Grid project All'Acqua – Maggia Valley – Magadino

Swissgrid is increasing the capacity of the line between All’Acqua and Magadino. This is necessary in order to be able to transport hydroelectricity from the plant in Vallemaggia. Through this measure, it will be possible to dismantle about 60 km of existing lines.

Your contact for this grid project

Alessandro Cameroni
Alessandro Cameroni

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Planning area
Planning area
Dismantling
Dismantling
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

The project, part of Swissgrid's Strategic Grid 2025, will establish a double connection for a length of approx. 74 km between All’Acqua and Magadino, through Vallemaggia, replacing the current line which is now old and undersized. The project emerged from a joint study carried out by the Canton of Ticino, Swissgrid, AET and FFS.

When in operation, the new line will enable the dismantling of approx. 60 km of overhead lines in Vallemaggia that will no longer be needed. Not only will this benefit the valuable area of Upper Ticino, but it will also increase the transport capacities of the grid at the same time and improve the transportation of energy produced in Vallemaggia, which is currently restricted.

The project is subject to the procedures of the Transmission Lines Sectoral Plan (PSE) of the Swiss Confederation (research of a corridor), which coordinates the planning of projects that have significant repercussions for an area and the environment.


Project

Under Swissgrid's Strategic Grid 2025, a new 220 kV power line to replace the existing one will run along the Valle Maggia, linking the Magadino substation with the substation that will be constructed at All’Acqua in Val Bedretto. Other than replacing the current lines (constructed in the 1960s and now old), the project has the additional objective of adapting the grid’s capacity to the need for transportation of the energy produced by the hydroelectric plants in Vallemaggia (now subject to a restriction of 30%) and of guaranteeing greater security of supply to the South of the Alps and Switzerland.

The dismantling of approx. 60 km of existing overhead lines will mean a lesser impact on villages, on national and cantonal protected areas and on valuable areas in Upper Ticino (in particular in the Campolungo, Naret and Cristallina areas).

Current status

  • On 23 March 2016, the Federal Council defined the planning zone for the new 220 kV double connection from All’Acqua to Magadino. Within the planning area, Swissgrid developed feasible planning corridors for total cable, partial cable and overhead line variations. These will be reviewed by the support group appointed by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy.
  • The project is subject to the procedures of the Transmission Lines Sectoral Plan (PSE) of the Swiss Confederation (Phase 2), which coordinates the planning of projects with significant repercussions for an area and the environment. As part of the sectoral plan procedures, possible corridors are reviewed to plan the cable, partial cable and overhead line variations.
  • The support group is put together by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (UFE) and comprises representatives of the relevant Swiss federal offices (ARE, SFOE, BAV, etc.) and of ESTI, ElCom, the cantonal authorities involved, organisations under private law (such as environmental protection organisations) and Swissgrid. Independent experts are also asked to assist where necessary.
  • The support group proposes a recommendation for corridor planning and technical cable, partial cable or overhead cable variations based on the «Evaluation scheme for transmission lines».

Schedule in the optimal case (without appeal to the courts)

November 2013 General study on the extra-high-voltage grid in Ticino
February 2015 Start of the sectoral plan process
Summer 2015 Information event for authorities, associations and the general public before the circulation of the planning territory
March 2016 Specification of the planning territory by the Federal Council
2019 – 2020 Public consultation / cooperation procedure on the planning corridor
End of 2021 Information event for authorities, associations and the general public before the circulation of the planning corridor
2022 Specification of the planning corridor and the technology by the Federal Council
2025 Start of the planning approval procedure
2028 Planning approval decision
2031 Commissioning of the new line 220 kilovolt lines
2033 Dismantling of the existing 220 kilovolt line

General study on the extra-high-voltage grid in Ticino

In November 2013, the Canton of Ticino, Swissgrid, Azienda elettrica ticinese (AET) and the Swiss Federal Railways (FFS) jointly carried out a «General study on the extra-high-voltage grid in Ticino» in coordination with the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE). From this study, a solution was found which, on the one hand, facilitates an increase in the capacity to transport energy produced in Vallemaggia and, on the other, relieves the area of existing lines that are no longer necessary.

The study took into consideration 70 different variations. The evaluation was carried out in various stages that saw the gradual reduction of the plausible variations. The evaluation work was done together with the Swiss Federal Office of Energy, the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment and some other federal offices and associations working to protect the environment and plan the area. As a result, the variation referred to as «Leventina + 14» was chosen

This study aims to identify a general and sustainable approach to the transmission lines, which aligns the objectives for the redevelopment and modernisation of transmission lines with those of area planning. In an initial phase, the study examined the area designated as the «Upper Ticino – Western Part» section and the Vallemaggia and Locarnese up to Magadino, Valle Bedretto and Alta Leventina up to Lavorgo. Stage 2 has been underway since 2017 and takes into consideration the Riviera, Valle di Blenio and the Magadino Plain. The second stage is due to finish in the autumn of 2020.


People & environment

Landscape

With the dismantling of approx. 60 km of overhead lines – the «Reorganisation Solution» will lessen the impact on the local population, on protected areas of national and cantonal importance, and on the quality of the Upper Ticino landscapes, while at the same time increasing the transmission capacity and facilitating a better evacuation of the power produced in Vallemaggia.

Nature protection

The reorganisation solution found will have a positive impact on the exceptional landscapes, in particular due to the dismantling of the Peccia – Lavorgo, Peccia – Handegg and Robiei – Innertkirchen 220 kV lines.

In this way, important improvements to the landscape can be implemented in the areas of the Alpe Zaria (included in the Federal Inventory of Wetlands of Special Beauty and of National Importance), Campolungo (included in the Federal Inventory of Landscapes and Natural Beauty of National Importance), Cristallina, in Lower Vallemaggia and in Valle Bedretto. In addition, the proposed solution enables various residential and industrial areas to be streamlined.


Grid news

  • | Media release

    Old overhead line over the Gotthard Pass to be relocated to the new road tunnel

    Read article
  • | Media release

    Bassecourt – Mühleberg voltage increase

    Read article
  • | Media release

    Extra-high-voltage line in Balzers

    Continued operation is intended to ensure a stable and reliable supply of electricity in Liechtenstein and Switzerland.
    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Netzprojekt All'Acqua – Maggiatal – Magadino

Swissgrid erhöht die Kapazität der Leitungen zwischen All'Acqua und Magadino. Dies ist notwendig, um die vom Wasserkraftwerk im Maggiatal erzeugte Energie abtransportieren zu können. Dank dieser Massnahme können rund 60 km bestehende Leitungen zurückgebaut werden.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für dieses Netzprojekt

Alessandro Cameroni
Alessandro Cameroni

Telefon +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Planungsgebiet
Planungsgebiet
Rückbau
Rückbau
Bestehende Leitung
Bestehende Leitung
Unterwerk
Unterwerk

Übersicht

Das Projekt ist Teil des Strategischen Netzes 2025 von Swissgrid und sieht auf einer Länge von ca. 74 km eine doppelte Verbindung zwischen All'Acqua und Magadino vor. Die Verbindung verläuft durch das Maggiatal und ersetzt die bestehende Leitung, die mittlerweile veraltet und unzureichend ist. Das Projekt entstand aus einer gemeinsamen Studie des Kantons Tessin sowie Swissgrid, AET und SBB.

Nach ihrer Inbetriebnahme wird die neue Leitung den Abbau von rund 60 km nicht mehr benötigten Freileitungen im Maggiatal ermöglichen. Dies wird nicht nur den wertvollen Landschaften des Alto Ticino zugutekommen, sondern zugleich auch die Übertragungskapazität des Netzes erhöhen und den Transport der im Maggiatal erzeugten Energie verbessern, der derzeit Einschränkungen unterliegt.

Das Projekt befindet sich im Sachplan des Bundes (Korridorsuche), das die Planung von Vorhaben koordiniert, die sich erheblich auf Raum und Umwelt auswirken.


Projekt

Im Rahmen des Strategischen Netzes 2025 von Swissgrid wird eine neue 220-kV-Leitung durch das Maggiatal gebaut. Dabei wird das Umspannwerk Magadino mit einem neuen Unterwerk verbunden, das in All'Acqua im Bedrettotal gebaut wird. Die bestehende Leitung aus den 60er Jahren wird zurückgebaut. Ziel des Vorhabens ist neben dem Austausch der heutigen Leitung auch der Ausbau der Netzkapazität zur Übertragung der in den Wasserkraftwerken des Maggiatals erzeugten Energie. So kann zukünftig eine grössere Versorgungssicherheit im südlichen Alpenraum und in der Schweiz gewährleistet werden. Derzeit muss die Produktion der Kraftwerke um rund 30 Prozent eingeschränkt werden.

Der Abbau der ca. 60 km langen bestehenden Freileitung wird die Auswirkungen auf das Siedlungsgebiet, nationale und kantonale Schutzgebiete sowie die wertvollen Landschaften des Alto Ticino – insbesondere in den Gebieten Campolungo, Naret und Cristallina-Pass – verringern..

Aktueller Stand

  • Am 23. März 2016 hat der Bundesrat das Planungsgebiet für die neue doppelte 220-kV-Letiung von All'Acqua bis Magadino festgelegt. Innerhalb dieses Planungsgebietes hat Swissgrid mögliche Planungskorridore für Varianten komplett mit Erdkabeln, teilweise mit Erdkabeln sowie mit Freileitungen ausgearbeitet. Diese werden von der vom Bundesamt für Energie (BFE) eingesetzten Begleitgruppe untersucht.
  • Das Projekt befindet sich im Sachplanverfahren (Phase 2), das die Planung von Vorhaben koordiniert, die sich erheblich auf Raum und Umwelt auswirken. Im Sachplanverfahren werden mögliche Planungskorridore für Varianten komplett mit Erdkabeln, teilweise mit Erdkabeln sowie mit Freileitung untersucht.
  • Die Begleitgruppe wird vom BFE zusammengesetzt und besteht aus Vertretern der interssierten Bundesämter (ARE, BAFU, BAV usw.), des ESTI, der ElCom, der betroffenen kantonalen Behörden, Organisationen des privaten Bereichs (z.B. Stiftung Landschaftsschutz Schweiz) und Swissgrid. Je nach Bedarf werden unabhängige Experten beigezogen.
  • Die Begleitgruppe empfiehlt unter Anwendung des «Bewertungsschemas für Übertragungsleitungen» einen Planungskorridor sowie die Technologie Erdverkabelung, Teilverkabelung oder Freileitung.

Zeitplan im optimalen Fall (ohne Weiterzug an Gerichte)

November 2013 Allgemeine Studie zum Höchstspannungsnetz im Tessin
Februar 2015 Start des Sachplanverfahrens
Sommer 2015 Informationsveranstaltung für Behörden, Verbände und Öffentlichkeit vor der Auflage des Planungsgebietes
März 2016 Festsetzung des Planungsgebietes durch den Bundesrat
2019 – 2020 Öffentliches Anhörungs- und Mitwirkungsverfahren zum Planungskorridor
Ende 2020 Informationsveranstaltung für Behörden, Verbände und Öffentlichkeit vor der Auflage des Planungskorridors
Frühling 2021 Festsetzung des Planungskorridors und der Technologie durch den Bundesrat
2024 Start des Plangenehmigungsverfahrens
2026 Plangenehmigungsentscheid
2028 Inbetriebnahme der neuen 220-kV-Leitungen
2029 Rückbau der bestehenden 220-kV-Leitung

Allgemeine Studie zum Höchstspannungsnetz im Tessin

Im November 2013 haben der Kanton Tessin, Swissgrid, die Azienda Elettrica Ticinese (AET) und die Schweizerischen Bundesbahnen (SBB), im Einvernehmen mit dem Bundesamt für Energie (BFE), gemeinsam die «Allgemeine Studie zum Höchstspannungsnetz im Tessin» erarbeitet. Ausgehend von dieser Studie wurde eine Lösung gefunden, die zum einen die Übertragungskapazität für die Energieproduktion aus dem Maggiatal erhöht und zum anderen das Gebiet von nicht mehr benötigten bestehenden Leitungen befreit.

Die Studie berücksichtigte 70 verschiedene Varianten. Die Bewertung erfolgte in mehreren Etappen, wobei schrittweise die Anzahl der Varianten reduziert wurde. Die Arbeit der Bewertung wurde gemeinsam mit dem BFE, dem BAFU und einigen anderen Bundesämtern und Verbänden für den Schutz der Umwelt und für Raumplanung durchgeführt und in der Folge wurde die sogenannte Variante «Leventina + 14» ausgewählt.

Die Studie zielt darauf ab, einen allgemeinen und langfristigen Ansatz für das Übertragungsnetz zu schaffen, der die Ziele der Sanierung und Modernisierung von Übertragungsleitungen mit denen der Raumplanung koordiniert. In einem ersten Schritt wurde der Bereich berücksichtigt, der als «Alto Ticino – Westteil» bezeichnet wird und das Maggiatal, das Locarnese bis Magadino, das Bedrettotal und die Alta Leventina bis Lavorgo umfasst. Seit 2017 läuft die Etappe 2 für die Riviera, das Bleniotal und die Magadinoebene. Die zweite Etappe wird wahrscheinlich im Herbst 2019 abgeschlossen.


Mensch & Umwelt

Landschaftsbild

Dank des Abbaus von ca. 60 km Freileitung ermöglicht die «Neuordnungslösung» geringere Auswirkungen auf Siedlungsgebiet, auf nationale und kantonale Schutzgebiete sowie auf wertvolle Landschaften des Alto Ticino bei gleichzeitiger Erhöhung der Übertragungskapazität und einem verbesserten Abtransport der Produktion aus dem Maggiatal.

Naturschutz

Die «Neuordnungslösung» ermöglicht eine erhebliche Entlastung wertvoller Landschaften, insbesondere durch den Abbau der 220-kV-Leitungen Peccia – Lavorgo, Peccia – Handegg und Robiei – Innertkirchen.

Auf diese Weise können wichtige landschaftliche Verbesserungen in den Bereichen Alpe Zaria (eingetragen im Bundesinventar der Moorlandschaften von besonderer Schönheit und von nationaler Bedeutung), Campolungo (eingetragen im Bundesinventar der Landschaften und Naturdenkmäler von nationaler Bedeutung), Cristallina, im unteren Maggiatal sowie im Bedrettotal umgesetzt werden. Zusätzlich ermöglicht die vorgeschlagene Lösung eine Entlastung verschiedener Wohn- und Gewerbegebiete.


Downloads


Netznews

  • Zwischen La Punt und Zernez tragen die Masten heute nur auf einer Seite eine Leitung.
    | News

    50 neue Masten für die Leitung Pradella – La Punt

    Beitrag lesen
  • | News

    Swissgrid nimmt neuen Transformator in Laufenburg in Betrieb

    Beitrag lesen
  • | News

    Mörel – Ulrichen

    Freileitungsvariante Abschnitt Mörel – Ernen bewilligt, Bauarbeiten Abschnitt Ernen – Ulrichen im Plan.

    Beitrag lesen

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.