Grid project Obfelden – Samstagern

Swissgrid is upgrading the 150-kilovolt line between Samstagern, Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) and Obfelden to 220 kilovolts (kV) in stages. By doing so, Swissgrid will strengthen the security of supply for the city of Zurich and the western shore of Lake Zurich in the long term.

Your contact for this grid project

Joshu Jullier
Joshu Jullier

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

220kV line
220kV line
220 kV underground cabling
220 kV underground cabling
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

  • The current 150 kV line between Samstagern (Richterswil), Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) and Obfelden operated by the electricity company of the city of Zurich, ewz (Elektrizitätswerk der Stadt Zürich), will be upgraded to 220 kV in stages.
  • Connecting the Thalwil and Waldegg (Zurich) substations to the extra-high-voltage grid will strengthen the security of supply for the city of Zurich and the western shore of Lake Zurich.
  • The work on the six sections and the dismantling of the existing lines is expected to take until 2030. The construction costs of the entire project amount to around CHF 170 million.
  • Construction work on the first section will begin in the Gattikon area in October 2022, and is expected to continue until the end of 2023. Afterwards, the current line, which partly runs through local recreation and residential areas, will be dismantled.

Project

Initial situation

Currently, the greater Zurich area is much better connected to the extra-high-voltage grid from the north than from the south. In the north, the 220 kV grid reaches as far as the city of Zurich via the Auwiesen and Fällanden substations. In the south, on the other hand, the Obfelden and Samstagern connection points are only connected to the city boundary via one 150 kV line each. Swissgrid is therefore planning to upgrade the line between Samstagern (Richterswil), Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) and Obfelden to 220 kilovolts (kV) in six sub-projects. The upgrade is part of Swissgrid’s Strategic Grid.

Why the project is important

With the connection of the Thalwil and Waldegg substations to the extra-high-voltage grid and the reinforcement of the lines between Obfelden and Samstagern, the extra-high-voltage grid will also reach the city of Zurich from the south. This will increase the transport capacity as well as the security of supply for the city and the entire Zurich region. The project is also very important for Swiss Federal Railways (SBB), as two 132 kV railway power lines will be carried on one of the sections. These two lines will connect the Sihlbrugg substation with the Zurich substation, significantly improving the security of supply for SBB in the greater Zurich area.

The extension of the high-voltage lines in the Zurich South area will strengthen the security of supply for the city of Zurich and the entire region.

The six sections of the project

The expansion of the line between Samstagern (Richterswil), Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) and Obfelden consists of six sub-projects. The construction costs of the entire project amount to around CHF 170 million. The work on the various sections and the dismantling of the existing line sections is expected to take until 2030.

Die sechs Abschnitte des Projekts zwischen Samstagern, Thalwil, Waldegg (Zürich) und Obfelden.
The six sections of the project between Samstagern, Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) and Obfelden.

Samstagern substation connection

At the Samstagern substation, modifications to the substation and line must be implemented in order to connect the line, which is currently operated at 150 kV, to the 220 kV grid.

Samstagern – Schweikrüti (Thalwil)

Between Samstagern and Schweikrüti (municipality of Thalwil), the line is already designed for extra-high voltage, but is only operated at 150 kV. Swissgrid is planning to increase the voltage to 220 kV. This will probably not require any major structural measures on the line.

Schweikrüti (Thalwil) – Kilchberg

A legally binding construction permit for a new overhead line along a modified route has been issued for this section. The construction of an underground cable is not possible on this section because two 132 kV SBB lines will be carried on the same pylons as the Swissgrid line. For technical reasons, the SBB lines must necessarily run above ground. The Thalwil substation, which is important for supplying the western shore of Lake Zurich, will be connected to the Schweikrüti – Kilchberg section. As soon as the Thalwil substation is connected to the extra-high-voltage grid, Axpo’s 110 kV Obfelden – Thalwil line (known as the Albis line), which served as an alternative measure, will be dismantled. This will substantially reduce the burden on the residential areas of Langnau and Gattikon.

Kilchberg – Waldegg (Zurich)

The new line from Kilchberg to Frohalp near Zurich Manegg station will be built underground along the motorway. It will then be routed through the conduit blocks built during the construction of the two tunnel tubes of the Uetliberg tunnel before continuing to the Waldegg substation via a two-kilometre underground tunnel (with a diameter of approx. four metres).

Waldegg (Zurich) underground substation

Swissgrid is planning a new underground substation with ewz. From here, electricity will flow into the city of Zurich. The substation will be built underground to minimise the impact on the landscape and the visibility for the neighbouring residential area.

Obfelden – Waldegg (Zurich)

The line between Obfelden and Waldegg (Zurich) is already designed for extra-high voltage, but is only operated at 150 kV. Swissgrid plans to increase the voltage to 220 kV by 2027, so that the Waldegg substation can then be connected to the transmission grid. This will probably not require any major structural measures on the line.


Start of construction on the first section

Construction work on the section between Schweikrüti and Kilchberg will start with the erection of six new pylons in the Gattikon area. The foundations will be built first, starting in October 2022. This will require 2,200 tonnes of concrete. The construction and installation sites will be set up as early as September. Concrete and construction machinery for the pylon foundations will be delivered in the area of Waldweiher and Gattikerweiher, and excavated material will be removed from the same place. It will be transported via the forest road towards Waldweier rather than via Schweikrütiweg to avoid the residential areas in Gattikon. We kindly ask for your understanding for the resulting construction noise and transport.

Erection of the construction and installation sites for the Schweikrüti (Thalwil) – Kilchberg section will begin in the Gattikon area in September 2022. Construction work will then start in October.

At the end of 2023, the new line between Schweikrüti and Sihlhalden will initially be put into operation at 150 kV, so that the old line on this section can be dismantled in 2024. This will free the Gattikerweiher recreation area and the residential area from the line.

1/4: The dismantling of the old line in Gattikon will provide noticeable relief for the residential area.
2/4: The dismantling of the old line in Gattikon will provide noticeable relief for the residential area.
3/4: The removal of the old line in Gattikon will free Gattikerweiher from the line.
4/4: The removal of the old line in Gattikon will free Gattikerweiher from the line.

The second part between Sihlhalden and Kilchberg will be built in 2025. Here, the new line will largely run along the existing route. According to current planning and assuming optimal project progress, the line from Samstagern to Thalwil will be put into operation at extra-high voltage at the end of 2025. Axpo’s 110 kV Obfelden – Thalwil line (known as the Albis line) can subsequently be dismantled. The upgraded line between Thalwil and Waldegg (Zurich) is scheduled to go into operation in 2030.


Timetable for the Schweikrüti – Kilchberg section, assuming optimal project progress.

Downloads


Further information

  • Approval process

    Swissgrid is responsible for the project planning for and implementation of the transmission lines.

    Learn more

  • Emissions

    It is hard to imagine our daily life without the numerous electronic gadgets and tools. However, we are much less aware that electric and magnetic fields are formed everywhere electricity is present: including in the generation, transmission and distribution of electric energy.

    Learn more

  • Grid technologies

    The decision on whether to install a high-voltage line as an overhead line or as an underground cable is based on objective criteria. That's why Swissgrid checks the cable and overhead line options for every grid project.

    Learn more

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Projet de réseau Obfelden – Samstagern

Swissgrid prévoit de renforcer progressivement la ligne de 150 kilovolts entre Samstagern, Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) et Obfelden pour la passer à 220 kilovolts (kV). De cette manière, elle renforcera à long terme la sécurité d’approvisionnement de la ville de Zurich et de la rive gauche du lac de Zurich.

Votre contact pour ce projet

Joshu Jullier
Joshu Jullier

Téléphone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Ligne 220 kV
Ligne 220 kV
Ligne câblée0220 kV
Ligne câblée 220 kV
Ligne actuelle
Ligne actuelle
Sous-station
Sous-station

Sommaire

  • La ligne actuelle de 150 kV des services industriels de la ville de Zurich (Elektrizitätswerk der Stadt Zürich – ewz) entre Samstagern (Richterswil), Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) et Obfelden va progressivement passer à 220 kV.
  • Le raccordement des sous-stations de Thalwil et de Waldegg (Zurich) au réseau à très haute tension renforcera la sécurité de l’approvisionnement de la ville de Zurich et de la rive gauche du lac de Zurich.
  • Les travaux sur les six tronçons ainsi que le démantèlement des lignes existantes devraient durer jusqu’en 2030. Les frais de construction de l’ensemble du projet s’élèvent à environ 170 millions de francs suisses.
  • Les travaux de construction du premier tronçon débuteront dans la région de Gattikon en octobre 2022 et se poursuivront jusqu’à fin 2023. La ligne actuelle, qui traverse à certains endroits des zones de détente et d’habitation, sera ensuite démantelée.

Projet

Situation initiale

À ce jour, l’agglomération de Zurich est nettement mieux reliée au réseau à très haute tension par le nord que par le sud. Au nord, le réseau de 220 kV s’étend jusqu’à la ville de Zurich via les sous-stations d’Auwiesen et Fällanden. Au sud, en revanche, les points de raccordement d’Obfelden et de Samstagern ne sont reliés que par une ligne de 150 kV jusqu’à la limite de la ville. Via six sous-projets, Swissgrid prévoit donc de passer la ligne à 220 kilovolts (kV) entre Samstagern (Richterswil), Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) et Obfelden. L’extension fait partie du réseau stratégique de Swissgrid.

L’importance de ce projet

Le raccordement des sous-stations de Thalwil et de Waldegg au réseau à très haute tension et le renforcement des lignes entre Obfelden et Samstagern permettront également d’amener le réseau à très haute tension jusqu’à la ville de Zurich par le sud. Cela augmentera la capacité de transport ainsi que la sécurité d’approvisionnement de la ville et de toute la région de Zurich. Le projet est également très important pour les CFF, puisque deux lignes de 132 kV transportant du courant ferroviaire seront également présentes sur un tronçon. Ces deux lignes relieront la sous-station de Sihlbrugg à celle de Zurich, ce qui augmentera considérablement la sécurité d’approvisionnement des CFF dans l’agglomération zurichoise.

L’extension des lignes à très haute tension dans la région de Zurich Sud renforcera la sécurité d’approvisionnement de la ville de Zurich et de toute la région.

Les six tronçons du projet

L’extension de la ligne entre Samstagern (Richterswil), Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) et Obfelden se compose de six sous-projets. Les frais de construction de l’ensemble du projet s’élèvent à environ 170 millions de francs suisses. Les travaux sur les différents tronçons ainsi que le démantèlement des tronçons de lignes existants devraient durer jusqu’en 2030.

Die sechs Abschnitte des Projekts zwischen Samstagern, Thalwil, Waldegg (Zürich) und Obfelden.
Les six tronçons du projet entre Samstagern, Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) et Obfelden.

Raccordement de la sous-station de Samstagern

Des modifications doivent être apportées à la sous-station et à la ligne de la sous-station de Samstagern afin de raccorder la ligne, fonctionnant actuellement à 150 kV, au réseau de 220 kV.

Samstagern – Schweikrüti (Thalwil)

À ce jour, entre Samstagern et Schweikrüti (commune de Thalwil), la ligne est déjà conçue pour la très haute tension, mais n’est exploitée qu’à 150 kV. Swissgrid prévoit d’augmenter la tension à 220 kV. Pour cela, il ne sera probablement pas nécessaire de procéder à de gros travaux de construction sur la ligne.

Schweikrüti (Thalwil) – Kilchberg

Ce tronçon dispose d’un permis de construire exécutoire pour une nouvelle ligne aérienne avec un tracé de ligne adapté. La construction d’une ligne câblée souterraine n’est pas possible sur ce tronçon, car deux lignes de 132 kV des CFF passent sur les mêmes pylônes que la ligne Swissgrid. Pour des raisons techniques, les lignes CFF doivent impérativement passer en surface. Sur le tronçon Schweikrüti – Kilchberg, la sous-station de Thalwil, importante pour l’approvisionnement de la rive gauche du lac de Zurich, sera raccordée. Dès que la sous-station de Thalwil sera raccordée au réseau à très haute tension, la ligne de 110 kV d’Obfelden – Thalwil d’Axpo (dite ligne d’Albis) sera elle aussi démantelée à titre de mesure de substitution. Cela déchargera considérablement la zone d’habitation de Langnau et de Gattikon.

Kilchberg – Waldegg (Zurich)

De Kilchberg à Frohalp, près de la gare de Zurich Manegg, la nouvelle ligne sera construite en souterrain le long de l’autoroute. Elle passera ensuite par les batteries de tubes installées lors de la construction des deux tubes du tunnel de l’Uetliberg, puis poursuivra sa route sous terre dans une galerie de 2 km (diamètre d’environ 4 m) jusqu’à la sous-station de Waldegg.

Sous-station souterraine de Waldegg (Zurich)

En collaboration avec ewz, Swissgrid prévoit une nouvelle sous-station souterraine, d’où partira le courant vers la ville de Zurich. La sous-station sera construite en souterrain afin de minimiser l’impact sur le paysage et la visibilité pour les zones d’habitation voisines.

Obfelden – Waldegg (Zurich)

La ligne entre Obfelden et Waldegg (Zurich) est déjà conçue pour la très haute tension, mais n’est exploitée qu’à 150 kV. Swissgrid prévoit d’augmenter la tension à 220 kV d’ici 2027, de sorte que la sous-station de Waldegg puisse être raccordée au réseau de transport dès cette date. Pour cela, il ne sera probablement pas nécessaire de procéder à de gros travaux de construction sur la ligne.


Début des travaux du premier tronçon

Sur le tronçon entre Schweikrüti et Kilchberg, les travaux commenceront par la construction de six nouveaux pylônes dans la région de Gattikon. À partir d’octobre 2022, ce sont les fondations qui seront d’abord construites. Pour ce faire, 2200 tonnes de béton seront nécessaires. Les sites de construction et d’installation seront mis en place dès le mois de septembre. Pour les fondations des pylônes, du béton et des machines de chantier seront livrés au niveau du Waldweiher et du Gattikerweiher et des matériaux d’excavation seront transportés. Les transports seront effectués par la route forestière en direction du Waldweiher et non par le Schweikrütiweg. On évitera ainsi les zones d’habitation de Gattikon. Nous vous remercions de votre compréhension quant aux transports et aux nuisances sonores qui en résulteront.

Sur le tronçon Schweikrüti (Thalwil) – Kilchberg, la mise en place des sites de construction et d’installation commencera dans la région de Gattikon en septembre 2022. Les travaux de construction débuteront ensuite en octobre.

Fin 2023, la nouvelle ligne sera mise en service entre Schweikrüti et Sihlhalden, dans un premier temps à 150 kV, de sorte qu’en 2024, l’ancienne ligne puisse être démantelée sur ce tronçon. La zone de détente du Gattikerweiher et la zone d’habitation seront ainsi libérées de la ligne.

1/4: Le démantèlement de l’ancienne ligne à Gattikon permettra de sensiblement délester la zone d’habitation.
2/4: Le démantèlement de l’ancienne ligne à Gattikon permettra de sensiblement délester la zone d’habitation.
3/4: Le démantèlement de l’ancienne ligne à Gattikon permettra de libérer le Gattikerweiher de la ligne.
4/4: Le démantèlement de l’ancienne ligne à Gattikon permettra de libérer le Gattikerweiher de la ligne.

En 2025, la deuxième partie sera construite entre Sihlhalden et Kilchberg. La nouvelle ligne passera en grande partie sur le tracé existant. Selon la planification actuelle et si le projet se déroule de manière optimale, la ligne de Samstagern à Thalwil devrait être mise en service fin 2025 avec une très haute tension. Dans la foulée, la ligne de 110 kV Obfelden – Thalwil d’Axpo (dite ligne d’Albis) pourra être démantelée. La ligne aménagée entre Thalwil et Waldegg (Zurich) devrait être mise en service en 2030.


Calendrier du tronçon Schweikrüti – Kilchberg en cas de déroulement optimal du projet.

Téléchargements


Informations complémentaires

  • Procédures d’autorisation

    Swissgrid est responsable de l'étude de projet et de la réalisation des lignes de transport.

    En Savoir plus

  • Emissions

    Il nous serait bien difficile d’imaginer notre quotidien sans les nombreux compagnons électroniques qui nous entourent. Nous sommes en revanche beaucoup moins conscients du fait que des champs électriques et magnétiques apparaissent partout où l’électricité est présente et ce même lors de la production, du transport, de la distribution et de la consommation d’énergie électrique.

    En Savoir plus

  • Technologies de réseau

    Avant que le courant ne parvienne finalement dans la prise de courant à la maison, la tension doit être réduite près de 1000 fois (de 380 000 volts et 220 000 volts à 400 et 220 volts). Cela se produit dans le cadre de plusieurs étapes, et plus précisément à différents niveaux du réseau.

    En Savoir plus

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.