Grid project Obfelden – Samstagern

Swissgrid is upgrading the 150-kilovolt line between Samstagern, Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) and Obfelden to 220 kilovolts (kV) in stages. By doing so, Swissgrid will strengthen the security of supply for the city of Zurich and the western shore of Lake Zurich in the long term.

Your contact for this grid project

Joshu Jullier
Joshu Jullier

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

220kV line
220kV line
220 kV underground cabling
220 kV underground cabling
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

  • The current 150 kV line between Samstagern (Richterswil), Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) and Obfelden operated by the electricity company of the city of Zurich, ewz (Elektrizitätswerk der Stadt Zürich), will be upgraded to 220 kV in stages.
  • Connecting the Thalwil and Waldegg (Zurich) substations to the extra-high-voltage grid will strengthen the security of supply for the city of Zurich and the western shore of Lake Zurich.
  • The work on the six sections and the dismantling of the existing lines is expected to take until 2030. The construction costs of the entire project amount to around CHF 170 million.
  • Construction work on the first section will begin in the Gattikon area in October 2022, and is expected to continue until the end of 2023. Afterwards, the current line, which partly runs through local recreation and residential areas, will be dismantled.

Project

Initial situation

Currently, the greater Zurich area is much better connected to the extra-high-voltage grid from the north than from the south. In the north, the 220 kV grid reaches as far as the city of Zurich via the Auwiesen and Fällanden substations. In the south, on the other hand, the Obfelden and Samstagern connection points are only connected to the city boundary via one 150 kV line each. Swissgrid is therefore planning to upgrade the line between Samstagern (Richterswil), Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) and Obfelden to 220 kilovolts (kV) in six sub-projects. The upgrade is part of Swissgrid’s Strategic Grid.

Why the project is important

With the connection of the Thalwil and Waldegg substations to the extra-high-voltage grid and the reinforcement of the lines between Obfelden and Samstagern, the extra-high-voltage grid will also reach the city of Zurich from the south. This will increase the transport capacity as well as the security of supply for the city and the entire Zurich region. The project is also very important for Swiss Federal Railways (SBB), as two 132 kV railway power lines will be carried on one of the sections. These two lines will connect the Sihlbrugg substation with the Zurich substation, significantly improving the security of supply for SBB in the greater Zurich area.

The extension of the high-voltage lines in the Zurich South area will strengthen the security of supply for the city of Zurich and the entire region.

The six sections of the project

The expansion of the line between Samstagern (Richterswil), Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) and Obfelden consists of six sub-projects. The construction costs of the entire project amount to around CHF 170 million. The work on the various sections and the dismantling of the existing line sections is expected to take until 2030.

Die sechs Abschnitte des Projekts zwischen Samstagern, Thalwil, Waldegg (Zürich) und Obfelden.
The six sections of the project between Samstagern, Thalwil, Waldegg (Zurich) and Obfelden.

Samstagern substation connection

At the Samstagern substation, modifications to the substation and line must be implemented in order to connect the line, which is currently operated at 150 kV, to the 220 kV grid.

Samstagern – Schweikrüti (Thalwil)

Between Samstagern and Schweikrüti (municipality of Thalwil), the line is already designed for extra-high voltage, but is only operated at 150 kV. Swissgrid is planning to increase the voltage to 220 kV. This will probably not require any major structural measures on the line.

Schweikrüti (Thalwil) – Kilchberg

A legally binding construction permit for a new overhead line along a modified route has been issued for this section. The construction of an underground cable is not possible on this section because two 132 kV SBB lines will be carried on the same pylons as the Swissgrid line. For technical reasons, the SBB lines must necessarily run above ground. The Thalwil substation, which is important for supplying the western shore of Lake Zurich, will be connected to the Schweikrüti – Kilchberg section. As soon as the Thalwil substation is connected to the extra-high-voltage grid, Axpo’s 110 kV Obfelden – Thalwil line (known as the Albis line), which served as an alternative measure, will be dismantled. This will substantially reduce the burden on the residential areas of Langnau and Gattikon.

Kilchberg – Waldegg (Zurich)

The new line from Kilchberg to Frohalp near Zurich Manegg station will be built underground along the motorway. It will then be routed through the conduit blocks built during the construction of the two tunnel tubes of the Uetliberg tunnel before continuing to the Waldegg substation via a two-kilometre underground tunnel (with a diameter of approx. four metres).

Waldegg (Zurich) underground substation

Swissgrid is planning a new underground substation with ewz. From here, electricity will flow into the city of Zurich. The substation will be built underground to minimise the impact on the landscape and the visibility for the neighbouring residential area.

Obfelden – Waldegg (Zurich)

The line between Obfelden and Waldegg (Zurich) is already designed for extra-high voltage, but is only operated at 150 kV. Swissgrid plans to increase the voltage to 220 kV by 2027, so that the Waldegg substation can then be connected to the transmission grid. This will probably not require any major structural measures on the line.


Start of construction on the first section

Construction work on the section between Schweikrüti and Kilchberg will start with the erection of six new pylons in the Gattikon area. The foundations will be built first, starting in October 2022. This will require 2,200 tonnes of concrete. The construction and installation sites will be set up as early as September. Concrete and construction machinery for the pylon foundations will be delivered in the area of Waldweiher and Gattikerweiher, and excavated material will be removed from the same place. It will be transported via the forest road towards Waldweier rather than via Schweikrütiweg to avoid the residential areas in Gattikon. We kindly ask for your understanding for the resulting construction noise and transport.

Erection of the construction and installation sites for the Schweikrüti (Thalwil) – Kilchberg section will begin in the Gattikon area in September 2022. Construction work will then start in October.

At the end of 2023, the new line between Schweikrüti and Sihlhalden will initially be put into operation at 150 kV, so that the old line on this section can be dismantled in 2024. This will free the Gattikerweiher recreation area and the residential area from the line.

1/4: The dismantling of the old line in Gattikon will provide noticeable relief for the residential area.
2/4: The dismantling of the old line in Gattikon will provide noticeable relief for the residential area.
3/4: The removal of the old line in Gattikon will free Gattikerweiher from the line.
4/4: The removal of the old line in Gattikon will free Gattikerweiher from the line.

The second part between Sihlhalden and Kilchberg will be built in 2025. Here, the new line will largely run along the existing route. According to current planning and assuming optimal project progress, the line from Samstagern to Thalwil will be put into operation at extra-high voltage at the end of 2025. Axpo’s 110 kV Obfelden – Thalwil line (known as the Albis line) can subsequently be dismantled. The upgraded line between Thalwil and Waldegg (Zurich) is scheduled to go into operation in 2030.


Timetable for the Schweikrüti – Kilchberg section, assuming optimal project progress.

Downloads


Further information

  • Approval process

    Swissgrid is responsible for the project planning for and implementation of the transmission lines.

    Learn more

  • Emissions

    It is hard to imagine our daily life without the numerous electronic gadgets and tools. However, we are much less aware that electric and magnetic fields are formed everywhere electricity is present: including in the generation, transmission and distribution of electric energy.

    Learn more

  • Grid technologies

    The decision on whether to install a high-voltage line as an overhead line or as an underground cable is based on objective criteria. That's why Swissgrid checks the cable and overhead line options for every grid project.

    Learn more

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Netzprojekt Obfelden – Samstagern

Swissgrid baut die 150-Kilovolt-Leitung zwischen Samstagern, Thalwil, Waldegg (Zürich) und Obfelden etappenweise auf 220 Kilovolt (kV) aus. Damit stärkt Swissgrid langfristig die Versorgungssicherheit der Stadt Zürich und des linken Zürichseeufers.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für dieses Netzprojekt

Joshu Jullier
Joshu Jullier

Telefon +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

220-kV-Leitung
220-kV-Leitung
220-kV-Kabelleitung
220-kV-Kabelleitung
Bestehende Leitung
Bestehende Leitung
Unterwerk
Unterwerk

Übersicht

  • Die heutige 150-kV-Leitung zwischen Samstagern (Richterswil), Thalwil, Waldegg (Zürich) und Obfelden des ewz (Elektrizitätswerk der Stadt Zürich) wird etappenweise auf 220 kV ausgebaut.
  • Der Anschluss der Unterwerke Thalwil und Waldegg (Zürich) ans Höchstspannungsnetz stärkt die Versorgungssicherheit der Stadt Zürich und des linken Zürichseeufers.
  • Die Arbeiten an den insgesamt sechs Abschnitten sowie der Rückbau bestehender Leitungen dauern voraussichtlich bis 2030. Die Baukosten des Gesamtprojekts belaufen sich auf rund CHF 170 Mio.
  • Im Oktober 2022 beginnen im Raum Gattikon die Bauarbeiten am ersten Abschnitt. Sie dauern voraussichtlich bis Ende 2023. Danach wird die heutige Leitung, die teilweise durch Naherholungs- und Wohngebiete führt, zurückgebaut.

Projekt

Ausgangslage

Der Grossraum Zürich ist heute von Norden her deutlich besser mit dem Höchstspannungsnetz verbunden als von Süden her. Im Norden reicht das 220-kV-Netz über die Unterwerke Auwiesen und Fällanden bis an die Stadt Zürich heran. Im Süden hingegen sind die Anschlusspunkte Obfelden und Samstagern nur über je eine 150-kV-Leitung bis zur Stadtgrenze verbunden. Swissgrid plant deshalb, die Leitung zwischen Samstagern (Richterswil), Thalwil, Waldegg (Zürich) und Obfelden in sechs Teilprojekten auf 220 Kilovolt (kV) auszubauen. Der Ausbau ist Teil des Strategischen Netzes von Swissgrid.

Warum das Projekt wichtig ist

Mit dem Anschluss der Unterwerke Thalwil und Waldegg an das Höchstspannungsnetz und der Verstärkung der Leitungen zwischen Obfelden und Samstagern wird das Höchstspannungsnetz auch von Süden her bis in die Stadt Zürich herangeführt. Dies erhöht die Transportkapazität sowie die Versorgungssicherheit der Stadt und der gesamten Region Zürich. Das Projekt ist auch für die SBB sehr wichtig, da auf einem Abschnitt zwei 132-kV-Leitungen mit Bahnstrom mitgeführt werden. Diese beiden Leitungen verbinden das Unterwerk Sihlbrugg mit dem Unterwerk Zürich, was die Versorgungssicherheit der SBB im Grossraum Zürich erheblich verbessert.

Der Ausbau der Hochspannungsleitungen im Raum Zürich Süd stärkt die Versorgungssicherheit der Stadt Zürich und der gesamten Region.

Die sechs Abschnitte des Projekts

Der Ausbau der Leitung zwischen Samstagern (Richterswil), Thalwil, Waldegg (Zürich) und Obfelden besteht aus sechs Teilprojekten. Die Baukosten des Gesamtprojekts belaufen sich auf rund CHF 170 Mio. Die Arbeiten an den unterschiedlichen Abschnitten sowie der Rückbau der bestehenden Leitungsabschnitte dauert voraussichtlich bis 2030.

Die sechs Abschnitte des Projekts zwischen Samstagern, Thalwil, Waldegg (Zürich) und Obfelden.
Die sechs Abschnitte des Projekts zwischen Samstagern, Thalwil, Waldegg (Zürich) und Obfelden.

Anschluss Unterwerk Samstagern

Beim Unterwerk Samstagern müssen Modifikationen an Unterwerk und Leitung umgesetzt werden, um die heute mit 150 kV betriebene Leitung ans 220-kV-Netz anzuschliessen.

Samstagern – Schweikrüti (Thalwil)

Zwischen Samstagern und Schweikrüti (Gemeinde Thalwil) ist die Leitung heute bereits für Höchstspannung ausgelegt, wird aber nur mit 150 kV betrieben. Swissgrid plant eine Spannungserhöhung auf 220 kV. Dafür sind voraussichtlich keine grossen baulichen Massnahmen an der Leitung nötig.

Schweikrüti (Thalwil) – Kilchberg

Auf diesem Abschnitt liegt eine rechtskräftige Baubewilligung für eine neue Freileitung mit angepasster Leitungsführung vor. Der Bau eines Erdkabels ist auf diesem Abschnitt nicht möglich, weil zusammen mit der Swissgrid-Leitung zwei 132-kV-Leitungen der SBB auf den gleichen Masten mitgeführt werden. Die SBB-Leitungen müssen aus technischen Gründen zwingend oberirdisch verlaufen. Auf dem Abschnitt Schweikrüti – Kilchberg wird das Unterwerk Thalwil angeschlossen, welches für die Versorgung des linken Zürichseeufers wichtig ist. Sobald das Unterwerk Thalwil ans Höchstspannungsnetz angeschlossen ist, wird als Ersatzmassnahme die 110-kV-Leitung Obfelden – Thalwil (sogenannte Albisleitung) der Axpo zurückgebaut. Damit wird das Siedlungsgebiet von Langnau und Gattikon substanziell entlastet.

Kilchberg – Waldegg (Zürich)

Von Kilchberg bis Frohalp in der Nähe des Bahnhofs Zürich Manegg wird die neue Leitung unterirdisch entlang der Autobahn gebaut. Danach wird sie durch die beim Bau der beiden Tunnelröhren des Uetlibergtunnels erstellten Rohrblöcke und anschliessend weiter in einem 2 km langen Stollen (Durchmesser ca. 4 m) unterirdisch bis ins Unterwerk Waldegg geführt.

Unterirdisches Unterwerk Waldegg (Zürich)

Swissgrid plant zusammen mit ewz ein neues unterirdisches Unterwerk. Von hier wird der Strom in die Stadt Zürich fliessen. Das Unterwerk wird unterirdisch gebaut, damit der Landschaftseinfluss und die Sichtbarkeit für das benachbarte Siedlungsgebiet möglichst gering sind.

Obfelden – Waldegg (Zürich)

Die Leitung zwischen Obfelden und Waldegg (Zürich) ist bereits für Höchstspannung ausgelegt, wird aber nur mit 150 kV betrieben. Swissgrid plant bis 2027 eine Spannungserhöhung auf 220 kV, sodass das Unterwerk Waldegg bereits dann ans Übertragungsnetz angeschlossen werden kann. Dafür sind voraussichtlich keine grossen baulichen Massnahmen an der Leitung nötig.


Baustart im ersten Abschnitt

Auf dem Abschnitt zwischen Schweikrüti und Kilchberg starten die Bauarbeiten mit der Erstellung von sechs neuen Masten im Raum Gattikon. Ab Oktober 2022 werden zuerst die Fundamente gebaut. Dazu werden 2200 Tonnen Beton benötigt. Die Bau- und Installationsplätze werden bereits im September erstellt. Für die Mastfundamente werden im Bereich Waldweiher und Gattikerweiher Beton und Baumaschinen angeliefert sowie Aushubmaterial abtransportiert. Die Transporte werden über die Forststrasse Richtung Waldweier und nicht über den Schweikrütiweg durchgeführt, sodass die Wohngebiete von Gattikon gemieden werden können. Für den entstehenden Baulärm und Transporte bitten wir um Verständnis.

Im Abschnitt Schweikrüti (Thalwil) – Kilchberg beginnt im Raum Gattikon im September 2022 die Errichtung der Bau- und Installationsplätze. Im Oktober starten anschliessend die Bauarbeiten.

Ende 2023 wird die neue Leitung zwischen Schweikrüti bis Sihlhalden vorerst mit 150 kV in Betrieb genommen, sodass 2024 die alte Leitung in diesem Teilabschnitt zurückgebaut werden kann. Damit wird das Naherholungsgebiet Gattikerweiher und das Wohngebiet von der Leitung befreit.

1/4: Durch den Rückbau der alten Leitung in Gattikon wird das Wohngebiet spürbar entlastet.
2/4: Durch den Rückbau der alten Leitung in Gattikon wird das Wohngebiet spürbar entlastet.
3/4: Durch den Rückbau der alten Leitung in Gattikon wird der Gattikerweiher von der Leitung befreit.
4/4: Durch den Rückbau der alten Leitung in Gattikon wird der Gattikerweiher von der Leitung befreit.

2025 wird der zweite Teil zwischen Sihlhalden und Kilchberg gebaut. Hier verläuft die neue Leitung grösstenteils auf dem bestehenden Trassee. Nach aktueller Planung und bei optimalem Projektverlauf wird die Leitung von Samstagern bis Thalwil Ende 2025 mit Höchstspannung in Betrieb genommen. Im Anschluss kann die 110-kV-Leitung Obfelden – Thalwil der Axpo (sog. Albisleitung) zurückgebaut werden. Die ausgebaute Leitung zwischen Thalwil und Waldegg (Zürich) soll 2030 in Betrieb genommen werden.


Zeitplan des Abschnitts Schweikrüti – Kilchberg bei optimalem Projektverlauf

Downloads


Weiterführende Informationen

  • Bewilligungsverfahren

    Swissgrid ist für die Projektierung und Realisierung von Übertragungsleitungen zuständig.

    Mehr erfahren

  • Emissionen

    Unseren Alltag können wir uns ohne zahlreiche elektronische Begleiter und Hilfsmittel kaum mehr vorstellen. Viel weniger sind wir uns allerdings bewusst, dass überall dort, wo Strom vorhanden ist, elektrische und magnetische Felder entstehen: auch bei Produktion, Transport und Verteilung von elektrischer Energie.

    Mehr erfahren

  • Netztechnologien

    Ob eine Hochspannungsleitung als Freileitung gebaut oder in Form eines Kabels in den Boden verlegt werden soll, wird auf Grundlage objektiver Kriterien entschieden. Deshalb prüft Swissgrid bei jedem Netzprojekt Varianten mit Kabel und Freileitung.

    Mehr erfahren

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.