Grid project Airolo – Lavorgo

A new 380 kV connection between Airolo and Lavorgo will replace the existing high-voltage line, allowing greater security of supply for Ticino and Switzerland. The new route is planned on the right side of the valley, away from built-up areas.

Your contact for this grid project

Alessandro Cameroni
Alessandro Cameroni

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Planning area
Planning area
Dismantling
Dismantling
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

Swissgrid plans to replace the existing high-voltage line between Airolo and Lavorgo with a new 380 kV overhead line. The line currently in use was built in the 1950s and no longer meets current needs. The new route is 23 km long and will pass along the more shaded side of the valley, away from built-up areas. Once the work has been completed, the existing line will be dismantled. As a compensatory measure, the AET line to Quinto, Rodi and Faido will be partially cabled.

A SBB 132 kV line will be bundled on the same pylons, which will power the AlpTransit Gotthard railway line.

The line is required to guarantee sufficient energy supply in Ticino and Switzerland. Currently the existing lines in Upper Ticino are inadequate and overloaded, which puts a limit on production at the hydroelectric power plants in Ticino. Swissgrid submitted an application for a construction permit in May 2020 and construction work should start in 2024.

Animation of the future line Airolo – Lavorgo
Photomontage of the new line Airolo – Lavorgo
Visualisation of the new line (Google Earth)
Animation of the future line Airolo – Lavorgo
1/3: Animation of the future line Airolo – Lavorgo
Photomontage of the new line Airolo – Lavorgo
2/3: Photomontage of the new line Airolo – Lavorgo
Visualisation of the new line (Google Earth)
3/3: Visualisation of the new line (Google Earth)

Improvement compared to the current situation

  • Increased operational safety and security
  • Line constructed away from build-up areas
  • Dismantling of Swissgrid’s existing 220 kV Airolo – Lavorgo and Peccia – Lavorgo lines (the latter from 2035, once the new lines in Vallemaggia are commissioned)
  • With the increased transmission capacity, limits on production at the power plants in Ticino will be avoided
  • Partial burial of the AET 50 kV line
  • The new FFS 132 kV connection will improve security of supply to AlpTransit Gotthard

Project

Chronology

The first consultation for the increase in voltage between Airolo and Lavorgo dates back to 1997, when Atel owned this high-voltage line. In 2006, a decision was made to integrate the FFS line into the project, while in 2012, a support group for the Swiss Federal Office of Energy was established. This support group assessed the cable or partial cable variations. 2013 was a milestone for the project: Swissgrid became the owner of the national electricity grid and the canton launched the «General study on the high-voltage grids of Ticino». This study has led to a total reorganisation of Upper Ticino, which will enable the dismantling of an additional 60km of overhead line. It also confirmed the need for the Airolo – Lavorgo project. In 2015, the support group defined the corridor on the right side of the valley and the technology to be used (overhead line). This recommendation was the subject of a public consultation with local municipalities, held in the summer of 2015. On 23 March 2016, the Federal Council approved the corridor and the technology, and this decision formed the basis for Swissgrid’s subsequent development of the definitive route. Swissgrid submitted the application for a construction permit in May 2020, and the project has been published in the local municipalities in June 2020.

A project in conjunction with the cantons, AET and SBB

In November 2013, the Canton of Ticino, Swissgrid, AET and Swiss Federal Railways (SBB) jointly decided to carry out a «General study on the high-voltage grids of Ticino» in coordination with the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE). The aim of this study was to look for variants that would be better suited to the specific characteristics of the area and could be considered part of an overall vision for Upper Ticino rather than simply the Leventina district. In an initial phase, the study examined the zone designated as the «Upper Ticino – Western Part» section, which includes Vallemaggia and Locarnese up to Magadino, Val Bedretto and Upper Leventina up to Lavorgo.

From the 70 possible solutions identified in the study for reorganising the transmission lines, the SFOE and the project support group unanimously chose the «Leventina + 14» variant. This solution includes the dismantling of around 60 km of overhead lines.

New route and increase in voltage

The upgrade project is part of Swissgrid’s Strategic Grid 2025 and is of national importance. Thanks to this new overhead line, a second 380 kV connection will be established between the Canton of Ticino and the rest of Switzerland (in addition to the Lucomagno Mettlen – Lavorgo line), thus improving the energy transmission capacity. A SBB 132 kV line will also be bundled on the same pylons of the new high-voltage line. SBB will therefore have greater security of supply for the AlpTransit Gotthard railway line.

Once commissioned, it will be possible to dismantle the existing 220 kV line that in some places runs close to built-up areas. In addition, as a compensatory measure, the AET 50 kV line will be partially cabled.

The new line will be 23 km long and will run along the right side of the valley. The municipalities involved in the project are Airolo, Quinto, Prato Leventina, Dalpe and Faido. The planned investment is CHF 82 million.

Next steps

In 2016, the Federal Council approved the planned corridor and the technology to be used (overhead line). Based on this decision, Swissgrid developed the definitive route in collaboration with the municipalities and «patriziati» (public entities managing collective properties), through numerous inspections and constant dialogue with the local authorities. Swissgrid submitted the planning application to ESTI in May 2020, and the project is to be publicised in the municipalities in June 2020 for 30 days. If everything progresses according to plan, construction work will begin in 2024.

Study of underground cabling options

During the sectoral plan process, the transmission technology was examined. Variants as overhead line, full cabling and partial cabling were examined. These variants were evaluated using the evaluation scheme of the Swiss Federal Office of Energy. The aspects environmental protection, spatial development, technical aspects and economic efficiency were examined. On the basis of these assessments, the support group determined the best solution (in the Airolo – Lavorgo project as an overhead line) and this was determined by the Federal Council on 16 March 2016 (SÜL 106).

Due to the cable weights and socket shafts (approx. every 700 – 1000m), the cable route can only be routed in the populated area or mainly in the valley floor. Accessibility must be guaranteed at all times in the event of damage, as the cables would have to be replaced. It was also shown that in the event of a failure, the line would be unavailable for a longer period of time, which in turn weakens the security of supply, especially in Ticino. It should also be noted that if the Swissgrid lines were to be wired, SBB would be built as an overhead line, as cabling is not possible due to resonance frequency.

During the preparation of the construction project, the aspects of the evaluation scheme were checked again to ensure that there have been no significant changes since the Federal Council's decision.

Technical data

Voltage 380 / 132 kilovolt
Route length 23 kilometres
Number of pylons 59
Conductors Aldrey 1000 and Aldrey 800
Partner SBB
Planning company
Bouygues E&S EnerTrans AG

People & environment

The construction of a major infrastructure project such as a high-voltage line will inevitably have repercussions on the surrounding landscape. Swissgrid is committed to mitigating the impact of the line and to compensating for any possible impact. The environmental impact report identified a further 100 nature conservation projects. These measures include the monitoring of the golden eagle and black grouse, as well as the restoration of cascades (such as the Trenta Valli cascade) and the restoration of wooded pastureland for agriculture.

Landscape

The measures undertaken to benefit nature also include the dismantling of the existing line that currently runs alongside built-up areas, and the partial burial of the AET line. The new high-voltage line will be constructed away from built-up areas and will be located on the more shaded side of the valley.

Bundling the new Swissgrid 380 kV line with the SBB 132 kV line will avoid the requirement to construct two independent sets of pylons – all for the benefit of the landscape. The new pylons will be supplied already painted green so that they blend in with the surrounding woods.

In some areas, clearing will be required, which could make the line slightly more visible for the first few years. Low trees will be planted, making the pylons less visible.

To define the route, Swissgrid decided to talk to the municipalities and «patriziati» (public entities managing collective properties). Numerous inspections and photomontages were carried out, which were then optimised at numerous meetings with the local authorities.

Electromagnetic fields and noise

The further the line from the surrounding villages, the less of a burden it will be on the population. The limit of 1 μT for electromagnetic radiation will be complied with at all times or perhaps not even reached. Noise pollution will be notably reduced thanks to the use of the latest technology and two-conductor bundles.

Natural hazards

To develop the project, Swissgrid relied on natural hazard experts. For the Tremorgio crossing, for example, an assessment was carried out by the Swiss Federal Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research at Davos. The granting of the construction permit was subject to strict conditions. Some of them involved checking, in collaboration with geologists and engineering firms in the canton, whether protective measures are necessary at the pylons. Potential natural hazards include landslides, debris flows, avalanches and rockfall.

Photomontage dismantling of the existing line
Photomontage dismantling of the existing line

Downloads


Grid news

  • | Media release

    Old overhead line over the Gotthard Pass to be relocated to the new road tunnel

    Read article
  • | Media release

    Bassecourt – Mühleberg voltage increase

    Read article
  • | Media release

    Extra-high-voltage line in Balzers

    Continued operation is intended to ensure a stable and reliable supply of electricity in Liechtenstein and Switzerland.
    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Projet de réseau Airolo – Lavorgo

Une nouvelle ligne 380 kV entre Airolo et Lavorgo remplacera la ligne à très haute tension actuelle et garantira une meilleure sécurité d’approvisionnement pour le Tessin et la Suisse. Le nouveau tracé est prévu sur le versant droit, loin des agglomérations.

Votre contact pour ce projet

Alessandro Cameroni
Alessandro Cameroni

Téléphone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Zone de planification
Zone de planification
Démantèlement
Démantèlement
Ligne actuelle
Ligne actuelle
Sous-station
Sous-station

Sommaire

Swissgrid prévoit de remplacer la ligne à très haute tension existante entre Airolo et Lavorgo par une nouvelle ligne aérienne 380 kV. La ligne en fonction à ce moment a été construite dans les années 50 et ne répond plus aux exigences actuelles. Le nouveau tracé aura une longueur de 23 km, il passera sur le versant ombragé de la vallée et loin des zones habitées. Une fois les travaux terminés, la ligne actuelle sera démantelée. En guise de mesure de compensation, la ligne AET à Quinto, Rodi et Faido sera partiellement enterrée.

Une ligne 132 kV des CFF, installée sur les mêmes pylônes, servira à alimenter la ligne de chemin de fer d’AlpTransit Gotthard.

Cette ligne est nécessaire à la sécurité de l’approvisionnement énergétique du Tessin et de la Suisse. Les lignes actuelles du Haut-Tessin sont sous-dimensionnées et surchargées, ce qui limite la production des centrales hydroélectriques tessinoises. Swissgrid a déposé la demande de construction en mai 2020. Les travaux devraient commencer en 2024.

Infographie animée de la future ligne Airolo – Lavorgo
Photomontages de la nouvelle ligne Airolo – Lavorgo
Visualisation de la nouvelle ligne (Google Earth)
Infographie animée de la future ligne Airolo – Lavorgo
1/3: Infographie animée de la future ligne Airolo – Lavorgo
Photomontages de la nouvelle ligne Airolo – Lavorgo
2/3: Photomontages de la nouvelle ligne Airolo – Lavorgo
Visualisation de la nouvelle ligne (Google Earth)
3/3: Visualisation de la nouvelle ligne (Google Earth)

Améliorations par rapport à la situation actuelle

  • Augmentation de la sécurité d’exploitation
  • Ligne construite loin des zones habitées
  • Démantèlement des lignes actuelles de Swissgrid 220 kV Airolo – Lavorgo et Peccia – Lavorgo (cette dernière en 2035 une fois que les nouvelles lignes seront en fonction dans la Vallemaggia)
  • Une meilleure capacité de transport permettra d’éviter l’introduction de restrictions de production dans les centrales tessinoises
  • Enfouissement partiel de la ligne AET 50 kV
  • Le nouveau raccordement CFF 132 kV augmentera la sécurité d’approvisionnement d’AlpTransit Gotthard

Projet

Chronologie

La première consultation relative à l’augmentation de la tension entre Airolo et Lavorgo a eu lieu en 1997, à l’époque cette ligne à très haute tension appartenait encore à Atel. En 2006, la décision d’intégrer la ligne CFF au projet a été prise, et en 2012, le groupe d’accompagnement de l’Office fédéral de l’énergie a été constitué. Ce groupe d’accompagnement a évalué les variantes possibles de câblage souterrain global ou partiel. L’année 2013 marque une étape fondamentale du projet: la propriété du réseau électrique national est transférée à Swissgrid, et le Canton lance l’Étude générale sur les réseaux à haute et très haute tension. Cette étude est la base du réaménagement global du Haut-Tessin qui permettra de démanteler plus de 60 km de lignes aériennes. De plus, la nécessité du projet Airolo – Lavorgo est confirmée. En 2015, le groupe d’accompagnement détermine le corridor sur le versant droit et la technologie (ligne aérienne). Cette recommandation fait alors l’objet d’une consultation publique au sein des communes concernées réalisée en été 2015. Le 23 mars 2016, le Conseil fédéral approuve le corridor et la technologie. Swissgrid a alors élaboré le tracé définitif en se basant sur cette décision. En mai 2020, Swissgrid a déposé la demande de construction, et, en juin 2020, le projet a été mis à l’enquête publique dans les communes concernées.

Un projet en collaboration avec le Canton, AET et les CFF

Ce projet a abouti grâce à la collaboration entre différents partenaires. En effet, en novembre 2013, le Canton du Tessin, Swissgrid, AET et les CFF, ont décidé, de concert avec l’Office fédéral de l’énergie, de lancer conjointement l’«Étude générale sur les réseaux à haute et très haute tension au Tessin». Cette Étude vise à concilier les objectifs d’assainissement et de renforcement des lignes à haute et très haute tension et les objectifs d’aménagement du territoire au niveau fédéral et cantonal. L’union des forces a permis de rechercher des variantes plus adaptées à la spécificité du territoire et qui tiennent compte d’une vision globale du Haut-Tessin. Lors d’une première phase, la zone dénommée «Région du Haut-Tessin – Partie Ouest», qui inclut la Vallemaggia, la région de Locarno jusqu’à Magadino, le Val Bedretto et la Haute Léventine jusqu’à Lavorgo, a été prise en compte.

La solution identifiée, appelée variante Léventine + 14, a été choisie à l’unanimité au sein du groupe d’accompagnement du projet et de l’OFEN. Cette solution permettra entre autres de démanteler environ 60 km de lignes aériennes et de protéger des zones de grande valeur.

Nouveau tracé et augmentation de la tension

Le projet de renforcement entre Airolo et Lavorgo fait partie du Réseau stratégique 2025 de Swissgrid et revêt une importance nationale. Grâce à cette nouvelle ligne aérienne, le Canton du Tessin disposera d’un nouveau raccordement à 380 kV avec le reste de la Suisse (en plus de la ligne du Lukmanier Mettlen – Lavorgo) qui améliorera les capacités de transport de l’énergie. Une ligne 132 kV des CFF sera également installée sur les mêmes pylônes que la nouvelle ligne à très haute tension. Ainsi, les CFF jouiront d’une meilleure sécurité d’approvisionnement pour la ligne ferroviaire d’AlpTransit Gotthard.

Dès qu’elles seront en fonction, il sera possible de démanteler la ligne 220 kV actuelle qui, sur son tracé, passe à proximité de quelques agglomérations. De plus, comme mesure de compensation, la ligne 50 kV d’AET sera partiellement enterrée.

La nouvelle ligne, d’une longueur de 23 km, traversera le versant droit de la vallée. Les communes concernées par le projet sont Airolo, Quinto, Prato Leventina, Dalpe et Faido. L’investissement prévu s’élève à CHF 82 millions.

Prochaines étapes

En 2016, le Conseil fédéral a approuvé le corridor de planification ainsi que la technologie (ligne aérienne). En se basant sur cette décision, Swissgrid a élaboré le tracé final, en collaboration avec les communes et les bourgeoisies, grâce à de nombreuses vérifications sur place et à un dialogue permanent avec les autorités locales. Swissgrid a déposé la demande de construction à l’ESTI en mai 2020. Le projet sera mis à l’enquête publique dans les communes pendant 30 jours en juin 2020. En cas d’évolution idéale, les travaux de construction pourront débuter en 2024.

Etudes de variantes avec câblage souterrain

Au cours de la procédure de plan sectoriel, la technologie de transmission a été examinée. Des variantes comme la ligne aérienne, le câblage souterrain total et le câblage souterrain partiel ont été examinées. Ces variantes ont été évaluées à l'aide du schéma d'évaluation de l'Office fédéral suisse de l'énergie. Les aspects de la protection de l'environnement, de l’aménagement du territoire, de la technique et de la rentabilité ont été examinés. Sur la base de ces évaluations, le groupe d’accompagnement a déterminé la meilleure solution (une ligne aérienne pour le projet Airolo – Lavorgo) et celle-ci a été arrêtée par le Conseil fédéral le 16 mars 2016 (SÜL 106).

En raison du poids des câbles et des chambres de jonction (environ tous les 700 à 1000 m), le câblage souterrain ne peut se construire qu’à proximité de la zone habitée, respectivement en fond vallée. L'accessibilité doit être garantie à tout moment en cas de dommage, car les câbles devraient être remplacés. Il a également été démontré qu'en cas de panne, la ligne serait indisponible pendant une période plus longue, ce qui affaiblit la sécurité d'approvisionnement, en particulier au Tessin. Il convient également de noter que si les lignes de Swissgrid devaient être en câblage souterrain, la ligne CFF serait construite en aérien car un câblage souterrain n'est pas possible en raison de la fréquence de résonance.

Lors de la préparation du projet de construction, les aspects du schéma d'évaluation ont été encore une fois vérifiés pour s'assurer qu'il n'y a pas eu de changements significatifs depuis la décision du Conseil fédéral.

Données techniques

Tension 380 / 132 kV
Longueur du tracé
23 km
Nombres de pylônes 59
Conducteurs Aldrey 1000 et Aldrey 800
Partenaire CFF
Concepteur Bouygues E&S EnerTrans AG

Personnes & environnement

Il est impossible de réaliser une telle infrastructure comme une ligne à très haute tension sans impacts sur l’environnement. Swissgrid s’engage afin d’atténuer l’impact de la ligne et de compenser les effets éventuels. Le rapport d’impact sur l’environnement comprend plus de 100 projets visant à protéger l’environnement, parmi lesquels par exemple la surveillance de l’aigle royal et du tétras-lyre, ainsi que la renaturation de cours d’eau (comme celui de Trenta Valli) et la remise en état de pâturages en faveur de l’agriculture.

Paysage

Ces mesures en faveur de la nature sont complétées par le démantèlement de la ligne actuelle qui passe à proximité de villages ainsi que par l’enfouissement partiel de la ligne AET. La nouvelle ligne à très haute tension sera construite loin des zones habitées et sur le versant le plus ombragé de la vallée.

Le regroupement de la nouvelle ligne 380 kV de Swissgrid et de la ligne 132 kV des CFF permettra d’éviter la construction de deux lignes aériennes en parallèle, ce qui sera bénéfique au paysage. Les nouveaux pylônes seront peints en vert, ce qui permettra de mieux les dissimuler dans la forêt.

Dans certaines zones, la ligne sera un peu plus visible durant les premières années à cause des déboisements nécessaires. Des arbres à tronc bas seront plantés afin de masquer les pylônes.

Pour définir le tracé, Swissgrid a décidé de s’appuyer sur le dialogue avec les communes et les bourgeoisies. Plusieurs vérifications ont été effectuées sur place et les photomontages réalisés ont été présentés par la suite durant les très nombreuses réunions organisées avec les autorités locales.

Champs électromagnétiques et nuisances sonores

Grâce à l’éloignement des lignes par rapport aux zones d’habitation, l’exposition de la population reste très basse. La valeur limite de 1 μT pour le rayonnement électromagnétique sera respectée partout, elle sera même nettement inférieure. Le recours aux technologies les plus modernes et aux doubles conducteurs permettra de réduire nettement les nuisances sonores.

Dangers naturels

Pour concevoir le projet, Swissgrid s’est appuyée sur l’avis d’experts en dangers naturels. Nous avons par exemple demandé à l’Institut pour l’étude de la neige et des avalanches de Davos d’effectuer une expertise pour la traversée de la zone du Tremorgio. L’octroi du permis de construire a été soumis à des conditions strictes, dont certaines prévoient, en collaboration avec des géologues cantonaux et des bureaux d’ingénierie civile, l’examen de mesures de protection à l’emplacement des pylônes. Les dangers naturels éventuels sont les glissements de terrain, les coulées de débris, les avalanches ou les chutes de pierres.

Photomontages démantèlement de la ligne existante
Photomontages démantèlement de la ligne existante

Téléchargements


Actualités concernant le réseau

  • | Communiqué de presse

    Liaison câblée souterraine La Bâtiaz – Le Verney

    Lire l'article
  • | Communiqué de presse

    Une liaison sûre entre la vallée du Hasli et la vallée de Conches

    Les variantes de la nouvelle ligne à très haute tension entre Innertkirchen et Ulrichen sont sur la table.
    Lire l'article
  • | Communiqué de presse

    Ligne Pradella – La Punt : L’ESTI donne le feu vert à Swissgrid

    Lire l'article

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.