Regulation

Secure and balanced around the clock

The grid control rooms in Aarau and Prilly are the centrepiece of the Swiss transmission grid. This is where everything comes together.

The employees in the two control rooms, who are referred to as operators, monitor the entire Swiss transmission grid around the clock, making sure that electricity is reliably transported and distributed across all parts of the country.

However, this does not mean that the Swiss transmission grid is immune to fluctuations and unexpected grid loads. When this happens, it is time to call on the operators: Where does more energy need to flow to return the grid to equilibrium and the grid frequency to its target value of 50 Hertz? Where do lines have to be connected or disconnected? Working together with the grid control rooms in the neighbouring countries, the specialists make important decisions within seconds and bring current production and consumption back into balance.

The operators are pros at mastering critical grid situations. They are the ones who ensure the constant stability and reliability of the Swiss transmission grid around the clock, making sure it is always available.


The grid control room in Aarau: all tasks at a glance

Arbeitsplätze im Swissgrid Control Aarau
In the control room in Aarau, the workstations of the operators are clearly defined. With the exception of the IT expert, there are two workstations per function, which are occupied by at least one person.

1 Good preparation is everything – planning the grid operation

The planning in the grid control rooms is the key to ensuring secure grid operation. Whenever a line or a power plant is taken out of operation, the preparations for this measure start months or even years in advance. To make sure that the planned outages do not overload the grid elements, the operative planning operators use a model of the transmission grid to plan the forecast calculations. The planning is constantly refined and makes it possible to estimate the load on the grid and the international interconnection lines. Where necessary, the operators take and coordinate the necessary measures to protect the grid against overloading.

Operators in the grid control room
 

Operative planning from 8.00 a.m. to 10.00 p.m.

2 Production and consumption under control – system balance and schedule management

For the transmission grid to work, the production and consumption of energy must always be in equilibrium. This equilibrium guarantees the secure and stable operation of the electricity grid at a constant frequency of 50 Hertz. The operators in the System Balance department work together with colleagues at international transmission system operators to ensure that this frequency is always maintained across the entire European interconnected grid. The preparations for a Swiss transmission grid that is as well-balanced as possible are made by the operators in the Schedule Management department.

Operators in the grid control room
 

System Balance 24-hour shift
Schedule Management from 8.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m.

3 Smooth grid transmission – controlling the grid operation

Swissgrid is not just tasked with protecting the transmission grid against fluctuations but also with protecting it against high loads. If there is the risk of lines overloading or if a technical fault occurs, the operators intervene in the grid operation. For instance, they perform switching operations and coordinate the troubleshooting in cooperation with the facility managers on site. Operators also perform switching operations multiple times a day when scheduled work has to be carried out on a line or a transformer.

Operators in the grid control room
 

Control 24-hour shift

4 The right decision when a fault occurs – managing the grid operation

The system manager is responsible for the secure operation of the grid in real time, which the manager ensures by calculating the effects of possible switching operations on operational reliability. If a fault occurs or there is a risk of a grid overload, the system manager decides which measures need to be taken. This requires constant coordination with the grid control rooms in neighbouring countries. A high security of supply in Europe and Switzerland can be guaranteed only together with international colleagues.

Operators in the grid control room
 

System managers 24-hour shift

5 Nothing runs without these systems – IT support

The operators rely on numerous IT systems to perform their work. The IT expert is responsible for all systems required to operate the grid and is the first point of contact for the operators, taking immediate action whenever a fault occurs in the IT system.

In the grid control room
 

IT experts from 8.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m and on call

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Steuerung

Rund um die Uhr sicher und ausbalanciert

Sie sind die Kommandozentralen: Die Netzleitstellen in Aarau und Prilly bilden das Herzstück des Schweizer Übertragungsnetzes. In ihnen laufen alle Fäden zusammen.

Die Mitarbeitenden der beiden Leitstellen, die sogenannten Operateure, überwachen das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz rund um die Uhr. Sie sorgen dafür, dass der Strom über alle Landesteile sicher transportiert und verteilt wird.

Dennoch kann es im Schweizer Übertragungsnetz zu Schwankungen und ungeplanten Netzbelastungen kommen. In diesem Fall sind die Operateure gefordert: Wo muss mehr Energie fliessen, damit das Netz wieder ins Gleichgewicht und die Netzfrequenz zu ihrem Sollwert von 50 Hertz kommt? Wo müssen Leitungen verbunden oder getrennt werden? Zusammen mit den Netzleitstellen in den Nachbarländern treffen die Spezialisten innert Sekunden wichtige Entscheidungen und stimmen laufend Produktion und Verbrauch miteinander ab.

Im Meistern von kritischen Netzsituationen sind die Operateure Profis. Sie sind es, die das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz im 24-Stunden-Betrieb stabil, sicher und jederzeit verfügbar halten.


Die Netzleitstelle in Aarau: Alle Aufgaben auf einen Blick

Arbeitsplätze im Swissgrid Control Aarau
In der Netzleitstelle in Aarau sind die Arbeitsplätze der Operateure klar definiert. Mit Ausnahme des IT-Experten stehen pro Funktion jeweils zwei Plätze zur Verfügung, die durch mindestens eine Person besetzt sind.

1 Gute Vorbereitung ist alles – Planung des Netzbetriebs

Die Planung ist auf den Netzleitstellen das A und O für einen sicheren Netzbetrieb. Wird eine Leitung oder ein Kraftwerk ausser Betrieb genommen, beginnen die Vorbereitungen bereits Monate bis Jahre zuvor. Damit die geplanten Ausserbetriebnahmen keine Überlastungen bei Netzelementen zur Folge haben, führen die Operateure der operativen Planung Prognoserechnungen an einem Modell des Übetragungsnetzes durch. Die Planung wird laufend verfeinert und ermöglicht, die Belastung des Netzes und der grenzüberschreitenden Leitungen abzuschätzen. Wo notwendig, werden geeignete Massnahmen durch die Operateure vorbereitet und koordiniert, um das Netz vor einer Überlastung zu schützen.

Einsatz in der Netzleitstelle
 

Operateure operative Planung 8 Uhr bis 22 Uhr

2 Produktion und Verbrauch im Griff – Systembilanz und Fahrplanmanagement

Damit das Übertragungsnetz funktioniert, müssen Produktion und Verbrauch von Energie stets im Gleichgewicht sein. Dieses Gleichgewicht gewährleistet den sicheren und stabilen Betrieb des Stromnetzes bei einer konstanten Frequenz von 50 Hertz. Die Operateure des Bereichs Regelenergieeinsatz stellen gemeinsam mit den Kollegen der ausländischen Übertragungsnetzbetreiber sicher, dass die Frequenz im gesamteuropäischen Verbundnetz jederzeit eingehalten wird. Die Vorbereitungen für ein möglichst ausgeglichenes Schweizer Übertragungsnetz leisten die Operateure des Bereichs Fahrplanmanagements.

Einsatz in der Netzleitstelle
 

Operateure Regelenergieeinsatz 24-Stunden-Schicht
Operateure Fahrplanmanagement 8 Uhr bis 17 Uhr

3 Ohne Probleme durchs Netz – Steuerung des Netzbetriebs

Swissgrid hat nicht nur die Aufgabe, das Übertragungsnetz vor Schwankungen zu schützen, sondern auch vor zu hohen Belastungen. Droht eine Überlastung von von Leitungen oder tritt eine technische Störung auf, greifen die Operateure in den Netzbetrieb ein. So nehmen sie beispielsweise Schalthandlungen vor und koordinieren in Zusammenarbeit mit den Anlagenverantwortlichen vor Ort die Störungsbehebung. Schalthandlungen führen die Operateure ebenfalls vielfach täglich aus, wenn geplante Arbeiten an einer Leitung oder einem Transformator ausgeführt werden müssen.

Einsatz in der Netzleitstelle
 

Operateure Steuerung 24-Stunden-Schicht

4 Die richtige Entscheidung bei einer Störung – Führung des Netzbetriebs

Der Systemführer verantwortet den sicheren Betrieb des Netzes in Echtzeit. Dafür berechnet er unter anderem die Auswirkungen von möglichen Schalthandlungen auf die Betriebssicherheit. Bei einer Störung oder einer drohenden Netzüberlastung entscheidet er, welche Massnahmen getroffen werden. Dabei koordiniert er sich laufend mit den Netzleitstellen in den Nachbarländern. Nur gemeinsam mit den Kolleginnen und Kollegen im Ausland ist es möglich, eine hohe Versorgungssicherheit in Europa und der Schweiz zu gewährleisten.

Einsatz in der Netzleitstelle
 

Systemführer 24-Stunden-Schicht

5 Ohne diese Systeme läuft nichts – Unterstützung der IT

Damit die Operateure ihre Arbeit ausführen können, sind sie auf zahlreiche IT-Systeme angewiesen. Der IT-Experte ist für alle Systeme zuständig, die für den Betrieb des Netzes notwendig sind. Er ist der erste Ansprechpartner für die Operateure und greift bei Informatikstörungen sofort ein.

Einsatz in der Netzleitstelle
 

IT-Experten 8 Uhr bis 17 Uhr und Pikett

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.