Grid project Mettlen – Ulrichen

Swissgrid is constructing a new 380 kilovolt line between Mettlen and Ulrichen. This is necessary in order to fully transport the energy from the pumped storage power plants to the centres in Central Switzerland.

Swissgrid is reviewing a number of options for increasing the voltage from 220 kilovolts to 380 kilovolts between Innertkirchen and Ulrichen. The construction of a new overhead line, an underground cable as well as the laying of the cable in the Grimsel Tunnel are being discussed.

Your contact for this grid project

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

220 kV line
220 kV line
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

The Mettlen – Ulrichen project will convert the existing 87 kilometre, 220 kilovolt overhead line to 380 kilovolts. The new line will be operated at 220 kilovolts for the time being.

The Mettlen – Ulrichen section is 61 kilometres long and does not meet the current technical requirements. The largest section of the line (51 kilometres) is over 60 years old and 10 kilometres of the line was converted to 380 kilovolts in 1992.

The upgrading of the existing 220-kilovolt line between Innertkirchen and Ulrichen (Grimsel line) to 380 kilovolts throughout is a key element in the 2025 strategic grid planning. The Innertkirchen – Ulrichen project will convert the existing, roughly 27.8 kilometre-long, 220 kilovolt overhead line and prepare it for subsequent operation at 380 kilovolts.

The planning approval procedure is expected to be concluded by mid-2027. Swissgrid is very reliant on efficient planning and approval processes to do this. Swissgrid endeavours to find the most logical and sensible solution for all projects with regard to environmental compatibility as well as with respect to regional planning and technical and financial aspects. Potential synergies with other linear infrastructure, such as SBB rail power, distribution grids or motorways are systematically reviewed and considered where appropriate. As is the case for all projects, Swissgrid is required to develop several versions. At least three versions exist for the Grimsel line: the version with an overhead line over the pass (in this case, the existing line would be replaced), the version that exclusively uses underground cabling and the version with cabling through the Grimsel Tunnel. The Federal Council reaches the final decision on the version after careful consideration of regional planning, technical, economic and environmental aspects by the authority administering the process.


Project

The 220 kV line between Innertkirchen and Ulrichen (Grimsel line) was created in 1951. The project aims to upgrade the existing 220 kV line between Mettlen and Ulrichen, which is 27.8 km in length, to 380 kV. Two 380 kV extra-high-voltage lines or cable systems are planned for the Innertkirchen – Oberwald (Ulrichen) section. For the Innertkirchen – Oberwald section, the possibility of laying a cable in the Grimsel tunnel, 22.3 km in length, will be investigated. The connection of the Handegg and Grimsel power plants is also part of the laying of the cable in the Grimsel tunnel. The possibility of a 220 kV power plant connection from the Handeck and Grimsel substation to the Innertkirchen substation via a cable laid in the Grimsel tunnel will be investigated.

As part of the Mettlen – Ulrichen programme, but also outside this project, a new 220 kV switching substation will be constructed on the site of the existing switching substation in Innertkirchen. The necessary space will be reserved for the later construction of a new 380 kV switching substation and a grid coupling transformer.

The Grimsel tunnel (in German)
The Grimsel tunnel (in German)

Facts and figures

Route lengths Innertkirchen – Ulrichen: 27.8 km of which in the Grimsel tunnel
Innertkirchen – Mettlen: 60.8 km
Total length: 88.6 km
Electricity conductor 1600 mm2 copper
Rated voltage 220 kV
Number of dismantled electricity pylons in the Grimsel tunnel section 121

Timetable

2018 Sectoral plan process start
2022 Determination of the planning corridor by the Federal Council
2024 Planning approval procedure start
2027 Planning approval decision
2030 Construction / commissioning

Downloads


Grid news

  • | Media release

    Ground-breaking ceremony at «Gäbihübel»

    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: Work has begun

    The preparatory work for the Chamoson – Chippis VHV overhead line that started last January is nearing completion for the first two sections between Chalais and Sierre and Sion and Vex.
    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: supplementary geological study

    In 2015, the cantonal geologist of the Valais requested an additional «natural hazards» study within the framework of the Chamoson – Chippis extra-high-voltage transmission line project.
    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Netzprojekt Mettlen – Ulrichen

Swissgrid baut zwischen Mettlen und Ulrichen eine neue 380-kV-Leitung. Diese ist nötig, um die aus den Pumpspeicherkraftwerken stammende Energie vollumfänglich in die Zentren des Mittellands zu transportieren.

Zwischen Innertkirchen und Ulrichen prüft Swissgrid verschiedene Varianten, um die Spannung von 220 kV auf 380 kV zu erhöhen. Zur Diskussion stehen der Neubau einer Freileitung, eine Erdverkabelung sowie eine Verkabelung im Grimseltunnel.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für dieses Netzprojekt

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Telefon +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

220-kV-Leitung
220-kV-Leitung
Bestehende Leitung
Bestehende Leitung
Unterwerk
Unterwerk

Übersicht

Mit dem Projekt Mettlen – Ulrichen wird die bestehende 87 km lange 220-kV-Freileitung auf 380 kV ausgebaut. Die neue Leitung wird vorerst mit 220 kV betrieben.

Der Abschnitt Mettlen – Ulrichen ist 61 km lang und erfüllt die heutigen technischen Anforderungen nicht. Der grösste Teil der Leitung (51 km) ist über 60 Jahre alt. Im Jahr 1992 wurden 10 km der Leitung auf 380 kV ausgebaut.

Die Verstärkung der bestehenden 220-kV-Leitung zwischen Innertkirchen und Ulrichen (Grimselleitung) auf durchgängig 380 kV ist ein Schlüsselelement in der strategischen Netzplanung 2025. Mit dem Projekt Innertkirchen – Ulrichen wird die bestehende, ca. 27,8 Kilometer lange 220-kV-Freileitung umgebaut und auf den späteren Betrieb mit 380 kV vorbereitet.

Der Abschluss des Plangenehmigungsverfahrens wird bis Mitte 2027 erwartet. Swissgrid ist dabei massgeblich auf effiziente Planungs- und Genehmigungsverfahren angewiesen. Swissgrid ist bestrebt, bei allen Projekten die sinnvollste Lösung zu suchen, hinsichtlich Umweltverträglichkeit, sowie bezüglich raumplanerischen, technischen und finanziellen Aspekten. Synergiepotenziale mit anderen linearen Infrastrukturen wie SBB-Bahnstrom, Verteilnetze oder Autobahnen werden systematisch geprüft und in Betracht gezogen, wo sich diese als sinnvoll erweisen. Wie bei allen Projekten ist Swissgrid angehalten, mehrere Varianten auszuarbeiten. Über den Grimsel sind es mindestens drei Varianten: die Variante einer Freileitung über den Pass - hier würde die bestehende Leitung ersetzt, die Variante einer alleinigen Erdverkabelung und die Variante einer Kabelführung durch den Grimseltunnel. Den definitiven Variantenentscheid fällt der Bundesrat nach einer sorgfältigen Abwägung von raumplanerischen, technischen, wirtschaftlichen und Umweltaspekten durch die verfahrensführende Behörde.


Projekt

Die 220-kV-Leitung zwischen Innertkirchen und Ulrichen (Grimselleitung) wurde im Jahr 1951 erstellt. Das Projekt sieht vor, die bestehende 220-kV-Leitung auf einer Länge von 27,8 km auf 380 kV zwischen Mettlen und Ulrichen zu verstärken. Im Abschnitt Innertkirchen – Oberwald (Ulrichen) sind zwei 380-kV-Höchstspannungsfreileitungs- oder Kabelsysteme geplant. Auf dem Abschnitt Innertkirchen – Oberwald wird auf einer Länge von 22,3 km die Verkabelung im Grimseltunnel geprüft. Der anschluss der Kraftwerke Handegg und Grimsel ist ebenfalls Teil der Verkabelung im Grimseltunnel. Die 220-kV-Kraftwerksanbindung UW Handegg und Grimsel an das UW Innertkirchen wird über eine Kabelverlegung im Grimselstollen geprüft.

Der Grimseltunnel
Der Grimseltunnel

In Innertkirchen wird als Teil des Projekts Mettlen – Ulrichen eine neue gasisolierte 220-kV-Schaltanlage am Ort der bestehenden Schaltanlage errichtet. Für den späteren Bau einer neuen 380-kV-Schaltanlage und eines Netzkoppeltransformators werden die nötigen Platzreserven vorgehalten.

Bau des Betriebsgebäudes der gasisolierten Schaltanlage UW Innertkirchen
Bau des Betriebsgebäudes der gasisolierten Schaltanlage UW Innertkirchen

Zahlen und Fakten

Trasseelängen Innertkirchen – Ulrichen: 27,8 km, davon 22,26 km im Grimseltunnel
Innertkirchen – Mettlen: 60,8 km
Gesamtlänge: 88,6 km
Stromleiter 1600 mm2 Kupfer
Nennspannung 220 kV
Anzahl rückgebaute Masten im Abschnitt Grimseltunnel 121

Zeitplan

2018 Start Sachplanverfahren
2022 Festsetzung Planungskorridor durch Bundesrat
2024 Start Plangenehmigungsverfahren
2027 Plangenehmigungsentscheid
2030 Bau / Inbetriebnahme

Downloads


Netznews

  • | Medienmitteilung

    Sichere Stromversorgung für das Wallis und die Schweiz

    Beitrag lesen
  • | News

    Netzprojekte: Swissgrid informiert über den aktuellsten Stand der Bauarbeiten

    Beitrag lesen
  • | Medienmitteilung

    Spatenstich am «Gäbihübel»

    Beitrag lesen

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.