

    The voltage increase of the Bassecourt – Mühleberg extra-high-voltage line will be delayed due to objections submitted to the Federal Administrative Court.
    Read article
  • Between La Punt and Zernez, the pylons currently carry a line on only one side.
    | News

    50 new pylons for the Pradella – La Punt line

    Read article
  • | News

    Swissgrid puts new transformer in Laufenburg into operation

    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Netzprojekt Chippis – Mörel

Zwischen Chippis und Mörel entsteht eine neue 380-kV-Leitung. Der Bau dieser Leitung ist nötig, damit die aus der Walliser Wasserkraft stammende Energie vollumfänglich in die Zentren des Mittellandes und des Tessins gelangt.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für dieses Netzprojekt

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Telefon +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

220-kV-Leitung
220-kV-Leitung
Planungsgebiet
Planungsgebiet
Rückbau
Rückbau
Bestehende Leitung
Bestehende Leitung
Unterwerk
Unterwerk

Übersicht

Die Spannungserhöhung der Höchstspannungsleitung zwischen Chippis und Mörel von 220 auf 380 Kilovolt ist Teil des «Strategischen Netzes 2025» von Swissgrid. Sie dient dazu, die Energie aus der Walliser Wasserkraft in die Ballungszentren im Schweizer Mittelland abzutransportieren. Dies ist ein wichtiges Element der Energiestrategie 2050 und erhöht langfristig die Versorgungssicherheit im Wallis und in der ganzen Schweiz.

Das Projekt sieht den Bau einer neuen rund 44 Kilometer langen 380-kV-Leitung zwischen den Unterwerken Chippis und Mörel vor. Der Bundesrat hat den Korridor für die Freileitung im Jahr 2012 im Sachplan festgesetzt. Die bestehende 220-kV-Leitung zwischen Chippis und Mörel wird nach Inbetriebnahme der neuen Freileitung demontiert. Dies entlastet das Siedlungsgebiet insbesondere im Raum Leuk-Susten, Niedergampel, Gampel, Raron, Steg, Baltschieder und Brig.

Für das Netzprojekt Chippis – Mörel hat Swissgrid auf dem Abschnitt Agarn – Mörel eine Studie für eine Erdverkabelung der Leitung erstellt. Das Ziel ist es, die lokalen Gegebenheiten detaillierter zu berücksichtigen und die technische Lösung und Kosten einer Erdverkabelung besser abzuschätzen.

Verbesserungen gegenüber der heutigen Situation

  • Die neue 380-kV-Leitung verläuft abseits von den Siedlungsgebieten am schattigen Südhang. Die bestehende 220-kV-Leitung führt insbesondere im Raum Leuk-Susten, Niedergampel, Gampel, Steg, Raron, Baltschieder und Brig mitten durch die Dörfer und schränkt diese in der Siedlungsentwicklung ein.
  • Im Pfynwald kam die Kabelstudie zum Schluss, dass eine Erdverlegung der Leitung keinen Mehrwert für diese Naturlandschaft bringt. Swissgrid realisiert diverse Ersatz- und Naturschutzmassnahmen, um den Eingriff in die Natur zu kompensieren. Die beiden Höchstspannungsleitungen Chippis – Mörel und Chippis – Stalden werden zwischen dem Unterwerk Chippis und Agarn parallel geführt. Zudem verkabelt Swissgrid verschiedene Leitungen auf tieferer Spannungsebene (z.B. 65-kV-Leitung Leuk-Lötschen) oder bündelt sie auf dem neuen Trassee (z.B. 65-kV-Leitung Chippis-Turtmann). Insgesamt wird dieser einzigartige Föhrenwald gegenüber dem heutigen Zustand entlastet.
  • Der Rückbau der 65-kV-Freileitungen entlastet insbesondere die Industriezone der Gemeinde Salgesch sowie die Wohnzonen in Leuk-Susten sowie Agarn.
  • Durch die grössere Entfernung der Leitung zu den Siedlungen wird die Belastung für die Bevölkerung insgesamt reduziert. Alle neuen und strengen Vorschriften bezüglich Grenzwerte für elektromagnetische Felder werden eingehalten oder sogar deutlich unterschritten.
Meinungen und Eindrücke vom Projekt

Projekt

Das Projekt sieht den Bau einer neuen rund 44 Kilometer langen 380-kV-Höchstspannungsleitung zwischen den Unterwerken Chippis und Mörel vor. Das neue Leitungstrassee verläuft am schattigen Südhang. Ab Visp bis Mörel wird ein zusätzlicher 220-kV-Strang (Stalden – Mörel) mitgeführt. Ab Ried-Brig bis Mörel wird zudem die 220-kV-Leitung Mörel – Pallanzeno (Simplonleitung) auf das neue Trassee verlegt. Die bestehende 220-kV-Leitung zwischen Chippis und Mörel wird nach Inbetriebnahme der neuen Freileitung demontiert. Dies entlastet das Siedlungsgebiet insbesondere im Raum Leuk-Susten, Niedergampel, Gampel, Raron, Steg, Baltschieder und Brig.

In Visp führt die neue Leitung am Westhang, im Süden und am Osthang um das Dorf herum. Aufgrund der steilen Hanglage führt die neue Leitung weit oberhalb des Dorfes durch. Am Osthang führen heute bereits die bestehenden 220/65-kV-Leitungen Visp – Stalden durch. Diese Leitungen werden mit dem 380-kV-Projekt gebündelt. Die bestehende Talquerung in Eyholz via Lonza-Werke bis zum Abzweigermast in Lalden wird demontiert. Im Gebiet Unterstalden / Staldbach in Visperterminen verlegt Swissgrid die beste-hende 220-kV-Leitung Stalden – Mörel sowie die 65-kV-Leitungen. Dies entlastet das Siedlungsgebiet «Untere Stalden».

Im Naturschutzgebiet Pfynwald hat das Bundesamt für Energie (BFE) entschieden, die beiden Höchstspannungsleitungen Chippis – Mörel und Chippis – Stalden zwischen dem Unterwerk Chippis und Agarn parallel zu führen. Die Gründe liegen in der Betriebsführung sowie in der Wartung und der Instandstellung im Störungsfall. Swissgrid verkabelt verschiedene Leitungen auf tieferer Spannungsebene (z.B. 65-kV-Leitung Leuk-Lötschen) oder bündelt sie auf dem neuen Trassee (z.B. 65-kV-Leitung Leuk-Turtmann). Dies entlastet diesen einzigartigen Föhrenwald gegenüber dem heutigen Zustand.

Das Projekt umfasst auch die Genehmigung für die 220-kV-Leitung Chippis – Stalden (Törbelleitung). Auf dieser Leitung ist heute erst ein Stromkreis aufgelegt. Nun wird ein zweiter Stromkreis ergänzt. Auf dem Abschnitt von Chippis bis zur Querung des Emsbachs in Agarn wird die Leitung neu parallel zur neuen Leitung Chippis – Mörel gebaut. Zwischen Agarn und Stalden bleibt die Linienführung unverändert.

Die Gesamtkosten für die neue Höchstspannungsleitung Chippis – Mörel betragen rund 110 Mio. Franken.

Situationsplan Chippis – Mörel
Situationsplan Chippis – Mörel
Animation des Leitungsverlaufs Chippis – Mörel
Animation des Leitungsverlaufs Chippis – Mörel

Zeitplan

Im 2001 wurde das Projekt Chippis – Mörel in den Sachplan Übertragungsleitungen (SÜL) aufgenommen. Der Bundesrat hat 2012 einen Freileitungskorridor festgesetzt. Swissgrid hat damit den Auftrag erhalten, eine Freileitung zu planen. Swissgrid hat am 29. März 2019 das Plangenehmigungsdossier für das 380-kV-Freileitungsprojekt Chippis – Mörel und für das 220-kV-Freileitungsprojekt Chippis – Stalden beim Eidgenössischen Starkstrominspektorat (ESTI) eingereicht.

Im optimalen Fall ist eine Inbetriebnahme der neuen 380-kV-Leitung Chippis – Mörel bis 2025 geplant. Im Falle von Einsprachen und Gerichtsverfahren verzögert sich die Inbetriebnahme um mehrere Jahre.

Meilensteine

Meilensteine

 
Kabelstudie Agarn – Mörel

Swissgrid prüft bei jedem Netzprojekt sowohl Kabel- als auch Freileitungsvarianten. Für das Netzprojekt Chippis – Mörel hat Swissgrid auf dem Abschnitt Agarn – Mörel eine Studie für eine Erdverlegung der Leitung in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Walliser Ingenieurbüro erstellt. Dabei werden neben technischen Aspekten, die Faktoren Raumentwicklung, Umwelt und Wirtschaftlichkeit berücksichtigt.

Swissgrid ist folgendermassen vorgegangen:

  1. Swissgrid hat überprüft, ob es wesentliche Änderungen bei den Entscheidungsgrundlagen gegeben hat. Dies können neue Schutzgebiete oder noch nicht berücksichtigte Infrastruktur sein, welche eine bessere Kabelleitung ermöglichen, wie z.B. ein stillgelegter Tunnel oder ein altes Eisenbahntrassee. Die Kabelstudie kommt zum Ergebnis, dass in den letzten Jahren die Verhältnisse in den Bereichen Umwelt, Raumplanung, Technik und Kosten nicht geändert haben.
  2. Swissgrid hat untersucht, ob mit dem heutigen Stand der Technik im Bereich Bau und Kabelanlagen technisch weiter entwickelte Erdkabelvarianten möglich sind. Weder bei der Bautechnik noch bei der Kabeltechnologie gibt es Entwicklungen, welche den Bau und Betrieb einer Kabelleitung vereinfachen. Konkret hat Swissgrid verschiedene Abschnitte für eine Erdverlegung in der Nähe des Freileitungskorridors untersucht. Diese könnten einzeln verkabelt werden. Wichtig ist zu betonen, dass der Freileitungskorridor für eine Erdverkabelung nicht geeignet ist.
  3. Swissgrid hat die Kosten von möglichen Erdkabelvarianten untersucht. Damit können die Kosten der Erdkabel- und Freileitungsvariante verglichen werden. Die Kosten für den Bau einer Kabelleitung hängen vom Gelände sowie Untergrund und der daraus folgenden Bauform ab. Verglichen zu damals sind heute die Strompreise stark gesunken. Dies verringert die Lebenszykluskosten einer Kabelleitung. Die Kosten für die Erdkabelvariante werden in der Kabelstudie Agarn – Mörel auf rund 13 Mio. CHF pro Kilometer geschätzt. Dies ist rund 5 Mal mehr als für die Freileitung auf dem gleichen Abschnitt.

Die Kabelstudie untersucht neun Teilabschnitte in der Nähe des Freileitungskorridors. Damit besteht die Möglichkeit, nur in einzelnen Abschnitten zu verkabeln. Dafür werden Übergangsbauwerke benötigt, die das Erdkabel mit der Freileitung verbinden. Sie sind in der Fläche ungefähr so gross wie ein Eishockeyfeld und 25 Meter hoch. Der Bau der Erdverlegung wäre sehr aufwändig und teuer, da die Kabeltrassees teilweise in steilem und schwer zugänglichem Gebiet verlaufen. Zudem sind Unterquerungen von mehreren Gewässern nötig. Die schwierigen Terrainverhältnisse erfordern den Bau von insgesamt vier bergmännischen Tunnels mit einer Gesamtlänge rund 8 km.

Für den Raum Pfynwald (BLN – Gebiet 1716 Pfynwald – Illgraben) wurde bereits im Rahmen der SÜL-Festsetzung eine Erdverkabelung geprüft. Unter Anwendung der Schutzkriterien hatten die zuständigen Behörden entschieden, dass die zukünftige 380-kV-Leitung Chippis – Mörel als Freileitung geplant wird. Die Leitungsführung entlang des südlichen Hangfusses sowie die Verkabelung / Zusammenlegung von Leitungen niederer Spannung gemäss dem «Leitungskonzept Pfynwald» führen insgesamt zu einer Verbesserung.

Abschnitt 1: Leuk, Pfynwald bis Turtmann, Milachru (4,75 km)
1/9: Abschnitt 1: Leuk, Pfynwald bis Turtmann, Milachru (4,75 km)
Abschnitt 2: Turtmann, Milachru bis Turtmann, Tännu (3,82 km)
2/9: Abschnitt 2: Turtmann, Milachru bis Turtmann, Tännu (3,82 km)
Abschnitt 3: Turtmann, Tännu bis Niedergesteln, Unner Turtig (5,84 km)
3/9: Abschnitt 3: Turtmann, Tännu bis Niedergesteln, Unner Turtig (5,84 km)
Abschnitt 4: Niedergesteln, Unner Turtig bis Visp West (4,92 km)
4/9: Abschnitt 4: Niedergesteln, Unner Turtig bis Visp West (4,92 km)
Abschnitt 5: Visp, Blättji bis Visp, Staldbach (2,95 km)
5/9: Abschnitt 5: Visp, Blättji bis Visp, Staldbach (2,95 km)
Abschnitt 6: Visp, Staldbach bis Eyholz, Grosshüs (4,09 km)
6/9: Abschnitt 6: Visp, Staldbach bis Eyholz, Grosshüs (4,09 km)
Abschnitt 7: Eyholz, Grosshüs bis Brig-Glis, Ännerholz/Oberli (5,06 km)
7/9: Abschnitt 7: Eyholz, Grosshüs bis Brig-Glis, Ännerholz/Oberli (5,06 km)
Abschnitt 8: Brig-Glis, Ännerholz/Oberli bis Termen, Fäldgrabe (4,05 km)
8/9: Abschnitt 8: Brig-Glis, Ännerholz/Oberli bis Termen, Fäldgrabe (4,05 km)
Abschnitt 9: Termen, Fäldgrabe bis Mörel-Filet, UW Mörel (3,60 km)
9/9: Abschnitt 9: Termen, Fäldgrabe bis Mörel-Filet, UW Mörel (3,60 km)

Mensch & Umwelt

Der Bau einer grossen Infrastruktur wie einer Hochspannungsleitung hat Auswirkungen auf das Landschaftsbild und die Umwelt. Für Swissgrid ist es selbstverständlich, diese Eingriffe in die Landschaft zu kompensieren. Dafür realisiert Swissgrid diverse Naturschutzmassnahmen. Zudem wird die bestehende Leitung demontiert, die heute im Raum Leuk-Susten, Niedergampel, Gampel, Raron, Steg und Baltschieder und Brig mitten durch die Dörfer führt.

Landschaftsbild

Die neue Höchstspannungsleitung wird weiter weg von den Siedlungsgebieten am schattigen Südhang gebaut. Dort verläuft sie im westlichen Teil auf einer Höhe von 600 m.ü.M. bis 1400 m.ü.M., im östlichen Teil bis 1200 m.ü.M. Die Leitung meidet höher gelegene, exponierte Lagen. Sie quert zahlreiche Täler und Gräben, so zum Beispiel den Illgraben, das Nanz- und das Vispertal sowie die Saltinaschlucht. Visuelle Mehrbelastungen ergeben sich im Raum Turtmann sowie bei der Talquerung Visp/Stalden.

Durch den Rückbau der bestehenden Leitung werden besiedelte Gebiete und Freizeitanlagen deutlich entlastet. Diese Leitung führt im Raum Raum Leuk-Susten, Niedergampel, Gampel, Raron, Steg und Baltschieder und Brig mitten durch die Dörfer und behindert diese in ihren Siedlungsentwicklungen. In Visp wird das Siedlungsgebiet am Westhang, im Süden und am Osthang umfahren. Aufgrund der steilen Hanglage führt die neue Leitung oberhalb des Dorfes durch und wird von den umgebenden Wanderwegen stärker einsehbar sein als vom Dorfkern. Südlich von Visp quert die neue Leitung das Vispertal in der Nähe der neuen Autobahnbrücke. Dies ist insbesondere aus Visperterminen einsehbar.

Durch die Bündelung der neuen Leitung mit der bestehenden 220-kV-Leitung Stalden – Visp – Mörel wird das Gebiet um Visp bis nach Bitsch zusätzlich entlastet. In Visp wird die bestehende Leitung Stalden – Lalden vom Abzweigermast in Lalden, via Lonza-Werke bis zum Kreuzungspunkt mit der neuen 380-kV-Leitung zurückgebaut.

Naturschutz

Kurz nach dem Unterwerk Chippis quert die Leitung den geschützten Naturpark Pfynwald. Das Leitungstrassee wird deshalb so schonend wie möglich entlang des Hangfusses geführt. Im Pfynwald werden die beiden Leitungen Chippis – Mörel und Chippis – Stalden auf dem gleichen Trassee gebündelt. Zudem werden Leitungen tieferer Spannungsebenen verkabelt oder gebündelt. Dies entlastet diesen einzigartigen Föhrenwald gegenüber dem heutigen Zustand massiv.

Die Ersatzmassnahmen für den Rodungsersatz werden im Naturpark Pfyn-Finges geleistet. Die Ersatzmassnahmen für die Gewährung der Niederhalteservitute durch den Kanton werden noch ausgearbeitet.

Elektromagnetische Felder

Durch die grössere Entfernung der Leitung zu den Siedlungen wird die Belastung für die Bevölkerung reduziert. Der Grenzwert von 1 μT für elektromagnetische Strahlung wird überall eingehalten oder sogar deutlich unterschritten. Die Lärmbelastung wird mit dem Einsatz neuster Technologien und dem Einsatz von Zweier-Bündeln deutlich reduziert.

Naturgefahren

Mit der Baubewilligung sind strenge Auflagen verbunden. Ein Teil davon ist, dass zusammen mit dem Kantonsgeologen und Ingenieurbüros überprüft wird, ob Schutzmassnahmen bei den Masten notwendig sind. Mögliche Naturgefahren sind Hangrutsche, Murgänge, Lawinen oder Steinschlag. Gegen diese Naturgefahren werden die Masten in gefährdeten Zonen zum Beispiel mit der Verstärkung von Mastfundamenten und der Verankerung, Fangnetzen oder Erddämmen gesichert. Swissgrid überprüft in Abstimmung mit den Behörden, ob Schutzmassnahmen bezüglich Lawinen und Schneerutschungen notwendig sind.


Downloads


Netznews

  • | Medienmitteilung

    Sichere Stromversorgung für das Wallis und die Schweiz

    Beitrag lesen
  • | News

    Netzprojekte: Swissgrid informiert über den aktuellsten Stand der Bauarbeiten

    Beitrag lesen
  • | Medienmitteilung

    Spatenstich am «Gäbihübel»

    Beitrag lesen

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.