Grid project Airolo – Lavorgo

A new 380 kV connection between Airolo and Lavorgo will replace the existing high-voltage line, allowing greater security of supply for Ticino and Switzerland. The new route is planned on the right side of the valley, away from built-up areas.

Your contact for this grid project

Alessandro Cameroni
Alessandro Cameroni

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Planning area
Planning area
Dismantling
Dismantling
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

Swissgrid plans to replace the existing high-voltage line between Airolo and Lavorgo with a new 380 kV overhead line. The line currently in use was built in the 1950s and no longer meets current needs. The new route is 23 km long and will pass along the more shaded side of the valley, away from built-up areas. Once the work has been completed, the existing line will be dismantled. As a compensatory measure, the AET line to Quinto, Rodi and Faido will be partially cabled.

A SBB 132 kV line will be bundled on the same pylons, which will power the AlpTransit Gotthard railway line.

The line is required to guarantee sufficient energy supply in Ticino and Switzerland. Currently the existing lines in Upper Ticino are inadequate and overloaded, which puts a limit on production at the hydroelectric power plants in Ticino. Swissgrid submitted an application for a construction permit in May 2020 and construction work should start in 2024.

Animation of the future line Airolo – Lavorgo
Photomontage of the new line Airolo – Lavorgo
Visualisation of the new line (Google Earth)
Animation of the future line Airolo – Lavorgo
1/3: Animation of the future line Airolo – Lavorgo
Photomontage of the new line Airolo – Lavorgo
2/3: Photomontage of the new line Airolo – Lavorgo
Visualisation of the new line (Google Earth)
3/3: Visualisation of the new line (Google Earth)

Improvement compared to the current situation

  • Increased operational safety and security
  • Line constructed away from build-up areas
  • Dismantling of Swissgrid’s existing 220 kV Airolo – Lavorgo and Peccia – Lavorgo lines (the latter from 2035, once the new lines in Vallemaggia are commissioned)
  • With the increased transmission capacity, limits on production at the power plants in Ticino will be avoided
  • Partial burial of the AET 50 kV line
  • The new FFS 132 kV connection will improve security of supply to AlpTransit Gotthard

Project

Chronology

The first consultation for the increase in voltage between Airolo and Lavorgo dates back to 1997, when Atel owned this high-voltage line. In 2006, a decision was made to integrate the FFS line into the project, while in 2012, a support group for the Swiss Federal Office of Energy was established. This support group assessed the cable or partial cable variations. 2013 was a milestone for the project: Swissgrid became the owner of the national electricity grid and the canton launched the «General study on the high-voltage grids of Ticino». This study has led to a total reorganisation of Upper Ticino, which will enable the dismantling of an additional 60km of overhead line. It also confirmed the need for the Airolo – Lavorgo project. In 2015, the support group defined the corridor on the right side of the valley and the technology to be used (overhead line). This recommendation was the subject of a public consultation with local municipalities, held in the summer of 2015. On 23 March 2016, the Federal Council approved the corridor and the technology, and this decision formed the basis for Swissgrid’s subsequent development of the definitive route. Swissgrid submitted the application for a construction permit in May 2020, and the project has been published in the local municipalities in June 2020.

A project in conjunction with the cantons, AET and SBB

In November 2013, the Canton of Ticino, Swissgrid, AET and Swiss Federal Railways (SBB) jointly decided to carry out a «General study on the high-voltage grids of Ticino» in coordination with the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE). The aim of this study was to look for variants that would be better suited to the specific characteristics of the area and could be considered part of an overall vision for Upper Ticino rather than simply the Leventina district. In an initial phase, the study examined the zone designated as the «Upper Ticino – Western Part» section, which includes Vallemaggia and Locarnese up to Magadino, Val Bedretto and Upper Leventina up to Lavorgo.

From the 70 possible solutions identified in the study for reorganising the transmission lines, the SFOE and the project support group unanimously chose the «Leventina + 14» variant. This solution includes the dismantling of around 60 km of overhead lines.

New route and increase in voltage

The upgrade project is part of Swissgrid’s Strategic Grid 2025 and is of national importance. Thanks to this new overhead line, a second 380 kV connection will be established between the Canton of Ticino and the rest of Switzerland (in addition to the Lucomagno Mettlen – Lavorgo line), thus improving the energy transmission capacity. A SBB 132 kV line will also be bundled on the same pylons of the new high-voltage line. SBB will therefore have greater security of supply for the AlpTransit Gotthard railway line.

Once commissioned, it will be possible to dismantle the existing 220 kV line that in some places runs close to built-up areas. In addition, as a compensatory measure, the AET 50 kV line will be partially cabled.

The new line will be 23 km long and will run along the right side of the valley. The municipalities involved in the project are Airolo, Quinto, Prato Leventina, Dalpe and Faido. The planned investment is CHF 82 million.

Next steps

In 2016, the Federal Council approved the planned corridor and the technology to be used (overhead line). Based on this decision, Swissgrid developed the definitive route in collaboration with the municipalities and «patriziati» (public entities managing collective properties), through numerous inspections and constant dialogue with the local authorities. Swissgrid submitted the planning application to ESTI in May 2020, and the project is to be publicised in the municipalities in June 2020 for 30 days. If everything progresses according to plan, construction work will begin in 2024.

Study of underground cabling options

During the sectoral plan process, the transmission technology was examined. Variants as overhead line, full cabling and partial cabling were examined. These variants were evaluated using the evaluation scheme of the Swiss Federal Office of Energy. The aspects environmental protection, spatial development, technical aspects and economic efficiency were examined. On the basis of these assessments, the support group determined the best solution (in the Airolo – Lavorgo project as an overhead line) and this was determined by the Federal Council on 16 March 2016 (SÜL 106).

Due to the cable weights and socket shafts (approx. every 700 – 1000m), the cable route can only be routed in the populated area or mainly in the valley floor. Accessibility must be guaranteed at all times in the event of damage, as the cables would have to be replaced. It was also shown that in the event of a failure, the line would be unavailable for a longer period of time, which in turn weakens the security of supply, especially in Ticino. It should also be noted that if the Swissgrid lines were to be wired, SBB would be built as an overhead line, as cabling is not possible due to resonance frequency.

During the preparation of the construction project, the aspects of the evaluation scheme were checked again to ensure that there have been no significant changes since the Federal Council's decision.

Technical data

Voltage 380 / 132 kilovolt
Route length 23 kilometres
Number of pylons 59
Conductors Aldrey 1000 and Aldrey 800
Partner SBB
Planning company
Bouygues E&S EnerTrans AG

People & environment

The construction of a major infrastructure project such as a high-voltage line will inevitably have repercussions on the surrounding landscape. Swissgrid is committed to mitigating the impact of the line and to compensating for any possible impact. The environmental impact report identified a further 100 nature conservation projects. These measures include the monitoring of the golden eagle and black grouse, as well as the restoration of cascades (such as the Trenta Valli cascade) and the restoration of wooded pastureland for agriculture.

Landscape

The measures undertaken to benefit nature also include the dismantling of the existing line that currently runs alongside built-up areas, and the partial burial of the AET line. The new high-voltage line will be constructed away from built-up areas and will be located on the more shaded side of the valley.

Bundling the new Swissgrid 380 kV line with the SBB 132 kV line will avoid the requirement to construct two independent sets of pylons – all for the benefit of the landscape. The new pylons will be supplied already painted green so that they blend in with the surrounding woods.

In some areas, clearing will be required, which could make the line slightly more visible for the first few years. Low trees will be planted, making the pylons less visible.

To define the route, Swissgrid decided to talk to the municipalities and «patriziati» (public entities managing collective properties). Numerous inspections and photomontages were carried out, which were then optimised at numerous meetings with the local authorities.

Electromagnetic fields and noise

The further the line from the surrounding villages, the less of a burden it will be on the population. The limit of 1 μT for electromagnetic radiation will be complied with at all times or perhaps not even reached. Noise pollution will be notably reduced thanks to the use of the latest technology and two-conductor bundles.

Natural hazards

To develop the project, Swissgrid relied on natural hazard experts. For the Tremorgio crossing, for example, an assessment was carried out by the Swiss Federal Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research at Davos. The granting of the construction permit was subject to strict conditions. Some of them involved checking, in collaboration with geologists and engineering firms in the canton, whether protective measures are necessary at the pylons. Potential natural hazards include landslides, debris flows, avalanches and rockfall.

Photomontage dismantling of the existing line
Photomontage dismantling of the existing line

Downloads


Grid news

  • | Media release

    Old overhead line over the Gotthard Pass to be relocated to the new road tunnel

    Read article
  • | Media release

    Bassecourt – Mühleberg voltage increase

    Read article
  • | Media release

    Extra-high-voltage line in Balzers

    Continued operation is intended to ensure a stable and reliable supply of electricity in Liechtenstein and Switzerland.
    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Netzprojekt Airolo – Lavorgo

Die neue 380-Kilovolt-Verbindung zwischen Airolo und Lavorgo wird die bestehende Höchstspannungsleitung ersetzen und die Sicherheit der Energieversorgung im Tessin sowie in der Schweiz verbessern. Das neue Trassee soll auf der rechten Talseite verlaufen, fern von den Siedlungsgebieten.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für dieses Netzprojekt

Alessandro Cameroni
Alessandro Cameroni

Telefon +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Planungsgebiet
Planungsgebiet
Rückbau
Rückbau
Bestehende Leitung
Bestehende Leitung
Unterwerk
Unterwerk

Übersicht

Swissgrid plant, die bestehende Höchstspannungsleitung zwischen Airolo und Lavorgo durch eine neue 380-kV-Freileitung zu ersetzen. Die derzeit genutzte Leitung wurde in den 50er Jahren gebaut und entspricht nicht mehr den heutigen Anforderungen. Die neue Trasse wird 23 Kilometer lang sein und auf der Schattenseite des Tals fern von den Ansiedlungen verlaufen. Nach Abschluss der Arbeiten wird die aktuell bestehende Leitung abgebaut. Als Ersatzmassnahme wird die Leitung von Azienda Elettrica Ticinese (AET) in Quinto, Rosi und Faido teilweise unter die Erde verlegt.

Auf denselben Masten erfolgt eine Bündelung mit einer 132-kV-Leitung der SBB, zur Versorgung der Eisenbahnstrecke des AlpTransit Gotthard.

Die Leitung ist notwendig, um die Sicherheit der Energieversorgung im Tessin sowie in der Schweiz zu gewährleisten. Derzeit sind die Leitungen im Alto Ticino unterdimensioniert und überlastet. Dies bedingt eine Produktionsbeschränkung der Tessiner Wasserkraftwerke. Swissgrid hat das Baugesuch im Mai 2020 eingereicht. Der Beginn der Bauarbeiten ist für 2024 vorgesehen.

Animation der künftigen Leitung Airolo – Lavorgo
Fotomontagen der neuen Leitung Airolo – Lavorgo
Visualisierung der neuen Leitung (Google Earth)
Animation der künftigen Leitung Airolo – Lavorgo
1/3: Animation der künftigen Leitung Airolo – Lavorgo
Fotomontagen der neuen Leitung Airolo – Lavorgo
2/3: Fotomontagen der neuen Leitung Airolo – Lavorgo
Visualisierung der neuen Leitung (Google Earth)
3/3: Visualisierung der neuen Leitung (Google Earth)

Verbesserungen gegenüber der heutigen Situation

  • Erhöhte Betriebssicherheit
  • Leitungsverlauf fern von Siedlungsgebieten
  • Rückbau der bestehenden 220-kV-Leitungen Airolo – Lavorgo sowie Peccia – Lavorgo (Letztere ab 2035 nach Inbetriebnahme der neuen Leitungen im Maggiatal)
  • Dank der höheren Übertragungskapazität werden Produktionsbeschränkungen der Tessiner Kraftwerke vermieden
  • Die neue 132-kV-SBB-Verbindung erhöht die Versorgungssicherheit für den AlpTransit Gotthard   

Projekt

Chronologie

Die erste Konsultation zur Erhöhung der Spannung zwischen Airolo und Lavorgo fand bereits 1997 statt, als sich die Höchstspannungsleitung noch im Eigentum von Atel befand. 2006 wurde die Integration der SBB-Leitung in das Projekt beschlossen und 2012 wurde die Begleitgruppe des Bundesamtes für Energie (BFE) gegründet. In dieser Begleitgruppe wurden Varianten mit Erdkabeln oder mit Teilverkabelungen bewertet. Das Jahr 2013 stellt einen Meilenstein für das Projekt dar: Swissgrid übernimmt als nationale Netzgesellschaft das Schweizer Höchstspannungsnetz und der Kanton startet die «Studio Generale reti ad alta e altissima tensione in Ticino» (Allgemeine Studio zum Hoch- und Höchstspannungsnetz im Tessin). Aus dieser Studie resultierte eine Variante, die den Rückbau von Freileitungen auf mehr als 60 km Länge ermöglicht. Darüber hinaus wird die Notwendigkeit des Projekts Airolo – Lavorgo bestätigt. 2015 legt die Begleitgruppe den Korridor auf der westlichen Talseite sowie die Technologie (Freileitung) fest. Diese Empfehlung war Gegenstand einer öffentlichen Konsultation in den betroffenen Gemeinden, die im Sommer 2015 stattfand. Am 23. März 2016 genehmigte der Bundesrat den Korridor sowie die Technologie. Ausgehend von diesem Entscheid hat Swissgrid das endgültige Trassee ausgearbeitet. Swissgrid hat das Baugesuch im Mai 2020 eingereicht, das Projekt wird im Juni 2020 in den betroffenen Gemeinden öffentlich aufgelegt.

Ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kanton, AET und SBB

Im November 2013 haben der Kanton Tessin, Swissgrid, Azienda Elettrica Ticinese (AET) und die SBB in Absprache mit dem Bundesamt für Energie (BFE) beschlossen, Varianten zu erstellen, die besser auf die spezifischen Voraussetzungen abgestimmt sind und zudem einen umfassenden Ansatz für den gesamten Bereich «Alto Ticino» berücksichtigen, stat sich wie bislang rein auf die Leventina zu beschränken. Gemeinsam haben sie daher die «Neuordnungsstudie zum Hoch- und Höchstspannungsnetz im Tessin» initiiert. In einem ersten Schritt wurde der Bereich betrachtet, der als «Sektor Alto Ticino – Westteil» bezeichnet wird und das Maggiatal, das Locarnese bis Magadino, das Bedrettotal und die Alta Leventina bis Lavorgo umfasst.

Das BFE und die Begleitgruppe des Verfahrens haben aufgrund der Studie einstimmig die «Lösung zur Neuordnung der Übertragungsleitungen (Variante Leventina + 14)» aus etwa 70 möglichen Optionen ausgewählt. Diese Lösung ermöglicht unter anderem den Rückbau von rund 60 km Leitungen.

Neues Trassee und Erhöhung der Spannung

Das Ausbauprojekt ist als Teil des «Strategischen Netzes 2025» von Swissgrid von nationaler Bedeutung. Dank der neuen Freileitung entsteht eine zweite 380-kV-Verbindung zwischen dem Kanton Tessin und der übrigen Schweiz (zusätzlich zur Lukmanierleitung Mettlen – Lavorgo), wodurch die Übertragungskapazität verbessert wird. Auf den Masten der neuen Höchstspannungsleitung wird auch eine 132-kV-Leitung der SBB hinzugefügt. Dies gibt der SBB eine höhere Versorgungssicherheit für die Eisenbahnstrecke des AlpTransits Gotthard.

Nach Inbetriebnahme der neuen Leitung kann die derzeitige 220-kV-Leitung demontiert werden, die teilweise in der Nähe von Siedlungsgebieten verläuft. Als Ausgleichsmassnahme wird ausserdem die 50-kV-Leitung von AET teilweise unter die Erde verlegt.

Die neue Leitung wird 23 km lang sein und auf der rechten Talseite verlaufen. Von dem Projekt betroffen sind die Gemeinden Airolo, Quinto, Prato Leventina, Dalpe und Faido. Die geplante Investition beläuft sich auf 82 Millionen Schweizer Franken.

Nächste Schritte

Der Bundesrat hat 2016 den Planungskorridor und die Technologie (Freileitung) genehmigt. Ausgehend von diesem Entscheid hat Swissgrid die endgültige Trasse ausgearbeitet, auch in Zusammenarbeit mit Gemeinden und Bürgergemeinden, dank zahlreicher Ortsbegehungen und eines laufenden Dialogs mit den lokalen Behörden. Swissgrid hat das Baugesuch im Mai 2020 beim Eidgenössischen Strominspektorat ESTI eingereicht. Das Projekt wird im Juni 2020 für einen Zeitraum von 30 Tagen in den betroffenen Gemeinden öffentlich aufgelegt. Bei günstigem Verlauf kann 2024 mit den Bauarbeiten begonnen werden.

Untersuchung von Varianten mit Erdverkabelung

Während des Sachplansverfahrens wurde die Übertragungstechnik untersucht. Es wurden Varianten als Freileitung, Vollverkabelung und Teilverkabelung untersucht. Diese Varianten wurden mittels dem Bewertungsschema des Bundesamtes für Energie bewertet. Es wurden die Aspekte Umweltschonung, Raumentwicklung, technische Aspekte und Wirtschaftlichkeit untersucht. Anhand dieser Bewertungen hat die Begleitgruppe die beste Lösung (im Projekt Airolo – Lavorgo als Freileitung) eruiert und wurde vom Bundesrat am 16. März 2016 festgelegt (SÜL 106).

Die Kabeltrasse kann aufgrund der Kabelgewichte und Muffenschächte (ca. alle 700 – 1000m) nur im Bereich des besiedeltem Gebiet bzw. mehrheitlich im Talgrund geführt werden. Die Zugänglichkeit muss jederzeit gewährt werden, falls ein Schaden auftreten sollte, da die Kabel ersetzt werden müssten. Zudem wurde aufgezeigt, dass bei einem Ausfall die Leitung für längere Zeit nicht verfügbar wäre, was wiederum die Versorgungssicherheit, insbesondere im Tessin, schwächt. Es ist auch zu beachten, dass bei einer Verkabelung der Swissgrid-Leitungen die SBB als Freileitung gebaut würde, da eine Verkabelung auf Grund Resonanzfrequenz nicht möglich ist.

Bei der Ausarbeitung des Bauprojekts wurden die Aspekte des Bewertungsschema nochmals kontrolliert um sicherzustellen, dass keine nennenswerte Änderungen seit dem Entscheid des Bundesrates vorhanden sind.

Technische Daten

Spannung 380 / 132 Kilovolt
Trasseelänge 23 Kilometer
Anzahl Masten
59
Leiter Aldrey 1000 und Aldrey 800
Partner SBB
Planung Bouygues E&S EnerTrans AG

Mensch & Umwelt

Die Realisierung eines umfangreichen Infrastrukturprojekt wie der Bau einer Höchstspannungsleitung hat zwangsläufig Auswirkungen auf das Landschaftsbild. Swissgrid bemüht sich, die Auswirkungen der Leitung zu minimieren und allfällige Folgen auszugleichen. Im Umweltbericht (UWB) wurden über 100 Naturschutzprojekte aufgeführt. Zu diesen Massnahmen zählen beispielsweise die Überwachung des Steinadlers und des Birkhuhns sowie die Renaturierung von Flussläufen (wie dem des Trenta Valli) wie auch die Rückkehr zu den für die Weidewirtschaft genutzten Wäldern.

Landschaftsbild

Gleichzeitig mit diesen Naturschutzmassnahmen wird auch der Rückbau der bestehenden Leitung, die derzeit nahe an Ansiedlungen verläuft, sowie die teilweise unterirdische Verlegung der AET-Leitung durchgeführt. Die neue Höchstspannungsleitung wird fernab bewohnter Gebiete errichtet.

Dank der Bündelung der neuen 380-kV-Leitung von Swissgrid mit der 132-kV-Leitung der SBB wird die Errichtung von zwei getrennten Trassees vermieden. All dies kommt dem Landschaftsbild zugute. Die neuen Masten werden mit einem grünen Anstrich geliefert, so dass sie sich gut in die Umgebung eingliedern.

In einigen Bereichen sind Rodungen erforderlich, wodurch die Leitung in den ersten Jahren ein wenig stärker ins Auge fallen könnte. Es werden niederstämmige Bäume gepflanzt, damit die Masten weniger auffallen.

Die Festlegung der Trasse erfolgte in enger Zusammenarbeit zwischen Swissgrid und den Gemeinden und Bürgergemeinden. Es wurden zahlreiche Ortsbegehungen durchgeführt und Fotomontagen erstellt, die dann bei zahlreichen Sitzungen mit den lokalen Behörden optimiert wurden.

Elektromagnetische Felder und Lärmbelastung

Durch die grössere Entfernung der Leitung zu den Siedlungen wird die Belastung für die Bevölkerung reduziert. Der Grenzwert von 1 μT für elektromagnetische Strahlung wird überall eingehalten oder sogar unterschritten. Die Lärmbelastung wird durch den Einsatz modernster Technologien sowie von Zweierbündeln deutlich reduziert.

Naturgefahren

Bei der Ausarbeitung des Projekts hat sich Swissgrid von Expertinnen und Experten für Naturgefahren beraten lassen. So wurde beispielsweise für die Durchquerung des Schutzgebiets Tremorgio ein Gutachten durch das Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung in Davos erstellt. Die Erteilung der Baugenehmigung war an strenge Auflagen gebunden. So musste unter anderem in Zusammenarbeit mit Geologen des Kantons und Ingenieuren geprüft werden, ob entlang der Trassen Schutzmassnahmen erforderlich sind. Mögliche Naturgefahren sind Hangrutsche, Murgänge, Lawinen oder Steinschlag.

Fotomontagen Rückbau der bestehenden Leitung
Fotomontagen Rückbau der bestehenden Leitung

Downloads


Netznews

  • | Medienmitteilung

    Swissgrid reicht Baugesuch für Airolo – Lavorgo ein

    Beitrag lesen
  • | Medienmitteilung

    Das Erdkabel ist unter Strom

    Beitrag lesen
  • | News

    Instandhaltungsarbeiten an der 220-kV-Freileitung Chamoson – Chippis

    An der im Jahr 1953 errichteten 220-kV-Freileitung Chamoson – Chippis sind vor der definitiven Ausserbetriebnahme einige Instandhaltungsarbeiten erforderlich.
    Beitrag lesen

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.